We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B+B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delano Homestead Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Fairhaven B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2012

What a nice get away. I was traveling on business in New Bedford, and it was so nice to have a quiet and comfortable stay so close to the city. Lot's of historic charm. The staff are friendly, yet not overbearing. Generous continental breakfast.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms can be a bit awkward to get to with big luggage.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rex_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Delano Homestead Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is a lovely, low key inn, in a lovingly restored 19th century house. No ticky-tacky. Great mattresses. Great garden. This would make a nice wedding destination. The place is affordable, and charming. And the biggest surprise is the town itself. The owner recommended a great place for me to jog down to the ocean. Gorgeous. There's a couple of restaurants a block or two away, that were memorably good and just as reasonably priced. I would definitely come back. Note that they don't take children.

Room Tip: my sister and I had the whole third floor (two rooms and a nicely renovated bath) it was private and...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I was travelling with a friend who is a history buff and who booked Delano Homestead over the web because of its connection to Franklin Roosevelt. So I was pleasantly surprised to find it absolutely beautiful, charming, comfortable, beautifully decorated and elegant. Often these old places are a bit fussy in their decor but not this one -- really beautiful and with no sacrifice to modern comforts. The bathroom in the top floor merits special praise -- recently renovated, it is a huge white oasis with a window overlooking the garden, claw footed tub, separate shower, totally modern but fitted out with period fixtures Everything was great!!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Déesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

Did you ever want a private room with the elegance of a by gone era? If so this charming B&bB is for you. This jewel of an inn is located in the historic section of Fairhaven, MA. The home is within easy walking distance of the beach, churches and the library. The downtown area is small, but the friendly residents of this seaside community more than make up for the size. Breakfast is not served at the Delano Homestead, but some delightful restaurants are close to the home. My husband and I have stayed here many times, and are never disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank summerdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Delano Homestead in June of last year. We chose it for a number of reasons, but primarily because we wanted to be able to take advantage of going to the cape, Martha's Vineyard, Providence and Boston. These places are all easily accessible. When you open the front door, you are greeted by this wonderful, wide open foyer with a view of this incredible, to die for spiral staircase. Soaring ceilings abound everywhere, with floor to ceiling windows in just about every room. Period furniture smacks of the Roosvelt family and that era. The bedrooms are large and, again, beautifully furnished to match the time period. You can't find a post bed like the one we slept on at Ethan Allen!! To make it really special the host, Paul, greeted us with yummy over-sized muffins and coffee in the morning. We told friends of ours who were visiting their daughter at Brown Unverisity to give it a swing. They did, and they enjoyed their experience as well.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Larson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dimitry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billevans1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairhaven
0.4 mi away
Seaport Inn and Marina
Seaport Inn and Marina
#2 of 3 in Fairhaven
279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bedford / Fairhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn New Bedford Dartmouth
6.4 mi away
Best Western Dartmouth Inn
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano Homestead Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano Homestead Bed and Breakfast

Address: 39 Walnut St, Fairhaven, MA 02719-2953
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Fairhaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fairhaven
Price Range: £109 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Delano Homestead Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined, historic, Greek Revival Style home with wide-pine floors, 12-foot ceilings, a green house, stone walls, an interesting provenance and a very central location. Walk to restaurants, bike path, beach, fishing piers, tennis courts, shops, marinas, and more. Once the homestead of FDR's mother, grandfather and great grandfather, Franklin spent many days here as a child and visited as President. Close to the Martha's Vineyard Ferry, Cape Cod, Newport, Providence, Boston and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Delano Homestead Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing