We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”
Review of Palmer House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palmer House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I have stayed here a couple of times. Our most recent trip to the Cape was Fall 2013. The Inn is so beautifully decorated and the staff is very accommodating. They are always helpful with local restaurant recommendations and are very knowledgeable about the area. The breakfasts were delicious and I enjoy the afternoon tea and a treat. It is just one of the many little extras that makes the Palmer House Inn so special.

Room Tip: My favorite is Room 12 it is one of the larger rooms and is decorated in reds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperpat, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Erin G, It is always a pleasure to host you at our inn. We enjoy our winter guests because we have a chance to get to know them a little better during the quiet time of the year. We are looking forward to your next visit. Always, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

A sincere word of thanks to Pat and Bill, the innkeepers at The Palmer House Inn in Falmouth MA. We enjoyed our stay at your wonderful inn and loved it so much, we decided to bring our friends along next time.
The staff at The Palmer House Inn makes every effort to insure that even the smallest of details are simply perfect. Thank you.

Just a quick mention of what to expect if you are planning a stay at PHI.
First, don't miss breakfast, it will likely be one of the most memorable parts of your stay. The food, like everything else at the Inn, is carefully selected to add just another level of perfection to a wonderful stay.

Second, the main house and Carriage House are impeccably decorated with much thought and attention to detail. Be sure to explore each floor, as there is something interesting around every corner, and in every nook and cranny. 

We have stayed in the Emily Dickinson room with its fireplace, canopy bed, and whirlpool tub. No matter which room you stay in you are going to feel pampered. The beds are wonderful, and although high, come complete with step stool!

The rooms and Inn are decorated very richly. Antiques abound everywhere, as does the Inn's wonderful artwork.We can't wait to return again, and plan to make it a regular stop for many years to come.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseInn, Manager at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Sharyn H., Thank you for the wonderful review. We love having you stay with us and are looking forward to meeting new friends soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Really great B&B, and the breakfast was super. I got a new client in Falmouth and my assistant booked me here. Wouldn't have been my first choice but it turned out to be a great room and a neat, unusual inn. Definitely better than your usual hotel for something unique.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eugeneh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseInn, Manager at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Eugene81, Thanks so much for your great review. We aim to please with a unique and authentic Cape Cod experience. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a beautiful, well kept, very clean inn. I had a comfortable and restful two days here while on business. I really wish I could've stayed through the weekend. Breakfast was fresh, delicious, and on time! I highly recommend staying here if you're in the area.

Room Tip: many options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperpat, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Peter M, We do not have many business travelers but it is good to know that you enjoyed your stay. It would be nice to see you again, perhaps for a pleasure trip. Always, Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed in Falmouth in Cape Cod in October. The Palmer House exceeded our expectations, which were already high to begin with, because we've enjoyed other B&B experiences. The Palmer House was beautifully decorated in Victorian period furniture and decor, the rooms were not large, but beautifully appointed, and sparkling clean with charming details everywhere, and the staff and hosts were very friendly, accommodating, and happy to assist with whatever we asked. They provided delicious breakfasts and wonderful afternoon refreshments, ready advice about getting the most out of the area, and even loaned us a couple of bikes to ride the bike trail nearby. Bill and Pat and their lovely staff took great care of every detail and of us! Highly recommended! Thanks for a wonderful couple of days on the Cape!

Room Tip: We peeked into several rooms in the Inn and the few we saw were all small, but beautifully kept. Sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukielovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperpat, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Sukielovest, We enjoyed hosting you. Cape Cod is beautiful a year round and I am happy that you had a nice stay during the "quiet" season. Sincerely, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Winter time may not be the ideal time to visit the Cape, but my first experience in Falmouth was so fantastic! The Palmer House was so inviting with the beautiful garlands, wreathes and special holiday details that I couldn't imagine visiting another time of the year! I could write a novel on my favorite items from our visit but will narrow it down to just a few. First and most importantly, were the gracious hosts, Bill & Pat O'Connell! They thought of everything, from the personalized message in our room, to the goodie basket that included Cape Cod Chips, Cranberry chocolates & best of all complimentary water! We stayed in the Ben Franklin Room which is in a cottage off the main house; fireplace, jacuzzi tub & the most comfortable king size bed (with unbelievable sheets) I have ever slept in! The Inn is kept so clean. Rosy, the friendly house keeper greeted us in the evening with chocolates and turn down service. Restaurants and shops are just steps away, so was a nice walk to the beach. This was exactly the type of getaway we needed from visiting family during the holidays! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgilliam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperpat, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2014

Dear Cgillian, What a wonderful review! We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday visit. We are the only B&B in Falmouth Village that stays open for the holidays. We think that it is fun.We are a great place to stay while visiting relatives at Thanksgiving and Christmas and a wonderful place to spend "First Night". The restaurants are open, are taking reservations and are just a short stroll from the Palmer House Inn where your warm cosy bed awaits after an evening of good cheer.
Sincerely, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

It was our first visit to The Palmer House and we loved every minute of it!

The innkeepers Bill & Pat O'Connell were gracious, knowledgeable hosts and do an excellent job. My wife and I stayed in the Ben Franklin Room which was warn and cozy. The room was decorated beautifully and we loved that it had a fireplace.The breakfast the next morning was very tasteful (try the cranberry sunrise juice) and we even went to a local bakery to acquire some of the local bread served at breakfast.

Next, a stroll down to the beach and through the lovey town of Falmouth with a stop at the local Irish Bar for a quick refreshment. Overall an excellent experience and we will be back! Love, Love, Loved this place and would highly recommend it to anyone who stays down the Cape, can't wait to go back!

John & Carol Sedensky

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsedensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperpat, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Dear Jsedensky, Your review is wonderful and thank you for including photos. We just love it when guests post pictures to Trip Advisor for us. We hope to see you again. Always, Bill & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
662 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
542 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House Inn

Address: 81 Palmer Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-2857
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: £172 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Queen Anne style B & B and adjacent Guest House reflect the gentility, charm and romantic elegance of the Victorian Age. This romantic bed and breakfast is in Falmouth's Historic District, a quiet residential area of tree lined streets, picket fences, colorful gardens, and elegant homes. Beautiful beaches, quaint shops, ferry shuttles and excellent restaurants are only a short stroll from our Cape Cod Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Palmer House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Falmouth
Palmer House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing