We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat or just relax”
Review of Oysters Too

Oysters Too
Ranked #34 of 164 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since 1992 Oysters Too has been serving fresh seafood along with a nice selection of steaks, chicken, salads and pasta dishes. We make our own stocks and soups and you can taste the difference. Most of our entrees include a salad, fresh vegetable and choice of potato. Our atmosphere is comfortable and relaxing, casual dress is fine. In cooler months we have fireplaces in two dining rooms. On weekends enjoy the piano music of our talented players while dining or simply with your favorite beverage in the lounge.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat or just relax”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My family and I have been coming for years. I can not say enough of the service and great meals we have had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sully S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    54
    17
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oysters Two”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Went for dinner during Cape Cod's Food week and had an excellent dinner and dessert! Haven't been there in awhile and was pleasantly surprised.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 176christiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An anniversary to remember”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We needed a restaurant to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary that would accommodate our family of twenty three (children included), you stepped right up to the plate along with your staff in making it a memorable evening. We returned later that season with friends and enjoyed another delicious meal served to perfection. If you need to hold a function any size where you will get great help to organize it served along with wonderful food than don't hesitate to call on Oysters Too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old School New England”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

It took me 2 days to ponder this review. Firstly, you need to set your expectations as to what the Oyster Too is about. They try to be upscale casual and need to be to justify the prices. This is an old school New England restaurant before fine dining became a "thing." 30 years ago this was exactly the style of restaurant you would go to, to celebrate special occasions. Realize too that the clientele is primarily the local retired set that like a value and that plays into how the meals are prepared. The list of positives are numerous. Service was great, piano player is a nice touch, the bread rolls were warm, the salads were of the field greens variety, simple, but crisp. I opted for the soup special, a shrimp and corn chowder and was happy with it. Someone in my party ordered a steak with mashed and it was well cooked and nice quality. My wife enjoyed her salad topped with grilled chicken very much. In fact, where the menu shined was in the cooking of the meats and the seafood, shrimp, scallops and lobster were spot on. Whomever was on meat and fish that night was talented. I think the key to this place is to order whole items, that stand up well on their own like a steak and a potato, when they try to mix ingredients, like in the Seafood Scampi I ordered, that is where the menu falls apart. When we went out for dinner the following night on Main St. Falmouth, I had to order Seafood Scampi at another restaurant just because this one fell so short. Julienned fall vegetables like squash and zucchini, as well as root vegetables like carrots just don't belong in a scampi in any way. The good news? With the garlic overload, vampires will avoid you for a good 2 weeks. There are ways to build flavor in a dish without just throwing garlic and odd tasteless vegetable pairings at it. In all fairness though, the lobster was generous as were the scallops and large shrimp and so perfectly cooked as mentioned. The price is a little steep but not too far out of whack for the Cape. Stick to the meat and don't be adventurous, and I think you can walk away satisfied with the Oyster Too.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another Home Run at Oysters Too!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We are on our annual Cape Cod vacation and made our trip to Oysters Too. Once again, it was a fabulous evening. There was a good crowd there, yet we were seated immediately, our server Norma, who has been there for years, is a professional at what she does and did a great job. We both had seafood dishes that were cooked perfectly and were very fresh. The portion size is plentiful, but not overwhelming. Once again, I will give them a 100% for the night and can't wait to return next year!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oysters Too also viewed

 

Been to Oysters Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing