We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first taste of the Cape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariner Motel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Our first taste of the Cape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2007

Stayed at the Mariner from Monday 24th thru to Thurs 27th Sept. Excellent location for ferries to Martha's Vineyard & Nantucket. The welcome we received was exceptional, the service was second-to-none. Room was large & airy and, although basic, had everything we needed and was very clean with unobtrusive service. Karen is fantastic, nothing too much trouble to assure guests will want to return everytime. Julie left a shoe behind and Karen has kindly agreed to send it onto us in Boston when we reach there and have an address. The gentleman (sorry, unable to recall his name) also went above and beyond - we had forgotten a very important adaptor and he searched through his personal belongings to give us (yes, give!) an adaptor that we could use for the rest of our holiday in New England. Thank you both for making our stay pleasant and enjoyable. Highly recommended. Claire & Julie

  • Liked — Exceptional service & convenient location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kemper_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    78
    21
    12
    11
See reviews for
82
85
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

We were completely satisfied with the Mariner Motel. I often find that a lot of the negative reviews of places like this were written by people that expect the Ritz for $150. Its just not possible! However, the room was clean, comfortable, and sufficiently furnished. Again, not the Ritz, but nicer than other places I have stayed for more.

The staff are all super nice and went out of their way to accommodate us (I always need extra pillows and they brought them to the door.

The location is very convenient. Less than a mile to Dunkin' Donuts, easily within walking distance of downtown. We also easily walked to the ferry to Martha's Vineyard, which saved us $15 parking.

If you are going to the Cape and plan on hanging out all day in your room then you may want to find something nicer, but we actually leave the room - only use it for naps, changing, and sleeping.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — low ceilings and lack of outlets
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPGalaxyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2007

We just came back to the Mariner for at least the tenth time in the last 14 years. I've been to enough motels/hotels on the Cape over the years to know that this hotel is one of the better values on the Cape. The location is perfect if you want to avoid the hassles of Cape traffic - just park your car, and walk to a MV ferry, the beach, restaurants, shops, and more. Falmouth is one of the nicer towns on the Cape.

The owners - Bob & Karen are very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are very clean, have just what you need for a stay on the Cape, and the pool is the perfect size for the number of rooms (never crowded).

There are cheaper places on the Cape - but they prove the adage that "you get what you pay for". There are more luxurious places for up 2-3 times as much, if that's what you want. I would recommend this motel to people who want a clean, quiet, comfortable room to come back to at the end of a busy day on the Cape. This is a great hotel for families with kids of all ages. The reason I began to come here was the location - I like walking to the Island Queen ferry to Marth'a Vineyard (and not dealing with the hassle of the Steamship Authority ferries and their parking arrangements). I keep coming back, because it has become a home away from home on the Cape.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEBeachgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2007

My family booked 4 rooms at the Mariner with Karen for an overnight stay. Our plans were to visit Falmouth our first day and go to the Vineyard the next. Karen was so helpful when we checked in. She gave us a map of the area, told us about free coffee and tea in the office, informed us we could buy ferry tickets right there (for 50 cents less than the terminal). Plus when we went to Martha's Vineyard, we could walk (only 10-15 min walk) to the Island Queen Ferry and leave our cars there for free. (It costs $15 a day at the terminal). The motel is very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. We all had refrigerators in our rooms which was very convenient and the pool and pool area were very clean. We sat out there in the evening to have a few drinks. It was very quiet and a perfect location to walk to downtown Falmouth also (10-15 min walk). We even walked to a beach that was maybe 1-1.5 miles. All in all, it was a perfect location. I have stayed in many hotels and some very luxurious and this is not luxurious, but it was clean, comfortable, and perfect for a stay on the Cape or a visit to the Vineyard!! I strongly recommend this motel and would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — No breakfast on site
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turbolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2007

My husband and I just returned from a 3 day stay in that motel, and it was an excellent one. The room was clean, we could not hear any sound from other rooms which was much appreciated, and the bed was very comfortable. My husband specially appreciated the availability of Wi-fi. The owners were very generous with their time and even gave us a lift to the Ferry because we were running out of time to walk there. Everything is of walking distance. The restaurants, shops, Ferry etc. We travelled with our dog and felt very welcome. They obviously like them and there is a special place where you can walk them. If we return to Falmouth we will not even look for a place. We will return there and even recommend it to friends. Jocelyne and Alain, Montreal.

  • Liked — Pet friendly, friendlyness of owners, close to everything, good restaurants.
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemerePeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

We didn't book here in advance - we knew we wanted to stay in Falmouth somewhere for a night and picked here as it was handy to walk to the town or the Marina. I wasn't sure whether to rate this 3 or 4 as I don't have anything particularly bad to say about it. It's just typical Motel style accomodation - Very good price-wise but average in all other respects. A little shabby perhaps but still very clean. I'd reccomend it for a night or two but maybe not a full vacation.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank andy1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2007

My husband, two young children and I had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful Motel. The Motel was very clean and we were offered a great room that was very comfortable and a great spot for our family. We enjoyed our days sitting by the pool which was immaculate and well maintained. The location of the Motel was second to none, we were able to walk to everything, dining, beaches, shops, everything!! That was very convenient for us and exactly what we were looking for. The staff at the Motel were wonderful, upon checking in they made us feel right at home. We were given a map of the area and were offered coffee or tea in their lovely lobby. I would highly recommend this Motel to anyone. My family and I have already booked our vacation at the Mariner Motel for 2007.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness of rooms
  • Disliked — not a long enough vacation
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy and have fun
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.4 mi away
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motel

Property: Mariner Motel
Address: 555 Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-3160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you Falmouth's best value and its first 100% smoke-free motel. Located within a short stroll to Falmouth harbor and the Martha's Vineyard ferry, shops, outstanding restaurants, and entertainment. All our smoke-free, tastefully decorated, immaculate guest rooms include refrigerators, direct-dial telephones, free wi-fi internet access, cable TV, heat and air conditioning. Two children 18 and under stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mariner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Motel Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod
Mariner Hotel Falmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing