We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, affordable, friendly & centrally located”
Review of Carlyle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Derwent Park B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean, affordable, friendly & centrally located”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you are looking for an affordable, clean room, with nice sheets & big beds that's not far from the hub of the city, the Carlyle is your best choice. The food in the bistro was outstanding & generous. I recommend the pork belly, Monday night is steak night & Wednesday is schnitzel night, great value for money. We stayed for 3 nights, there were 6 of us and John the manager & his staff made us feel like we were staying over at a friends house. John was charming, a good Aussie bloke who made everything he did for us look effortless which made us feel at home. The rooms are over a pub so expect a bit of noise friday & sat nights, but it's nothing that bothered us. The rooms are older than your more modern hotels, but you would expect that in a pub hotel the and the price was more than fair . we would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: one of the double rooms we stayed in had a bath as well as a shower, so maybe if you like a bath, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margo i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
13
23
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Myself and my husband had a comfortable stay here, and would consider returning.

The first thing to note is that the accommodation is above the pub / restaurant / bar area, so you check-in at the bar beside the gaming room. You need to bring your luggage through the bar to go upstairs to your room, but the bar is a relatively quiet one, it's separate from their main public bar. When I saw the accommodation was upstairs, I'll admit I was nervous about noise being a problem, as my husband was in Hobart for a sports event and needed sleep, but we were both pleasantly surprised that it was relatively quiet.

We stayed four nights, including over the weekend, and weren't disturbed during our sleep once.

The room is a basic pub room, small toilet and shower room, main room had the vanity / basin in it, small fridge and tiny television. Bed was relatively comfortable so allowed a good nights sleep.

My only negative is that the housekeeping staff make it difficult to have a sleep-in. They seem happy in their job which is fantastic, but they talk and talk and talk for hours outside your room in the hallway. If you're up early each morning then this won't be a problem :-)

Had one evening meal in the restaurant. Garlic loaf is fantastic, but don't think that the $10 steak special will be like a normal steak special at a pub which is usually a big feed. It is served on a tiny plate and you literally get a tiny piece of rump with a handful of chips. That's it. I paid I think an additional $6 for it to be surf and turf, and got a whopping 3 prawns for my $6. The rest of the menu looked amazing, however was pretty expensive for dining at a pub. I could go to a waterfront dining establishment or Salamanca and pay less...so we did.

Value for money made this an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Carlyle hotel and have to admit it was pretty good for the price and even included breakfast. The room was a decent size with it's own shower and toilet also so had a small tv and a mini fridge in the room. staff were good also were the cleaners. one other reason why I chose the Carlyle was for the location as it is located next door to the bus interchange and easy to get to the city or the outer suburbs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the self contained family unit when we were in Hobart for a wedding earlier this year.

The accomodation was perfect for us with our toddler, as it was fully self contained with two separate bedrooms, allowing our daughter to sleep happily. It also had a kitchen with all facilities so we were able to prepare meals comfortably. Access to the unit was easy and didn't require walking through the hotel.

Food at the hotel was excellent and well priced, and there was also a great enclosed play area for kids off the dining area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonHMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Park
3.7 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
3.5 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
1,217 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#16 of 48 in Hobart
924 reviews
1.8 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#24 of 48 in Hobart
171 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Hotel

Property: Carlyle Hotel
Address: 232 Main Rd, Derwent Park, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7009, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Derwent Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Derwent Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlyle Hotel in Derwent Park is within close proximity to the Derwent River, near Prince of Wales Bay and the world famous Mona - Museum of Old and New Art. We offer a relaxed and friendly environment with dining and entertainment for locals and visitors to enjoy. Our lovely hotel has won the Australian Hotels Association Award for Excellence in the Casual/Family Dining category. Our friendly staff are committed to providing a professional standard of service to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. While you visit, be sure to ask one of them about the local attractions, which include the Cadbury Factory at Claremont and Moorilla Estate Winery at Berridale and Mona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing