We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better places to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“There are better places to stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Disappointing run down motel. Old many times means charming but this place old means poorly maintained including front door, which goes to outside, with 1/2” gap around entire door letting in insects, screen door issues, and tolet that backed up. Since there was a plunger next to the tolet apparently this happens often. Other than paint, the place looks like nothing has been done since is was build likely in the 1950s. On the positive side it was clean and the town of Essex was interesting. If visiting Essex I would suggest finding a different place to stay or stay in one of the many charming close by towns.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R4038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    41
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
53
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We happened upon this quirky little waterside motel on a fall visit to the area and have returned for the third time. It just so happens that it is across from Woodmans (a favorite lobster & fried clam restaurant). It is very basic and could almost qualify as vintage with a little "redo". Each room is a bit different .... all have very low ceilings ... but, it is clean & quiet with a beautiful view overlooking a waterway to the Essex coast. On our recent visit we watched the late afternoon return of pleasure boats to their docks from the motel grounds. Essex is a beautiful little New England town ... bustling with tourists in summer and absolutely gorgeous in fall ... many antique shops, walking path options, restaurants, and to our tastebud's delight, within a short drive to Logan International Airport. If you're looking for luxury, this motel isn't for you ... but we will return to the Essex River House Motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkshafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This motel has a great location. Within walking distance of a variety of antique shops, Dumkin Ds, and convienience stores. The rooms are very basic. Clean but slightly dingy decor. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faithtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Cute little motel Good restaurants &coffee shop nearby. Great value for the money

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

So much to do in this beautiful little part of Essex coast (beaches/food/hiking), this is perfect spot to rest head after long day at beach or apple picking. Located at a beautiful spot of inland coast - kids loved it too, very practical affordable place for sleep. Just basic vacation room - no extras.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SomersetRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We arrived in Essex late and had not booked accomodation, the River house motel happened to have a couple of vacancies and we decided to take a chance - Who cares if the room wasnt a perfect 5 star set up, it was comfortable and clean and had one of the prettiest outlooks I have ever seen. We had the last room before the small jetty (sorry dont remember the number) and the view out the window was magic! The lovely lady in the office advised us on a great restaurant for dinner (very close to the motel on the water - it was excellent) and helped us organise a boat trip out on Cape Anne the next day. We had never visited Massachusetts before and this place for me epitomised the post card idea I had in my mind. the weather was perfect so I am unable to comment on that aspect. If you are looking for a choice location with everything you need at hand and a freindly helpfull staff then this place is for you. From taking a chance to been a fan - we have decided we will be coming back to Essex and this Motel!

Room Tip: The last room before the jetty has a great outlook to the river and onward to Cape Anne. great spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISAMASSIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

If you're looking for elegance and fancy - this one is not for you! But if you're looking for simple, quaint, a bit rustic, comfortable this place is Great! And it's pretty centrally located and easy to get to and from Rockport, Gloucester etc.
We were there the last weekend in October - during that "freak" winter storm. And though it was a bit chilly, we had extra blankets and a clean room. The hostess was pleasant and helpful in giving us directions and recomending eateries . We would go again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Puritan room - heard that big wind loud and clear! but were comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
7.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
7.3 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
5.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
7.3 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
8.3 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel

Property: Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel
Address: 132 Main St, Essex, MA 01929-1304 (Formerly Essex River House Motel)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Essex
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel (formerly the Essex River House Motel) is a 21 room property comprised of the Inn and the Motel. The Inn is an 18th century colonial that was fully renovated in 2015 and given a new life as the most romantic place to stay in Essex.This 6 room Inn is open year round and has retained all of its original charm. From hardwood floors to inviting sitting areas, each room is quintessential New England. The Motel is a 15 room property that just couldn't be more delightful! Open for the spring and summer, we welcome you to bring your dogs along for your trip and offer a variety of bed configurations to best fit your family's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex River House Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing