We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real surprise, a good one”
Review of Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Rosa
Ranked #1 of 9 Punta Rucia B&B and Inns
Lund, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real surprise, a good one”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

3 times at Arnaud’s place, 3 times happy. Efficient, serviceable, always available, Arnaud makes you feel comfortable, at home, amid a small uneventful fishermen village. We are tired of resorts. We found Villa Rosa and his smart host-cook as the perfect escape. Arnaud knows the whole country and can give you tips; Or guide you in the natural surroundings; Or provide you with all the tools you need to enjoy the sea. Villa Rosa is my best price-enjoyment option in the region. Plus a delightful encounter with the owner. We’ll come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
55
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My husband and I did a road trip around the DR for two weeks and ended up staying 5 days in Punta Rucia at Villa Rosa. I can honestly say that it was the highlight of our trip. Punta Rucia is a very quaint and authentic fishing village, with dirt roads and a small population. What we really enjoyed about our stay was that we got the tropical paradise without the pretentious 'prefection' and level of tourism that other beautiful beach areas in the DR exhibit. Villa Rosa was perfectly placed in the village, right across from the beach. It was quiet and privately gated. My husband and I found the rooms very clean and cutely decorated with bamboo or wood furniture. The mosquito nets only had one hole in it, which we ended up fixing ourselves by tying it, but I don't think we needed it too much since at night we barely noticed any mosquitoes and didn't use any bug spray at all during our trip. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms clean. There is no hot water and no A/C, only a fan (we didn't end up using the fan either). Overall, the rooms were extremely cute; however, if you are used to fancy hotels, resorts and 1st world level of luxury you will be sorely disappointed because this place offers a very cute and quint feel.
As for the food, Arnaud can cook!! We ate at Arnaud's all of our nights there because the food was so amazing. The coffee was also top notch! There are a few other places you can eat in town, such as the new Punta Rucia Lodge Resort, as well as places that the locals go to. For lunch, you have the local vendors as well as the Paradise Island establishment (which is the perfect place to go durng the day for the 'resort feel' to drink a beer and sit under a cabana), but Arnaud will out cook them all! Delicious!

Lastly, my husband and I were fine with this, but people should also be aware that when you are in rural DR, there are a lot of roosters and dogs that can make noise in the early mornings. Some mornings we would get woken up at 4:00 am by roosters or dogs that were in the area. So if this is going to ruin your vacation, I'd say avoid staying in a rural place like Villa Rosa.

Overall, I left Villa Rosa with extremely fond memories and if possible, I would go back in a heart beat. I felt like 4-5 days was the perfect amount of time to explore the village and the sites around it (particularly if you have a car like we did). I also liked that kayaks are available for rent from Arnaud :).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annabouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

It is true to say that Arnaud was very helpful in organising a driver to meet us at the airport but overall we had a slightly disappointing stay. It is a very remote part of DR but 'unspoiled' is stretching things a bit; the beach isn't particularly clean and the lack of infrastructure means there's a lot of garbage lying around. When we were there, only Arnaud's restaurant was open- there was no other restaurant or bar to go to. That said, his food is very good and he has nice wines. But the other reviewers must be made of stronger stuff than us because we found the room to be only just bearable. It felt really grubby. The mosquito net had holes in it, and boy, do you need it because there is standing water at the back of the property and those mozzies are thriving. We got through a week's worth of repellent in 2 days. Villa Rosa is inexpensive so I'm not complaining about that, it's just that it really wouldn't take much to make it so much more pleasant, with a good scrub, a bit of maintenance and some patching-up of the nets.
We had asked by email about snorkelling with manatees as is advertised on the Villa Rosa website (this was our reason for going to Punta Rucia) and had been told 'yes that's no problem', but when we arrived we were told, 'oh snorkelling with them has not been allowed for a couple of years'. I found that a bit strange.
We did a walking tour and watched them from the shore which wasn't quite the same.
It was interesting to see DR away from the all inclusives but I'd be unlikely to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 74white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarete, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

what a perfect stay we had at la vila rosa ! best location, right on th beach, rooms are clean and spacious, host very helpfull, help us organise kitesurf trip to paradise island and a cayac trip at the best price ! its the place to enjoy stand up paddle boarding in the morning and kite in the afternoon!
Safe, easy to find, We will be back !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Beautiful...

We stayed at Villa Rosa in Punta Rucia for 4 nights. Punta Rucia is a very small fishing village with friendly ppl, there is one main street and few tourists (at the moment - we also heard more development is expected soon including quite a number of French residents moving from Las Galeras to Punta Rucia) . There are a few guesthouses and one hotel at the entrance and a couple of restaurants if you do not eat at Villa Rosa (which is fantastic), a restaurant next door which we didn't eat at but was recommended and a restaurant to your left further down which was good. There is a discoteca which we went to, small, basic, open air, where you can dance bachata y merengue with the locals and the rum is cheap. Punta Rucia is so beautiful, the sunsets are so beautiful, the whole setting is like a postcard. This is the Atlantic Ocean but the water is so shallow, calm and warm - it so lovely! Apparently there is alot of coral which is why the water is so calm but in winter more rough. The beach across the road - the whole beach/coast of Punta Rucia is shallow, warm and clean - so beautiful - so wonderful - we walked along the beach from Punta Rucia to Playa Ensenada, stopping to swim along the way and we were alone at almost all times - not something I would expect you can get on the stretches of beach near Puerto Plata and Punta Cana. Playa Ensenada is nice and better for swimming as a bit deeper but it's very busy - esp on the weekend and unfortunately quite dirty - there is alot of litter. Off Playa Ensenada there are many shacks selling food and some discotecas - very Dominican, definitely have a look and while I was wary of the food (as I had gotten sick eating on the beach in another South American country), we ate some delicious Cotorra (Parrot) fish (known in this area), freshly caught and cooked with no stomach problems after. A must do while in Punta Rucia is Cayo Paraiso (Paradise Island) - a small island / sandbar 15-20mins by boat from Punta Rucia. The boat ride coming up to island and little island itself is amazing, ocean and surroundings so beautiful. We did a private tour, so there was just the two of us plus 2 crew and prices were more than worth it (Villa Rosa can secure booking with good price or you can go as a group for cheaper) as the guys were lovely, gave us snorkelling equipment, bread to feed the fish, and stayed with us all day, we also visited mangroves on the way back. The water is so clear and there are many varieties of fish - so colourful, so beautiful! Really can't recommend this enough. We went early (about 8am) and had the island to ourselves to snorkel, swim, lay on the beach. About an 1.5hr later another 2ppl came and an hour or so after that many crammed boats of ppl arrive which is when we decided to leave. There are only a few huts on the island so no food/drinks etc so make sure your bring you own. Villa Rosa has a main house where owner/staff stays with outdoor area to sit/eat, there is a circular pool and nice garden and further down a separate building with two separate large rooms and outside seating area - we had a double bed and single bed with mosquito nets, tv, bathroom. No hot water but water is cool so fine (water is warmer later in the morning / during the day). Room is basic but nice but the staff and owner and the food he cooks is spectacular! The owner is absolutely lovely - very friendly and helpful and he is an amazing chef, we had the most delicious French meals, the most fresh fish, and some lovely French wine to match - as with other Latin American countries good wine is hard to find and all of it terribly expensive so this was a real treat and all not overpriced at all - especially considering the quality of food matched some very expensive French meals we had in London. We ended our 2wk DR holiday in Punta Rucia and it couldn't have been a better ending.
Best way to get there:
From Puerto Plata get the motorway 30 towards El Estrecho - El Ranchito towards Punta Rucia
From Santiago de caballeros Motorway 1 get Mortorway 5 towards Altamira and then Motorway 30 to Punta Rucia. Avoid the Motoway 30 road that comes from (motorway 1) Autopista Duarte, towards Agua De La Palma - El Papayo as it is a dirt road and takes too long.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mioymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leogan, Haiti
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2011

My mom and I stayed here for three nights. It's a great place to relax- the food was wonderful, the rooms are nice and the atmosphere is quiet, casual and laid back. The beaches are beautiful, and most of the time totally private. Its a great place to come to if you are not into the all-inclusive resorts and want something smaller and a more personal feeling- Arnaud and Valerie are great hosts .

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d0d0d0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We stayed in Punta Rucia for a few days before our trip to the Silverbanks to swim with whales. At Villa Rosa we had our own little room in a building separate from the main house. Arnaud cooked us amazing and creative vegetarian meals (at our request!) every evening - and lunch if we wanted it. You can walk out of the gate straight onto the beach to go swimming. Most of the time we were the only people in the sea! Punta Rucia is a delightful Dominican Village with very few tourists. You can walk right round the beach to Ensenada where you can find more cafes and shacks on the beach, with a Dominican party atmosphere at the far end and empty stretches of white sand and palm trees at the Punta Rucia end. There is a great restaurant on the beach between Ensenada and Punta Rucia called (I think) El Horno del Mar. It does amazing pizzas and salads. Arnaud and Valerie met us at the airport, and we got a taxi back to Puerta Plata which cost about $60. You can't get to Punta Rucia by public transport but if you have your own car it's fine as the roads are much improved. Dominican people are very friendly and it is great fun to walk around the village and have a chat with them. We loved our visit to the Haitian market with Arnaud and our visit to the manatee sanctuary with Valerie. If you go to Paradise Island to snorkel go really early. Arnaud asked a couple of the young fisher boys to take us, but even at 8.30 other boats were arriving. We left at 10.30 and it was getting really crowded. The snorkelling is excellent there, so well worth a visit, but go at 7.30!! Later on tour boats arrive from the all-inclusives at Puerta Plata and as they supply free rum you can imagine how impossible it gets to snorkel. Villa Rosa is a gem of a place - Arnaud and Valerie are wonderful, friendly hosts and you will learn a lot about Dominican life. I would go again in an instant! Get there quick before it gets ruined by mass tourism. Later in our trip we saw places which would have been like this once but have been taken over by tourists - get to Villa Rosa and enjoy the real Dominican Republic. Great value for money - showers were cold but who cares? And their dog is adorable!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Rucia
0.7 mi away
Punta Rucia Lodge
Punta Rucia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Rucia
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paraiso Ecolodge
Paraiso Ecolodge
#3 of 9 in Punta Rucia
24 reviews
29.0 mi away
Hotel Cayo Arena
Hotel Cayo Arena
#2 of 3 in Monte Cristi
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
El Morro Eco Adventure Hotel
El Morro Eco Adventure Hotel
#1 of 3 in Monte Cristi
91 reviews
136.7 mi away
Bungalows of Las Galeras
Bungalows of Las Galeras
#3 of 20 in Las Galeras
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Cayito Beach Resort
Hotel El Cayito Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in Monte Cristi
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Property: Villa Rosa
Address: Calle Principale, Punta Rucia, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Punta Rucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Rucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing