We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time at Captain Tom's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing time at Captain Tom's”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The wife and I had our first B&B experience at the Captain Tom Lawrence House. I can't say enough about it. Jim and Anne gave us absolute exceptional service. They went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed and that we had a great time on the cape. They helped us plan some portions of our trip, helped us get tickets across to Martha's and Jim even was nice enough to drive us down to the docks to make sure we made our transfer. The location is great. Walking distance to the downtown Falmouth restaurants and shops and a quick 5-10 minute drive to Wood's Hole. The breakfast was great. My wife is a vegetarian and they had no issues accomodating. The room itself was nice and very clean. The bed wasn't the best but we had no issues catching some shut eye. Of course if you haven't been to Mass in the Summer get ready for early mornings as it get bright REAL early.

Overall I'd say the trip was an absolute win. I'd recommend the CTLH, Jim & Anne to anyone looking for a great B&B on the cape.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    26
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
82
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, IL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Jim and Anne make you feel very welcome in their home. Falmouth is charming and Anne gave us great advice of places to visit and things to do. The breakfasts were amazing! We would definitely come back. Rent a bike and ride along the bike path!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poodlepook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ma
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My family and I spent last weekend at the inn. Everything about it was just wonderful. Anne and Jim are lovely hosts who went out of their way to accommodate some special eating constraints we had. We were so surprised and very grateful. The breakfast was absolutely delicious.
The inn itself is beautiful, clean and conveniently located. The beds were really comfortable.
We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in on the first floor is beautiful. The only minor drawback is the tiny bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolgened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had wonderful stay here. Jim and Anne are excellent hosts, very welcoming to us, helped us with directions and advice on where to go. Breakfasts were splendid, home made tartlets, cakes, different menu each morning. They have a very easy going style, introduced us to the other guests. The Inn is a great B & B located within easy walking distance of main street Falmouth which was very busy as it was labor day weekend. Jim even drove us in his car to catch the morning ferry to Martha's Vineyard. We stayed in the larger, more expensive, bedroom to the front of the house, but it was worth it. It had four poster bed, well stocked with toileteries, towels, bottled water.
Excellent accomodation and superb hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This was our first experience at a B&B and the innkeepers Jim and Anne could not have been more accommodating; from the fabulous breakfasts served to maps and information on the area since this was our first visit. This inn is in walking distance to the quaint town of Falmouth, cute shops and restaurants and convenient to the ferry from Wood's Hole to Martha's Vineyard. We enjoyed our 2 nights here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs, more privacy, maybe quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chattie1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Everything you could ask from a B&B - nice rooms, clean, quiet - phenomenal breakfast, convenient to everything; innkeepers were like old friends.We stayed 3 nights and wished we could stay longer! Concern for guests is paramount - they even went out of their way to personally ensure that a foreign guest who needed a little assistance with travel plans was brought exactly where she needed to be!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banderse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

If you are searching for excellent accommodation and hospitality in Falmouth then look no further than the Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn. We originally booked for just four nights but after we arrived liked it so much that decided to stay for eight in total! The very friendly owners, Jim and Anne, made us feel extremely welcome and were able to provide us with a wealth of information about the locality such as interesting places to see, good restaurants, where to hire bikes, maps etc. Jim also very kindly drove us to Woods Hole to catch the ferry to Martha’s Vineyard.
There are six bedrooms, all of which are very comfortably furnished, along with lovely fluffy towels, toiletries, bottled water and chocolates every day!
Breakfast was excellent – we had something different each day and it was all very well presented and served. Home made lemonade and cakes were also provided in the afternoon to which guests could help themselves.
The inn is only a very short walk into Falmouth which is a very pretty small town with lots of shops, restaurants and a large marina. The Shining Sea Bikeway runs behind the inn and we enjoyed hiring bikes and riding down to Woods Hole which is also a very pleasant and interesting town.
Overall we would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast. Falmouth is a really good place from which to explore all of Cape Cod and Martha’s Vineyard and Jim and Anne are great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gil1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.1 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#2 of 9 in Falmouth
438 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn

Property: Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn
Address: 75 Locust St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2658
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and historic, beautifully restored 1861 whaling captain’s residence. Five minute walk to the main street and the village green of the historic village of Falmouth. Close to sea beaches, numerous golf courses, myriad restaurants and ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. Central air-conditioning. Cable TV and refrigerator in each room. Bicycles available. Family Apartment: Fully furnished apartment w/AC. Free WIFI Cable TV - Ideal for family of 4. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing