We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain's Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Captain's Manor Inn last weekend. First thing I think important to note, is the warm welcome we received. Especially after a somewhat amusing arrival; after ringing the bell a few times, I called (how DID we manage without cell phones!), as Trish was coming to the door. She happened to be downstairs at the moment we arrived. The Inn is fairly recently (within last 2 years) renovated and I have to say, it is stunning. The Inn and the rooms are beautiful, including modern bathrooms, which I appreciate. I've stayed at B&B's with what look like 30 year old bathrooms, which is gross. The linens are wonderful; I loved the sheets so much, I ordered a set through them (I was pleasantly surprised by the price too. The Inn is owned by Trish & Kevin, with Kevin doing the cooking and all-around maintenance man. Breakfasts were amazing. Definitely not just a "Continental Breakfast". I would definitely recommend this Inn and if I make plans to be in the area next year, I will definitely plan on booking with them.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nye and while it is not a big room, the view of the front gardens was beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MED_Jan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Monica, Too funny...I can still see you calling on your cell phone as I came up the stairs. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the modern bathrooms. We still remember the original showers when we purchased the Inn. We immediately renovated them from fiberglass 24" with plastic sliding doors to doing construction to expand the size and then doing custom tile and corian with a rain shower and hand held shower plus glass doors. Enjoy your sheets and we hope to see you next year if the bbq reunion is held. Have a great rest of the summer! Trish and Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Inn is in an excellent location in a quiet location on the edge of Falmouth. Our hosts Trishaws and Kevin made us feel very welcome and were a great help advising us about what to see in the area. The house is a lovely old colonial house with beautiful grounds which are maintained to a high standard. Our room was on the ground floor..very spacious with huge en suite bathroom. Breakfasts were served on the terrace and were varied and delicious. We slept well and were so impressed by the comfortable sheets that we ended up buying some from Trish!!

Room Tip: Didn't see all the rooms but it is in such a quiet location all rooms should provide good sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LouLouBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear LouLouBerkshire, Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Inn. We selected the Inn when we were looking for a property for the very reason you shared that it "is in an excellent location in a quiet location on the edge of Falmouth". It is so much fun to just walk in to Falmouth Village and sample all the great restaurants. We are happy that you enjoyed the Hatch room on the ground floor and your breakfast on the terrace while enjoying the grounds that Kevin and our landscaping son Kevin Jr. lovingly maintain.
We hope you are enjoying your new sheets and perhaps you even still feel like you are on vacation when you sleep on them :-)
Best Regards, Trish and Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This place was very nice. The rooms are superb, as was the breakfast. It's on the quiet part of Main St, just close enough to walk to the shopping area, but far enough away to be in an oasis from the crowds. The grounds are impressively landscaped. The owners and staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, without being intrusive. I'd stay in more B&B's if they were all like this one.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have had the privilege of traveling many parts of the world but have to say that our 4 night vacation at the Captain's Manor Inn rates as one of our best experiences. This was our 1st visit to Cape Cod and it didn't disappoint. The highlight was meeting Kevin & Trish. They are the proud owners of the Inn. From the time you enter the property from Main St. the attention to detail was evident. The immaculate grounds and warm greeting made us feel like we had arrived "home". It has been renovated over the past few years but the historical feel has been maintained through thoughtful selection of materials, finishes and furnishings (we really liked the blue antique mirror).

The breakfast cooked up by Kevin each morning truly spoiled us (back to drive-thru coffee and bagels for us). He also maintains the grounds which provide a retreat for all to relax and read a book or just do nothing and listen to the leaves and birds. This alone is reason to stay here but...Trish is the master concierge, providing all the details for any requests. Our day trips included Falmouth, Woods Hole, Martha's Vineyard (Edgartown and Oak Bluffs), Provincetown and Chatham. Trish's advice was invaluable. She was also "Front of House" each day and it was a real pleasure getting to know her. We were respectful of the fact that she was busy with other guests and only wish we had more time to chat. My wife mentioned the term "Kindred Spirit" when speaking of her.

We stayed in the Bates room. We really enjoyed how bright it was, having windows on 3 sides. Furnishings were perfect and we even used the fireplace 1 evening. Once again the attention to detail was evident (best Do Not Disturb door sign I have ever seen). The room was well maintained each day and of course we need to mention Insook who made us feel so special.

The overwhelming feeling at the end of our trip was a sense of fun and relaxation.

Thank-you Kevin and Trish for providing us with a memorable experience...we will be back.

Doug & Lisa

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zakextreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Doug and Lisa, Thank you for choosing to spend your 1st visit to Cape Cod with us. We can not wait for you to return in the fall and to have the chance to enjoy the activities in October like the Jazzfest , the Scarecrows on Main etc. We had so much fun chatting and getting the chance to vicariously enjoy your daytrips when you would come home and share your experiences for the day. Lisa I still laugh when thinking about your one particular day trip story and "being invisible". The Bates room is definitely a favorite of guests with the windows on 3 sides and in the Fall you could really enjoy the fireplace. Give Ted E Bear a hug for us and looking forward to seeing you soon. Best regards, Trish and Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first time at B&B and the Captain's Manor Inn has spoiled us. I don't think we'll ever be as happy or impressed with any other one we try.

My husband and I needed a little vacation from reality. With two little ones under 2, we were in desperate need. I stumbled upon this place after looking at B&Bs and the what sold me were the reviews. What solidified it was our experience. This was by far one of the most memorable trips we have ever taken. Trish was amazing with all of her recommendations about what to do and see in Martha's Vineyard and around Falmouth. Kevin's cooking - well, let's just say I'm dreaming about those scones right now and wishing we were still there eating his breakfasts. The yogurt and granola I just had doesn't hold a candle to those breakfasts.

The room was amazing. We stayed in the Hatch and it was so nice. We had a fireplace - which surprisingly we used in June. The oversized tub and the two-person shower. It was amazing. We did add on the romance package and it was a perfect addition. Wine and cheese while sitting on the porch and relaxing was just heaven.

The grounds were beautiful. There's a porch swing towards the back of the property right before the gazebo. It was great sitting out there, reading our books and not having to rush to do anything.

Trish, Kevin, and Insuk were the friendliest people, it felt like they were instantly our friends and we were immediately comfortable with them. We really enjoyed our time there. This morning, the day after leaving, my husband and I just looked at each other (while the boys were being boys) and we just had this longing look to go back. And one day we will. We just need to convince my parents to come back to watch the boys again! ;)

-Michelle & Matt

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Michelle and Matt, What a pleasure to be your hosts for your first time experiencing a B&B. Two little ones that are only 13 months apart is certainly draining and we are so happy that you were able to relax while Michelle's parents "chased" after the boys. It was great that you choose the Hatch room with the romance package so you could enjoy your wine and cheese on your private veranda. The porch swing in the back garden looks forward to some day offering you the chance to read and relax again when your parents have the boys. All the very best to you and your family, Trish and Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Where do I begin to tell the story of how great an inn can be? The wonderful accommodation? The beautiful gardens? Kevin’s cooking? The genuine welcome, friendliness and helpfulness of Trish, Kevin, Insuk and all the others who make the Captains Manor the great offering that it is? Great sleeps in a really comfortable bed, woken by birdsong, then one of Kevins’ breakfasts, bliss, sheer bliss. And all this is just a short walk from the interesting shopping and restaurants in Falmouth. Trish gave us great advice regarding Martha’ s Vineyard resulting in a really enjoyable and memorable day trip there. Thank you Tripadvisor contributors for recommending The Captain’s Manor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

When my wife and I made a last minute reservation to spend 10 nights at the historic Captain's Manor Inn in Falmouth, MA, we were apprehensive about staying so long in one place. It looked great on their website, but we had never spent so long at a bed and breakfast inn and wondered whether it would work out okay. Our fears were groundless. As we began the last phase of our month-long vacation in New England and the Cape, we were warmly welcomed and felt instantly at home. We had a very pleasant, comfortable room with high, wide windows on two walls and our own spacious veranda area. There was a bistro where we could help ourselves to free beverages at any time (plus delicious daily cakes or cookies that miraculously appeared every afternoon). A communal lounge doubled as the breakfast room, although in warm weather we ate outside on the wrap-around veranda. With only eight rooms, guests could get to know each other and compare notes at the communal breakfast table, in the bistro, and in the beautiful grounds, where we could lounge and relax whenever we wished – fortified with cold drinks at regular intervals.

With all B&Bs, a key element is the staff, and especially the innkeepers. The Captain's Manor Inn is blessed with outstandingly fine and good-humoured innkeepers. Trish is brilliant at helping guests to relax, providing information and generally engaging with each individual on a one-to-one basis. Kevin grooms the gardens and cooks a mean breakfast, varying the menu daily, and even, specially for us, coming up with some new breakfast options so that we didn't get bored with the food during our comparatively long stay. Both innkeepers are very hands-on and seem to make plenty of time to chat with guests. The Inn is very well located, literally five minutes walk from the centre of town – which features a very pleasant, friendly main street larded with good restaurants and enticing shops – ten minutes from the beach, and five minutes from a twelve-mile cycle path that leads to several local attractions. Whether you stay for one night or a couple of weeks, at the Captain's Manor Inn you are guaranteed a genuinely warm welcome, great food and premium quality hospitality; all at competitive prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
660 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
456 reviews
21.5 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palmer House Inn
Palmer House Inn
#5 of 9 in Falmouth
352 reviews
15.6 mi away
Captain David Kelley House
Captain David Kelley House
#1 of 6 in Centerville
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Tom Lawrence House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Manor Inn

Address: 27 W Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2685
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: £160 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Cape Cod Bed & Breakfast offers a splendid retreat in the heart of Falmouth Village's historic district. This stately 1849 home has been lovingly restored to feature modern amenities in each of its 8 guestrooms with en suite bathrooms. On the National Historic Register of Historic Places, this unique estate features an elegant living area with original black marble fireplace and expansive plantation style windows that open onto the vast wrap around veranda. Take a short stroll to visit Falmouth Village's many boutique shops, restaurants, galleries, and museums. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s Manor Hotel Falmouth
Captain's Manor Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing