We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here.”
Review of Briarwood Resort

Briarwood Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Briarwood Resort
Reviewed 8 December 2012

What a terrible experience. Seriously dirty. It is a week from our lives that we can not get back. By the end of 7 days, we were all at each other's throats because we were so uncomfortable sleeping here. I threatened after four days to drive the hour back to our home to sleep! The owners of this establishment seriously need to invest money in refurbishing the rooms, hiring decent house keepers and up keeping the grounds. There was literally a giant tree stump directly in the front of our rental with the rope still attached to it as they weren't able to get it out of the ground. The pool water looked green and the wooden swing set was falling apart. Please, Cape Cod is a wonderful place to visit but dont stay here!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmybemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We exchanged with RCI for a weeks stay in late Septembe/October 2012. The location of Briarwood to to the various sites on the Cape were excellent. The town of Falmouth is quaint and has plenty of nice places to eat and shop. Easy access to the ferry (about 4 mles) to Matha's Vinyard
The resort, although not a gold crown resort was clean and met the needs for a place to stay while touring around. The rooms could use some pictures on the walls, it was a little stark. Jane at the front desk was helpful with ideas on what to see and do. If you come in with an attitude that you are there to be served, better find another location.However, if you are there to see the Cape then you will be happy with your stay. No Wi-Fi in the rooms, that's disapointing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Should have looked at more of the reviews on line. Arrived from a great time in New Hampshire to a dirty, poorly furnished, tacky $29.99/night motel. Shame on RCI for even having this in their inventory. Furnishings are old and only one large sofa in living room -- no chairs. No wall decorations, no chairs on "patio". Towels would serve perhaps as cleaning rags -- we went out and bought our own! Area is OK -- will go further out on the Cape if we ever come back. Best suggestion is look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ontheroad05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Travelled to Briarwod in August. WE had a great time. A complaint is that Management is quite stingy on the heat in the pool -- it would be great if it was about 5 degrees warmer becasue it is quite cool, in the cape at night. The property is nice. It is well maintained. MY son is 12 and made lots of friends. They played manhunt and had a ball. It is very convenient to beaches, shopping, etc. Jane at the front desk was quite helpful. Not a Gold Star Resort but nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NYCKim45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was by far the worst timeshare experience I have had in the past 15 years. We had to pay an assessment when we got here??? The owners should pay that - not the exchange guests. The place was dirty and we bought lysol and cleaned the kitchen ourselves....the dishes were disgusting. The backyard was pathetic.....a dirty old picnic table with a filthy umbrella. There were no chairs to even sit on. The grounds were not maintained. The water in the pool was brownish.....and a clubhouse??? Where was the exercise equipment??.I didn't see any. We had to exchange our towels AND linens...yes, we had to bring our sheets to the "clubhouse" and get clean ones and had to make our own beds....this place is beyond unacceptable and I will be sure to let interval international know how disgusting this place is....would never recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here in early September. The front office staff (Jane) was very helpful and a down to earth person. The unit was very basic and in need of an overhaul. The living room furniture while large was the most uncomfortable I've ever sat in given that the sectional was very squishy and when you sat in it you could feel the spines of the furniture, a sure sign that its past its usefulness.
Bedrooms were basic with pillows that had seen better days and the bed while ok is probably time for a mattress upgrade. While the place was clean, it was really only slightly better than a Holiday Inn. in fact it would be considered below an Embassy Suites if there was one in that location.

The location is the best part because Hyannis and Chatham and Orleans are all within a reasonable drive and its not too far from downtown Falmouth and the highway.

While there is no expectation that the room should be a home away from home to call it a "resort" is a gross misstatement. With full upgrades it could be better than this given its prime location. Can't recommend it in its current condition.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pandora_is_Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

What a shame, the units are very spacious, well located, set in a small Villiage like complex. That's the good points. Bad points badly managed, dirty, bare, old dirty furniture, no character, unloved. Worse RCI apartment ever. It needs a big injection of money and new management. The bathroom was disgusting ,even had dirty black footprints on the door. The bath/shower I had to scrub before I could use it. No hangers in closet, again walls were black with fingerprints. The back patio was like a prison yard, the umbrella was broken and the table and benches were only good for firewood. Laundry closes at 6 so unless you want to spend your holiday doing the washing during the day instead of on the beach then this was fine. Reception rude and unfriendly. Awfull don't go there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caroledoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
2.2 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
537 reviews
1.9 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
657 reviews
1.7 mi away
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
1.5 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Resort

Address: 30 Pine Valley Dr, Falmouth, MA 02540-2923
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Falmouth
Price Range: £114 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briarwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briarwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Falmouth
Briarwood Resort Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing