We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Cozy, Friendly - Brilliant”
Review of Palmer House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palmer House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solana Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic, Cozy, Friendly - Brilliant”
Reviewed 16 December 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a romantic pre-Christmas weekend. It was brilliant – now we’re ready for the chaos of kids and family for the holidays.

We stayed in room 5. It had an enormous (and very comfortable) four poster bed with a warm fireplace and a Jacuzzi hot tub. The innkeepers were very friendly offering suggestions of things to do, restaurants for dinner and when we arrived, Bill (the innkeeper) even carried my bags to our room. Falmouth was decorated for the holidays and I couldn’t believe how close we were to the downtown area – we walked!

We’ll definitely be staying there again next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leirigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear leirigh, Thank you for the wonderful review. Falmouth is a fanciful town to visit for Christmas. The Village Green is lighted, we have a great parade on the first Sunday of December and the shops & restaurants are open late. One nice feature is that many of the shops offer complementary gift wrapping. This is not to mention that the Palmer House is decorated "to the nines". Please come again, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    32
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
219
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My boyfriend and I had been looking forward to spending our 1 year anniversary in Cape Cod and were beyond excited to be staying at what appeared to be a very authentic and beautiful B&B. Upon our arrival we were greeted by one of the owners who was less than friendly and told us we would have to leave and come back in 30 minutes when the cleaning service had left. We shrugged this off and spent a hour or so walking around the main street which is definitely very conveniently located. When we came back we were thrilled with our room (#7 - the Herman Melville room). It's a nice sized room that is decorated well (not overly flowery and frilly like some of the other rooms) and the bathroom was pretty large. We didn't realize what we were really in for until we climed into bed that evening. That mattress might as well have been a plywood plank. By far the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. After a mediocre breakfast my boyfriend went down to politely inquire with one of the owner's as to whether moving to a different room was an option. We're pretty sure he spoke to the owner and husband Bill who basically told him that all of the mattresses are the same and that they have found that most guests prefer the semi-firm mattresses. Period. End of story. Needless to say this left us less than thrilled with our stay. From other reviews I have read since our stay it seems we weren't the only ones who found the owners to be rude and unaccomodating. I will definitely not stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkl1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear mkl1883, We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Since your visit we have installed pillow-tops to our mattresses. Pat O'Connell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

This was our third stay at the Palmer House Inn in recent years. We would stay again, and we would recommend the inn to other guests. I believe that our previous stays were in the delightful Harriet Beecher Stowe Room (Room A of the guesthouse), which includes a king bed, whirlpool bath, and fireplace ... room to move. On the other hand, our stay this week was in the Edith Wharton Room (Room 2 of the main inn). This is listed as a "mid-sized room" and one of the inn's "most requested" rooms. My suggestion would be to NOT choose this room. If this is "mid-sized", I would hate to see small! This room is tiny, and the bathroom clearly shows how private baths in many older inns had their origins as closets. I would estimate the bathroom size at 35 square feet, including the 10 square feet for the stand-up shower stall, making it nearly impossible for a normal-sized person to move about. In addition to the room size, guests should be aware that this room, in the turret on the second floor, faces the front of the property. This means two things: highway noise (both at night and beginning again around 6:00AM) and an outdoor floodlight shining into the windows until the late hours of the night (presumably to create a pleasant visual effect for passersby, at the expense of guests inside, with little respite from the translucent mini-blinds).

Again, I recommend the Palmer House Inn, but do not recommend that guests choose the "most requested" Edith Wharton Room.

One other point worth mentioning: The property's "free wi-fi" is part of a municipal system of hotspots called "The Unwired Village". Despite multiple attempts, we could easily connect to the network but could not connect to the Internet from the inn. Later in the day, we were able to register with The Unwired Village from another hotspot in town; however, we still could not browse the Web. A new user must register for the free service, but can then not proceed to any other Web page until clicking on the e-mailed activation link. Catch-22: If you can't connect to the Internet yet, you cannot access your e-mail to click on the activation link. It is great to have a town-wide wi-fi system, but this setup procedure was clearly not designed by a rocket scientist.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_01039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear Peter_01039, Thank you for writing a review for us. We are sorry that you felt cramped in the Wharton Room. We suggest that potential guests check the website before booking a room. The square footage and location of each room is clearly stated in the room description. We have learned from our mistakes. The problems with the WIFI have been corrected and the front spotlight is turned off at 10:00 PM. If you plan to stay with us again, please let us know if you are unhappy about a particular situation. If it is within our power we will be happy to change what is bothering you. Sincerely, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

The Palmer House Inn in Falmouth is a fantastic little B&B in a great location. It is located just 1 block from the main street of town where all the shops and restaurants are situated (if you are looking for the usual mainstream stores like CVS, Burger King, Blockbuster, you are not going to find it in that little section. Go down half a mile. This is a good thing. I promise). If you are up for a stroll around town, the Inn provides bikes, and the beach is no more than a 20 minute leisurely walk away. The inn also provides nice towels for use at the beach.

The staff at Palmer House Inn is very courteous and welcoming. Upon check in, food preferences are taken (for breakfast), they will give you a tour of the property, and some tips for going around town. Typically, at hotels, the whole check-in process seems more of like a business transaction, and that's perfectly fine. This place goes out of their way to make you feel like a welcomed guest - a feeling that you would normally find at high-end resorts that are particular about details.

I cannot give a review of the other rooms, as each room is different. My room was The Penthouse, chosen only because I wanted a king-size bed and a whirlpool, and I preferred the aesthetics of it.

Upon entering the room, I was pleasantly surprised by a hand-written note from the Innkeepers welcoming me to their Inn. Quite a nice, personal touch that just adds to the ambiance of place.

Anyone that knows me will tell you that I am super-picky about my beds and linens (I have been spoiled by Westin & W hotels). It is well-known that Starwood Hotels, namely their Westin chain, started the hotel trend of having fantastic beds and linens, and the bed and linens provided by Palmer House are fantastic. 600-thread count sheets and a very comfortable yet firm mattress. It is quite possibly to just immediately fall asleep on that bed.

The bathroom features a two-person shower with dual showerheads. A hairdryer is available for use. The layout and design of the bathroom is very clean and somewhat upscale. Towels provided are Turkish bath towels around 600 grams. Seems to be only the best is provided for the guests.

A window AC is installed in the room to battle the summer heat. It is quiet compared to most window AC models and does a great job at keeping the room cool.

A refrigerator is in the room if you need to keep anything cool. Please take note that if you put it on the highest setting, it can become a freezer. On top of the mini-fridge, there are the coffee and teas plus the coffee-maker if you would like to have them in the room.

A few feet in front of the bed, there is a two-person whirlpool. It wasn't just that there was a whirlpool in front of the bed or in the room that made me take note of this. It was the precise details of the electric candles and bath salts provided by the Inn. The candles are not cheap-looking, no-motion candles. These flicker and have real-looking wicks. Also there was a vase filled with fresh-cut flowers for a nice, sweet touch to the whole look.

Photos of the room do not do it justice at all. One might worry that it may be too Victorian or flowery (I know I did), but when you see it in person, it really does all come together.

Being that this is a B&B, I must note the breakfast included in the stay. One thing that really got my attention was that the Innkeepers, Bill & Pat, actually make the breakfast. They didn't hire a chef or take the easy way out on this, and they could have. Instead, they took the time to prepare their favorite breakfast dishes that give each guest a taste of New England.

Breakfast is not just a one-plate event here. Once seated, a staff member will tell the guest what delicious foods will be presented. Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate is served first. Then, juice if you would like. A selection of breads, jams, and cereal is on the table at the wall that you can munch on while breakfast is being prepared.

Of course, parts of the meal are prepared in advance. It is not feasible to serve 15+ guests in a timely manner if you only have 2 people in the kitchen. However, you would not be able to tell at all that the waffles were previously prepared. Still warm and crisp, they were topped with a strawberry jam and some blueberries and joined with a dollop of freshly made whipped cream. Moist and flavorful turkey sausage patties were a side to give some meat to the meal.

From the moment that you check in, to the time you depart, the Palmer House Inn makes sure that each of their guests are well taken care of. I can easily recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Cape Cod. There are a million other details that I could add to this review, but it is better if you experience them yourself and be delightfully surprised.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetReverie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear Sweet Reverie, We can not begin to thank you for this fantastic review. We put our all into this property and it is rewarding to know that it is all worth our while. Thank you very much, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Bill & Pat really set the standard for our holiday as this was the first of 7 places that we planned to stay during our 2 and a bit weeks in New England.

Everything was great about this place. If you want it, they've got it.

We were treated to a surprise bottle of champagne and chocolates which was a really good and was completely finished off in a single sitting.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — Warm friendly Innkeepers and well kept house.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank T2008J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear T2008J, Your review is fantastic! We are happy to know that you rated us so highly. We aim to please and it is rewarding to know when we have hit the mark. Thank you, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

My husband and I found the Inn easily, and noticed that it was very close (a 5 minute walk) from the quaint downtown area. The inn itself was very pretty- the furnishings were appropriate to the age of the home, and the bed was very comfortable. A few things we were disappointed by were the lack of central a/c (they have window a/c, which is needed in the summer), and the size of the room. Also, the breakfast, although delicious, seemed stuffy in the small diningroom. The lady of the house was very nice, very hospitable, however, the gentleman seemed less than enthused about anybody's stay at the inn.

  • Liked — The bed, the breakfast meal, the location
  • Disliked — Friendliness of some staff, size of the room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear travelover28, Thank you for writing a review. We learn from our guests. You made good suggestions. Since your visit we have installed A/C in the dining room and it is much more pleasant on those hot summer days. Also we have expanded our dining to the deck area. The tables on the deck are in high demand. It is very pleasant to dine while looking at little garden of fragrant pepper bushes. This time of year the dog wood tree is in bloom and gives wonderful shade. Our house is over one hundred years old and the window A/C units seem to be the only reasonable solution to the cooling problem. The advantage is that each guest can choose the temperature that he/she wishes.
The Palmer House was built as a private home, therefore the rooms vary in size. The smaller rooms are less costly, the larger rooms are more spacious and have more amenities. Sincerely, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falmouth, ma
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We love inns but hate too much chit chat and space invading owners. The Palmer House Inn was perfect--quiet, respectful owners, great location, clean and so pretty. Breakfast was fabulous. When we did have inquiries about local restaurants, the owners could not have been more helpful.

We have recommended the Inn to friends and family alike. It is on the main street but away from the noise--we walked to everything. The rooms were lovely and not over cluttered or fussy. We would return to this Inn for sure.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear falmouthla, Thank you for the good review. One of the most difficult things about being an innkeeper is deciding just how much interaction each guest feels comfortable with. Some want to chat and ask questions and others just want quiet time alone. We try to read body language but it is good to get feedback, especially from great guests like you. Always, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#9 of 20 in Falmouth
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
377 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#2 of 9 in Falmouth
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
967 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falmouth Inn
Falmouth Inn
#14 of 20 in Falmouth
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House Inn

Property: Palmer House Inn
Address: 81 Palmer Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-2857
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Queen Anne style B & B and adjacent Guest House reflect the gentility, charm and romantic elegance of the Victorian Age. This romantic bed and breakfast is in Falmouth's Historic District, a quiet residential area of tree lined streets, picket fences, colorful gardens, and elegant homes. Beautiful beaches, quaint shops, ferry shuttles and excellent restaurants are only a short stroll from our Cape Cod Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Palmer House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Falmouth
Palmer House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing