We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for breakfast”
Review of Moonakis Cafe

Moonakis Cafe
Ranked #8 of 164 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Moonakis is a locally-owned breakfast and lunch restaurant with a loyal following. Our servers love getting to know you and look forward to you joining "the Moonakis family". People rave about our homemade hash, light and airy pancakes, waffles and omelettes. You'll see that we offer some kinds not found elsewhere. Breakfast is served all day. Try our lunches! We serve an interesting menu with some local choices we hope you will enjoy... and tell your friends! One thing to know... we operate on a cash-only basis, no credit cards. Please stop by soon and give us a try! See menus and directions on our website.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent place for breakfast”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As visitors from England staying near Falmouth for a few days we were looking for somewhere local for breakfast. Our hotel owner recommended Moonakis and we were very pleased. Great value food, great service. Coffee arrived as soon as we sat down as was topped up throughout the meal, the food was good and very fresh, and the atmosphere was lovely. We ended up having breakfast there every day to set us up for each day's sightseeing etc! The only problem was that the place is so popular that we had to queue for a few minutes - however even this was well managed with a smile.
It's a shame that there aren't more good-value breakfast cafes like this in England, if there were we would eat out lots more!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tidynige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    74
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delightful Family Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We staggered into this restaurant for late brunch on a rainy Cape Cod Wednesday. The warm and lovely staff seamlessly seated our rather rambunctious party of 19 without breaking a sweat. The food was delicious breakfast fare--the different kinds of pancakes went over well with our whole crew. We were served quickly and efficiently and it was one of the most pleasant restaurant experiences I have had with such a large group. Really expansive and interesting menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uliqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast (and service) in Falmouth”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our timing was perfect on the morning of July 7th as we did not experience any wait and we were immediately seated. Within a few seconds, a young man provided us with a great cup of coffee and our waitress arrived to tell us about the specials. We peered around to see the wonderful variety of food that was delivered to the surrounding tables. We settled on the blueberry pancakes which were perfect along with wonderful eggs, made-from-scratch corned beef hash, and pretty good home fries which came to the table piping hot!! As we were enjoying our breakfast, we couldn't help but notice how well-organized the employees were and how well they all worked together; hence, the service was the best from the young men/women who delivered coffee, cleared and set tables promptly to the waitresses who were fantastic and the chef who created a great start to the day. Everybody seemed to be focused on the customer's needs and it sure translated into a very good experience. This place would be a great case study for anyone struggling with their business or thinking about getting into this business. Great job!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventure57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This restaurant is so popular for breakfast that it was about a 45 minute wait at about 8:45 a.m. On a Saturday morning. But it was definitely worth it! We had heard about the incredible blueberry pancakes but I also wanted a Portuguese egg sandwich . So we ordered both and split the orders. They were hands down the BEST blueberry pancakes ever! Thin and crispy on the edges- kind of hard to write this without drooling.. The sandwich was my first Portuguese breakfast sandwich and made a perfect pairing with the pancakes. My husband thought the roll a tad bit too sweet, but I thought it was perfect. So much food that perhaps we didn't need the side of home fries, but I would be vetoed if I suggested that on the next visit. Crowded and noisy, but our service was fine and I'm keeping my fingers crossed I'll get there this week!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrielou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast place”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It is is THE place to go for breakfast in Falmouth. The service is excellent and the food superb. Delicious pancakes and outstanding corned beef hash. Don't miss it! A great way to start your day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jscottjoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moonakis Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Moonakis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing