We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living History”

Falmouth Museums on the Green
Ranked #17 of 54 things to do in Falmouth
Attraction details
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Living History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

The grounds and the new Education Center here are worth the membership... This year there was a stellar lecture series with such topical lectures on Lincoln, WWII and mysteries about murders on Cape Cod that might even link the noted crime boss Whitey Bulger. Fantastic place. Have not done the walking tours yet.... this summer!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Slice of Old New England”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

The Museums on the Green are staffed by people who care about their local history. Here you can hear about the Lawrence family - brothers who were Yankee whalers and learn about their wives who also went to sea. He setting is very pretty, the collection is modest but the curators are infectious in their enthusiasm!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mark_simmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
674 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

The museums on the green are right across from the beautifully decorated Falmouth town green (hence the name!) and all are a wonderful visit to help you get into the Christma spirit! They are beautiful anytime of year,, but especially decorative for the Christmas season. If you have the time, there is also a beautiful nutcracker collection at the new education center (right behind the houses). There are over 300 nutcrackers of all sizes and genres. Wonderful display!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good tour - but long”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The ladies in our group wanted to go sight seeing while the guys went to the beach (it was a warm muggy day). I had hoped we would escape the heat in the museum (not so). Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting - but it was warm and not air-conditioned so we became tired half way through it. I kept looking for a place to let my elderly mother sit down (had to wait till we got to the garden). The gardens were beautiful and the house was very authentic looking. I think I enjoyed the whaling artifacts (in the gift center house) the best. Allow at least an hour and a half. The new addition should be more comfortable (hopefully).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnDeeOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed near the museums and it was a quick walk to see them. My husband enjoyed himself more than he thought he would! Plan to visit these one time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RN_Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Falmouth Museums on the Green also viewed

 

Been to Falmouth Museums on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing