We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd love to come back when the rhododendrums are blooming!”

Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We'd love to come back when the rhododendrums are blooming!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great wide trails, we really enjoyed the foliage. I can imagine when the rhododendrums are blooming, it must be just beautiful. Even in March, we saw some crocuses poking their heads out!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
345 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Great access to the water”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We visited a few of the Audubon nature reserves and this was one of the best (the other good one was Long Pasture, avoid Skunknett as there is almost no water access or views) because of the lovely vistas, the access to the pond and the opportunity to see frogs and turtles.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Frogs, frogs, frogs! One of the highlights of our summer in the Cape.”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Frogs, frogs, frogs! One of the highlights of our summer in the Cape is our annual frog spotting trip to Ashumet Holly preserve. We take the kids and walk around Grassy Pond and count the number of frogs we see. Every year we somehow manage to see more. Last year we thought we had seen more than we ever could with 63 spotted (yes over 60 frogs!). This year with the unusually warm winter, the growth was very thick, making spotting very difficult. Additionally, the US is in drought this summer so the pond had receded and the water was further from the shoreline. All this and we still managed to break our record, with 67 frog sightings this year! The best part was my cousin's son, who is 6 years old requested to hear the Olympics theme song since we broke our record, followed by his second request, our national anthem! Our first time here, we also saw three snakes, a garter snake, water snake and this many years later I don't remember the third (maybe a black snake?). The trail is overgrown with poison ivy, of which I am highly allergic. If you pay attention, you can avoid it. Th fee is an honor roll, donation box by the main field.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank MikeNYPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beauty and quiet woodland area”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is another place only the locals know about. So beautiful. Really well cared for and so quiet. A magical place. They do not allow dogs and there is a small fee to walk around (helps pay for upkeep). Hollies are very mystical trees and this place is chock full of them.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank psychicE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for a walk and Cape history”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Visited in off-season, the spring. It was gorgeous, with flowering trees, fresh green growth, and even berries on some of the holly. Saw a Green Heron, turtle, lots of Song Sparrows, and Red-Winged Blackbirds, and Swallows. The paths are clear, though the signposts are a little sparse - you won't lose your way! There's helpful info about the background and history of the property - I found it interesting and hope to return.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Desiree Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashumet Holly and Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Falmouth, Cape Cod
Falmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Ashumet Holly and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing