We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
washington dc
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I keep coming back!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I love the Essex River House for its cheerful hospitality and welcome. The easy simplicity of the rooms makes it a comfortable haven while visiting this lovely area. I also love being right across the street form the best fried clams in all the world. Indeed Woodman's is the originator of fried
clams. So need to wonder where to eat!

The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. I am always so happy to settle in and then go out relax on one of the benches overlooking the peaceful inlet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    33
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
44
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is a lovely place to spend a night or two. It is right on the Essex River and walking distance to many restaurants, boutiques and, since it is near Plum Island, there are lots of outside activities to keep you entertained. The rooms are nicely furnished, clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maturetraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Tiny room had to leave most luggage in the car boot. Reasonably clean. Glass slats in the door which kept slipping, but thankfully didn't break, so outside lighting an issue, very intrusive for most of the night until they eventually went off. The sink had no plug so had to run water continually while washing, very wasteful, but seems to be a regular feature of US bathroom facilities! shower also dodgy. No facility for making a drink. In view of facilities or rather lack of, it's very expensive, but then you are paying for the location not the accommodation - no we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandpiper58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Sits right on the Essex river in town so the location and views are fabulous. Only 7 minutes from Rt 128. Beds were ok. Amenities were sparse. Coffee maker but no coffee. Microwave but not a dish in the place. No shampoo. Smelled stale when we first walked in - it wasn't bad while we were there but it did make me wonder why they hadn't opened a window or cleaned it up a little better. I'd stay there again if I wanted to kayak or be in Essex but otherwise not worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Disappointing run down motel. Old many times means charming but this place old means poorly maintained including front door, which goes to outside, with 1/2” gap around entire door letting in insects, screen door issues, and tolet that backed up. Since there was a plunger next to the tolet apparently this happens often. Other than paint, the place looks like nothing has been done since is was build likely in the 1950s. On the positive side it was clean and the town of Essex was interesting. If visiting Essex I would suggest finding a different place to stay or stay in one of the many charming close by towns.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R4038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We happened upon this quirky little waterside motel on a fall visit to the area and have returned for the third time. It just so happens that it is across from Woodmans (a favorite lobster & fried clam restaurant). It is very basic and could almost qualify as vintage with a little "redo". Each room is a bit different .... all have very low ceilings ... but, it is clean & quiet with a beautiful view overlooking a waterway to the Essex coast. On our recent visit we watched the late afternoon return of pleasure boats to their docks from the motel grounds. Essex is a beautiful little New England town ... bustling with tourists in summer and absolutely gorgeous in fall ... many antique shops, walking path options, restaurants, and to our tastebud's delight, within a short drive to Logan International Airport. If you're looking for luxury, this motel isn't for you ... but we will return to the Essex River House Motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkshafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This motel has a great location. Within walking distance of a variety of antique shops, Dumkin Ds, and convienience stores. The rooms are very basic. Clean but slightly dingy decor. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faithtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
7.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
522 reviews
7.3 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
388 reviews
5.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
7.3 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
8.3 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel

Property: Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel
Address: 132 Main St, Essex, MA 01929-1304 (Formerly Essex River House Motel)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Essex
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel (formerly the Essex River House Motel) is a 21 room property comprised of the Inn and the Motel. The Inn is an 18th century colonial that was fully renovated in 2015 and given a new life as the most romantic place to stay in Essex.This 6 room Inn is open year round and has retained all of its original charm. From hardwood floors to inviting sitting areas, each room is quintessential New England. The Motel is a 15 room property that just couldn't be more delightful! Open for the spring and summer, we welcome you to bring your dogs along for your trip and offer a variety of bed configurations to best fit your family's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex River House Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing