We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coonamessett Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coonamessett Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Inn is a pretty nice place that I would probably give 3 or 4 stars if we had wouldn't have needed heat! We checked in and found out the heat was not working in our room. It was a rainy and cold night (in the 40's). When we went into our room it was very cold so we turned the heat on. It didn't work, so I called the front desk and they told us it would take a while to come on. Someone came and tried to get it to work but it wouldn't. There was no other rooms available and it was late so we just decided to stick it out. I slept with my coat, sweats and gloves on! I wouldn't be writing this review if the manager had offered to either comp our room or give us a discount. The next morning my husband went to talk to them and they offered 20%. off. My husband argued a bit and said that was unacceptable and that he expected a little more than that. So after a while they gave us about 50% off. What I have a problem with is that the manager never approached us himself, even though everyone was aware that we were in a room without any heat. Any other reputable hotel would have comped it. The man that came to work on the furnace was very nice and really tried to help us.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vicmom710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    45
    20
    15
    8
See reviews for
45
57
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

TOTALLY charming COONAMESSETT INN is a jewel. The rooms we were in had huge space. The first night we had a room with a sitting room and a separate bed room. The windows opened for fresh air. Our car was parked a few feet away. The second night was as good, if not better. We changed rooms for a reno.
The second night we were re-located beside the entrance, steps away from the dining areas.
Both nights the beds were superb.

The staff is excellent and so helpful.
The meals in the 'pub style' restaurant were excellent. The waiters were first class.
I did not want to leave!

WE WILL DEFINITELY COME HERE AGAIN!!

Room Tip: Parking is very close to the rooms. Continental Breakfast is complimentary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmbellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Comfortable, relaxing, great for group travel, restaurant has great food, winter specials for food and stay. Weddings are a blast here, always stay on property for pregame activities, easy walk back to room to refill you cup on cash bars or get some more homemade wine. No complaints after 4 visits.

Room Tip: We love the Village Rooms 1-10 are the best, closest to main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLong58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This inn is very run down. First, you have to try to find your "villa". Then travel down multi-levels of stairs which are extremely worn concrete in very dim light. The unit is nice, clean but shows it age, You get to look out the bedroom window at old rusty air conditioners. The bathroom is small and is "sinking". I could not even use the mirror to remove my contact because it was tooooo high. The bed was very good. The stay includes a cold breakfast with fresh fruit, juice ad pastries.

Room Tip: Way tooooooooooo expensive for what you get. Go across the street to the Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vineyard521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed at this upscale country inn for the second time. Room was spacious, bright and clean. Management and Staff were very accomodating. Dining room offers a good selection of well prepared items. The cold breakfast buffet was well supplied with high end pastries, fresh fruit and cereals. A personnal note about extra service. While the breakfast buffet is open from 8 AM to 10 AM, when they learned the we would have to depart at 7:30 to catch a plane in Boston, they made arrangements for the buffet to be available to us at 7:00. We will certainly return on our next visit to the Cape.
Rose and Dick A

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Was here attending a wedding first of this month. Grounds are beautiful, well kept! Wedding was outdoor, was lovely. Our room was GORGEOUS! Soo nice, the best of one of the most comfy beds I have EVER slept in. It was like a slept on a cloud, I'm not exaggerating lol. The food served at the wedding which was catered by the inn was excellent as well.

Service....well that was another story. I arrived and went to check in, the girl basically ignored me for like 5 minutes and kept answering the phone and putting her finger up as to say one minute. Not friendly at all. Then I gave her my information, she didn't even look at me I felt like she was still ignoring me, then she hollered over me to another girl to come and finish with me cause she had to go. Later, at the wedding, there were two bartenders, a man and a woman. The man was very rude. I went to the bar, ordered a drink for myself and one for my mother. Gave it to her and she said it wasn't right, I asked for a whiskey and 7up and he made her a whiskey sour. She took it back and he acted as if how dare you bring a drink back. He poured it out very abruptly she said and made another. When that drink was done she went for an other and was recognized her and ignored her for like 5 minutes before finally speaking to her. We spoke to a few other who also had issues with this same bartender. On a positive service note...When I checked out, the man at the desk was wonderful. Very kind. Continental breakfast didn't start until 8, we were there around 730 as we had a long drive home, I asked if the tea by chance was ready and he said no but I will go make you a cup to take.

Overall, the hotel was so beautiful and I hope to visit the Cape again very soon!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was married here and it could not have been better. Brad and Jim handled everything and I was stress free through the entire day. We had our entire wedding party stay here which made for a perfect setting. The food was great and the atmosphere was great for the wedding.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
19.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coonamessett Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coonamessett Inn

Property: Coonamessett Inn
Address: 311 Gifford St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2913 (Formerly The Coonamessett Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coonamessett Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coonamessett Inn is located in the heart of historic Flmouth village. Our 29 rooms have just undergone a full renovation with all new furniture, flat panel tv's, carpeting and paint. If you have stayed with us before you recognize us. Our full service bar and dining room make us a perfect romantic getaway spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coonamessett Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coonamessett Hotel Falmouth
Coonamessett Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing