We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay. Wonderful Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Stay. Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Capt. Tom Lawrence House Inn. It was like momentarily stepping back to the nineteenth century but with all the conveniences and luxury of the twenty first century. Anne and Jim were wonderful hosts and could not have done more to help us and make our stay so perfect. The Inn is perfectly placed to take advantage of the historic Falmouth Main Street and the ferries to Martha's Vineyard. Needless to say, breakfasts were excellent and set us up for the day. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    26
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
79
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have stayed at the Cpt Tom Lawrence Inn several times. Most recently on Memorial Day Weekend. It's always a great experience and the breakfast is always fabulous. While we were there this time, we met other guests from as far away Washington State and Arizona. Ann and Jim are great hosts, always attentive to any special dietary needs and eager to have you enjoy your stay on Cape Cod.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Albert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Captain Tom Lawrence Inn (Bed & Breakfast) in Falmouth, MA. It was close to all places we wanted to visit. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Jim and Anne were very gracious innkeepers and served us a wonderful breakfast each morning. We will be back as we hope to make this trip each year to visit relatives.
Thank you from our family
Nancy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne G, Owner at Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Nancy, Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make our guests feel at home and to give them the best service possible. We are pleased to know that it was an enjoyable experience for you. Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you again.

Jim and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have stayed at The Captain Tom Lawrence Inn twice now, during visits to friends we have in the area. And we will do the same in the future, as this is a wonderful B&B! If you can pretend away the modern conveniences, you’ll feel like you’re living in 1850’s Cape Cod, as the furnishings and layout of the house have a really authentic feel. But all the modern creature comforts are there too. We’ve stayed in both the Parlor Room and the Anaconda Room and loved both. The beds were great, the furnishings beautiful, and the inn’s atmosphere mellow and unhurried. We love kicking back in the parlor/dining area on the first floor with a good book. Hosts Jim and Anne are delightful; never in your face but always ready and willing to answer any questions you might have about the area. Falmouth is often passed by as people whiz off to the Nat’l Seashore, but it has become our favorite town on the cape. The Inn is a short (and pleasant!) walk from town, which is a great place to linger and soak up the ambience. There's great shopping and restaurants, but without the backed-up traffic, the noise, and frenetic pace that some of the Cape towns seem to have during peak season. If you find yourself in this corner of the Cape, book at the Captain Tom Lawrence. Like us, you’ll want to come back again.

Room Tip: Just pick the bed size(s) you require and you can't go wrong. We like the coziness factor of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at the Capt Tom Lawrence House in late November. The inn is charming the hospitality was great. There are numerous restaurants and shops within a five minute walk. You can also walk to the shuttle bus that takes people to the ferry docks in Woods Hole if you, like us, plan to visit Martha’s Vineyard for the day. The hospitality of the innkeepers Jim and Anne was top notch and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Review their website to find your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergertron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Cape Cod was our first stop on our New England road trip.
We chose Falmouth as our base for 3 nights and day-tripped to Provincetown and Martha's Vineyard.
Jim and Anne were very friendly and professional and always helpful when we required any info.
Jim kindly gave us a lift to Woods Hole to catch the ferry to MV and we were also able to buy our ferry tickets from him, saving us the hassle of queuing at the boat.
We stayed in the Mates Room which is probably one of the smaller rooms in the house. It was fine for us as we were out most of the time anyway. It was quiet, comfortable and clean.
Anne's breakfasts were delicious and varied. We loved the french toast and looked forward to breakfast each morning. This was also a good time to meet the other guests and chat about our plans.
Falmouth suited us fine, we were able to hire bikes close to the B&B and we also had a beautiful meal in the Glass Onion restaurant, which is only about a 5 minute walk from the house.We also enjoyed a couple of beers in Liam Maguire's bar on the Main Street.
I would recommend the Tom Lawrence without hesitation and would stay there again if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mates at the back of the house, cosy and petite, but quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shells99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Friends and I recently spent another great weekend at the Inn - our hosts, Jim and Anne, were welcoming and helpful. The Inn is lovely and so convenient, within walking distance to the heart of Falmouth, and easy driving distance to many other venues. Our breakfasts were delicious and got us off to a great start to our day. We've been to the Inn during summer, Fall, and even for a weekend during Christmas season (great fun!), and enjoyed each time.
Amy M.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyJM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.1 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn

Property: Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn
Address: 75 Locust St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2658
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and historic, beautifully restored 1861 whaling captain’s residence. Five minute walk to the main street and the village green of the historic village of Falmouth. Close to sea beaches, numerous golf courses, myriad restaurants and ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. Central air-conditioning. Cable TV and refrigerator in each room. Bicycles available. Family Apartment: Fully furnished apartment w/AC. Free WIFI Cable TV - Ideal for family of 4. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing