We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, great bar - intimate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria La Civetta

Osteria La Civetta
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria La Civetta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 162 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
259 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great bar - intimate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This is a favorite place - we live nearby so we go here often; love sitting at the bar; love some of the specials and the wines are excellent - food is well prepared and very authentic with owners from Italy. Lovely people - do come here; reservations needed on weekends. Lunch good too - sit in the window on a rainy day and watch the tourists go by - we'll be at the other table doing the same!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti4709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    70
    38
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Its an hour's drive for us when we're in Dennis on the Cape but we love La Civetta. Owners and chef's are from the Bologna, Italy area. My father's family is from the same area so we know what Bolognese cuisine is and La Civetta does as well. Friendly wait staff (hi Mimi) and owners. We've even met Sara's (owner with her husband) on separate occasions when they were visiting from Bologna. When I called for another reservation last summer the mother answered the phone and remembered my name from a year or more earlier. Give it a try, I think you'll like it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank retired01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I ate here while staying in Falmouth in August of 2012. We did not have a reservation, but were seated right away. The waitress was excellent; genuinely friendly and spot on with service. I ordered the special, which was cheese ravioli stuffed with roasted almonds. It was excellent; very much like something my grandmother-in-law would make it. Not only was the food authentic, but so was the atmosphere. It was lively, cozy and welcoming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank msrugg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Falmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Food but TOO MUCH”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Last week we had dinner here and had a so so experience. We arrived at 5:20 and were told they didn't open for dinner until 5:30. Politely we were given a table as well as menus and the waitress suggested we order a glass of wine while we waited. Those came promptly. From that point the service went from good to average. We split a salad as we figured it would be too big and it was. Do you wonder why side salads are sometimes too much? Especially in an Italian restaurant where 4 courses are the norm. We each ordered a first course. Again too much. I would have liked to try a dessert but no room. Average atmosphere, average service and a bit pricey. I dislike leftovers and would appreciate smaller portions and lower prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We ate here for the first time last weekend. We sat in the back room which was quiet and homey. The owners both came out to greet us. We were able to sample different wines and even sauces before we ordered. Everyone had a wonderful meal. It was relaxing. We were able to take our time and enjoy ourselves. This will now be our new favorite place. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy41477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Civetta also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Osteria La Civetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing