We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”

Cornelia Carey Sanctuary (The Knob)
Ranked #7 of 56 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Before you go.. there is very limited parking. Please try to walk or bike there for a visit. No large gatherings, events or functions are allowed on the Knob property. Nature trails run among the beach, rock and trees of this hidden shelter. Please leave the property as you found it. Dogs are allowed but only on leash. Please clean-up after your dog. This is a non-smoking property.
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We heard about this from another couple that was visiting. It was a nice hike, a nice beach is nearby, and the view at the end was really pretty. Lots of mosquitoes though and poison ivy. So bring the bug spray and stay on the path.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NYtravelers_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    38
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great short hike!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Although the day we did this hike was a bit drizzly, we enjoyed this short hike out to a very beautiful spot that was surrounded by water on 3 sides. When doing this hike, if you have young children who are in flip flops or want less rugged terrain, I would recommend that you stay to the right when you hit the fork in the path to stay on the main trail. The left side gives you views of the cove/harbor but there are more roots that you could trip on and the vegetation closes in on the narrow trails at some points.

Definitely worth the time to see this pretty spot!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DreamingOfTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The place is beautiful and enjoyed walking here.

Note:
- Lot of mosquitoes
- Have to walk little bit
- Parking area very limited
- No good after 7 pm.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdh078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Truly a hidden gem. Not fancy. Not commercialized. The owner of this land donated this land for conservation hence the name.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Funnyelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

When in Wood's Hole, having spent quite some time driving around trying to find a spot to park, I walked round a small market on which a chap was selling paintings. One of them was entitled the Knob and I said to the artist that that was a spot on my list of places I wanted to visit, but that we were finding it very difficult fo find anywhere without signs up saying YOU CAN'T PARK HERE. He conceded that the area likes to encourage visitors but doesn't like them to park. However, he very kindly gave me directions to the Knob and said there was free parking at the Harbour there, albeit it might be busy as there was a boating competition that day. We drove up there and lucked out with a parking space. What a beautiful spot. Immediately in front of you is a horseshoe shaped bay full of wee boats and with a beach on the far side. There were only a handful of people on the beach so we parked ourselves. Later on we walked along the coast which winds around following the path that was signposted as Corenelia Carey Sanctuary. There were steps up from the beach se we climbed up here and continued down the path which takes you to the actual Knob from where you have a view of the open sea as far as the eye can see. We also then discovered another beach on the other side of the path which you could reach by walking back down the path and taking steps to the left. This looked very pretty and reasonably empty also. This was one of my favourite spots on our trip

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Payner41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cornelia Carey Sanctuary (The Knob) also viewed

 

Been to Cornelia Carey Sanctuary (The Knob)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing