We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane Sandy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hurricane Sandy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately, we checked in a few days before hurricane Sandy hit the east coast. However, the staff at this resort was excellent. They were honest in letting us know that during a severe storm they would probably lose electricity and if the storm serge was high they might be evacuated. However, if we stayed they would make us as comfortable as possible. We decided to leave the resort for a couple of days to ride out the storm closer to Boston and farther from the water. Fortunately, they were only without power for a couple of short periods of time and no water or wind damage. We did return to the resort to finish up our week. Since this was a timeshare exchange, the week was already paid.

This is an older resort but the rooms were very clean. It could use a little updating but overall while we were there, a very nice stay. Several restaurants are within walking distance and the beach is just across the road. Would definitely recommend this resort.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bedep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    19
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ledyard, CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

As a Marriott timeshare owner, I admit I'm a little spoiled. I'm used to large rooms, full kitchens, exercise facilities, etc. So when I first walked into my room at Captain's Quarters I was a little disappointed. After a day or so I realized that it was perfectly adequate. The view was beautiful (from third floor) and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Since we rode our bikes daily I really didn't need a gym and we ate out so I didn't need a full kitchen. The staff (really one girl who seemed to be there every day) were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely return and September is a wonderful time to visit the Cape.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank neelia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have stayed several times at Captain's Quarters, always in the summer, and have had some great times with our family of 4. We've stayed in a 1 bedroom unit near the front of the unit (lower numbers are closer to front). The room had views of the ocean, and the pool, and the grassy park for playing on. Inside, the rooms are not high luxury, but certainly much better than the average cape motel (we've stayed at plenty of them).The 1 bedroom has a small "efficiency" setup with the kitchenette and living room being one open area. The living room couch opens up to a bed (where 2 can sleep), and has it's own full bath, and TV. The bedroom is fairly nice with a queen bed, fireplace, large jacuzzi, full bathroom, and private balcony with great views. But really, the attraction for us is everything OUTSIDE. As other reviewers have mentioned, the Falmouth Heights beach is right in front of you (and this beach is popular judging by the full parking lot). There are 2 nice restaurants that you can walk to in 5 minutes (British Beer Company which is a nice pub with live music, and Casino Wharf which is a more upscale place to go eat while overlooking the ocean). And then there are many short drives to downtown Falmouth (a great main street for walking around, sightseeing/touring, getting an ice cream, dining, etc). You can catch a Cape Cod baseball leage game, go on a fishing boat, take a sunset cruise, hop on a ferry to Martha's Vineyard ($10 for a 30 minute cruise to the island!). I could go on but you get the idea. Our family loved doing all the stuff around the area, and the inn was really just a nice place to call home for the week. If you want a luxury 4-star experience, then you'll want to look elsewhere (and probably not right on the ocean in cape cod!). But if you want to experience what the cape is all about, this is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Nice to be so close to the beach. Our 1 bedroom had a kitchenette and a balcony that had a water view. There were so many restaurants we could walk to and the beach was right across the street.

My only complaints were that there was no exercise room and there was a charge to use wi-fi in your room, but you could either bring your laptop to the lobby or use one of the guest computers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thumper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Hi Thumper1!

Thank you for your review of the Captain's Quarters! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently working on a Wi-Fi service that would be complimentary in our units, in the meantime we offer free Wi-Fi in our lobby. We also provide two guest computers free of charge. We have talked about adding some exercise equipment during our yearly upgrade meetings, thank you for your suggestion! We hope to see you again soon~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Great location....perfect if you have young kids....great surroundings and nice room. all around a great stay!

Room Tip: try to get upper floor room close to street...best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael_Lariv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Hi Travelgus!

Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed the Resort and the surrounding beauty of Cape Cod. Captain's Quarters is centrally located just minutes from downtown shopping and restaurants. Our units offer sweeping views of Vineyard Sound, and Marthas Vineyard is so close it looks as if you could almost reach out and touch it!

We are proud of the condition and cleanliness of our units and are pleased you found them to be to you liking. We hope to see you again soon and once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

This resort is located in a beautiful Cape neighborhood which gives it a more homey feel. Our unit was in the back building and we had views of Vineyard Sound from every room. We loved just walking across the street to the beach. Have never seen such gorgeous sunsets. Conveniently located to just about everything. Downtown is two minutes with great shops and restaurants. Woods Hole is 10 minutes (go see Nobska Lighthouse.)
We had a one bedroom unit. Hardwood floors, berber carpet in bedroom, 2 bathrooms. Kitchen had no oven but everything else and we did cook many meals. Clean and nicely decorated. Furniture although okay could have been more comfortable. Bed not that great.
No laundry facilities anywhere on the property. Overall great place, great views and great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NHIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

My family and I just returned from our 1st trip at Captain's Quarters. We had an absolutely wonderful vacation! The location is perfect. Falmouth Heights Beach is right across the street, with beautiful views of the ocean and the pool from our unit on the 2nd floor. The British Beer Company, and Casino Wharf are just a few hundred feet away as well. The resort and units themselves are immaculate and very upscale. My wife and I searched for a long time to find the perfect timeshare at the cape and found that they are extremely hard to come by, and also don't offer all the amenities, local conveniences, as well as the upscale modern appeal that Captain's Quarters offers. We wanted something early July so the kids could enjoy the fireworks and festivities that the Cape has always been known for at that time of the year. Owning property is WAY too expensive, so Timeshare was the only option for us. It's the best decision we ever made. The staff is awesome! Great with my kids and very professional with whatever needed. The GM, Michael MacDonald, has done a fantastic job with managing all of the Innseason's resorts at the Cape, and I could tell after meeting him, why the resorts have done as well as they have and are the most sought after. Both he and his staff deserve all the credit for that, and my only regret is that I couldn't stay with my family the whole week because of some business commitments. We look forward to many many years of enjoyment and lifelong memories for years to come at the Captain's Quarters!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CQ705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you so much for your review! The staff and management work very hard to ensure our guests have everything they need to melt the stress away and enjoy their time with us to the fullest. I have shared your kind words with the staff and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.7 mi away
InnSeason Resorts Surfside
0.1 mi away
The Seaside Inn
The Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#5 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort

Property: Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort
Address: 241 Grand Avenue, Falmouth, MA
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Quarters At Surfside Hotel Falmouth
Captain's Quarters At Surfside Resort Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing