We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean up your act” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarborough Hotel

Scarborough Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean up your act”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

If you want to run a good restaurant in a beutiful location Start with clean clothes and a clean kitchen. I decided not to eat there the price was overrated We did the right thing and ordered only coffee a 1 star from me

Helpful?
2 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    102
    64
    42
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointment :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here last month.. I wasn't impressed with the quality of food for the price you pay. Very expensive and nothing to say wow about. Not much variety for a pub menu, but the place and outdoor area with views is amazing. Just beware the schooner glasses aren't a full schooner. I have exact same glasses at home and did a measure. Next time I will buy a bottle of wine and enjoy the views;))

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tchellessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirroul, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced food ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in for lunch today with husband and we decided to order the share meze plate -$38 so we expected it to be quite substantial. We were wrong. I could have made a plate up from the Coles deli that would have been better! It was served on a greasy plastic platter and was underwhelming-sundried tomatoes, olives, 5 cubes of feta, 6 slices of salami and 2 'dips' one of which I am sure was Old El Paso salsa. Cold grilled flatbread and cold prawns and very disappointing. No table service either, you go and order and they give you a buzzer. Not impressed for the price. My advice-go for a beer and enjoy the view, but don't waste your money on the food.

Helpful?
Thank Peta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We visited recently and found that the view was absolutely fantastic, if you have overseas visitors and are in the area well worth calling in for a coffee or a beer. The food is overpriced for what you get, the salmon was dry, the salad was good and so where the chips but as I said overpriced.
I had no problem paying with my credit card as another reviewer seems to have had, which is just as well as we would've had to go elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The setting makes it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant whilst visiting family. The setting was lovely overlooking the Ocean, with lots of outdoor seating, and some indoors. We all enjoyed our meals, the only downside is the lack of choice on the menu. If you don't like fish/seafood, or chips your a bit stuffed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank trackywebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough Hotel also viewed

Stanwell Park, New South Wales
 
Coledale, New South Wales
 

Been to Scarborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing