We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Lovely grounds lovely rooms lovely staff. Great location, only stopped one night on a road trip, glad I picked this place. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place. Breakfast is great, only minor issue is, I know when to tip and how much, you don't need to remind me as I sit down for a meal, gets a little annoying after a while.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Zeke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here as part of US tour. Arrived very late due to airport delay but to a warm welcome with snacks and drinks waiting. Lovely, spotlessly clean, comfortable room with all amenities- fridge, microwave. Breakfast downstairs with choice of cold or hot dishes,good quick service. Well appointed indoor swimming pool. (large outdoor pool also in summer).Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Within walking distance of main street. Nearby Irish pub recommended for evening meals.

Room Tip: We were in building with pool so this review is based on those rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oaptraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

I don't like to damn an hotel, but I have to now. Looked in here on the off chance and.booked in for two nights, thinking we might stop three, but checked out after one. We had some initial reservations but had struggled to get access past roadworks nearby and were also maybe attracted by the pleasant grounds so paid up at the desk. Reception staff were very friendly. We were booked into the Worthington block, ground floor room 104. Neither of us slept well: I sneezed a lot and my wife was wheezy and retched from time to time, perhaps a health issue caused by the mattress odour, see below. Our dissatisfactions were:

The room is very dated with the bathroom carved from the main space;
The kitchen set up was like a set from the 1960s and to get work top appliances to operate required the light to be switched on in that room;
The furnishings are old with an impossible to sit on bed settee;
The room is musty and there is no ventilation for the bathroom;
The bed mattress smelled dirty, but the bedding seemed clean;
The bathroom is cramped, but the over-bath shower effective; and
There was a set of low level perimeter trunking for some power in the kitchen and bedroom and that looked suspicious.

The owners should seriously consider a radical makeover, or more, of this block.

On the positive side, the location is good as was the breakfast and in the morning breakfast server Paula deserves a special mention. We secured a refund for the unused night and were just pleased to get away.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 283Coastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Shoreway Acres is set in lovely Falmouth in Cape Cod. The hotel is made up of several period properties in lovely gardens and is only a few minutes from Main Street Falmouth which is full of stylish shops and restaurants and also near the beach. The rooms are spacious if a little dated but the complimentary breakfasts are a bonus and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The bike trail to Woods Hole and ferry terminal to Martha's Vineyard make it a good location for seeing the area and Hyannis is also nearby.

Room Tip: Having a room in the pool house block means that you don't get wet going to breakfast if the wea...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PollyEastbourneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I so wanted this place to work out since the rates were very reasonable and the location is perfect and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I looked at a king room in the pool house building on the 2nd floor. Maybe the other buildings have nicer rooms. This one looked like something from the 50's and not in a good way. It had the oddest bathroom setup with the sink in the entrance hallway of the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Our recent stay was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful, which was a huge relief to us. We had just left another hotel in the area because it was horrific, and the lady at the front desk was incredibly accommodating. Our room was made ready for us quickly so we could continue our vacation. Thanks so much!!! Affordable and clean and breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We came to the Cape for a 4 night stay with a group of friends. Most everyone left early because of the below standard accommodations. It was a busy weekend because of the road race.The room smelled like musty carpets. The airconditioner was spitting out stuff while we slept. I talked to the front desk and was told the carpets were new. ( hard to believe). After the second night, they checked the airconditioner and replaced it....made a big difference! The woman at the front desk was very unfriendly. The rooms were only cleaned 1 day of the 4..... Not sure why? On the last day after a long day at the beach, I had to hunt down clean towels? I would avoid this hotel....it was expensive and the service was horrible and the rooms were pretty gross. There are plenty of better choices in the area.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are good rooms?
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDaly4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalityisNoble, Owner at ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

We were sincerely surprised, perplexed and very sorry to learn that this guest’s stay at our Inn did not meet her expectations, particularly since she seemed to be pleased during her visit. We feel especially sorry about this as she and her group were referred to us by their Falmouth friends. We have always been so pleased that these fine folks, who are very familiar with all accommodation options in our area, have regularly recommended our Inn. We feel certain they would not do so if our accommodations, service and value did not meet their own high standards. One guest in their group did have a personal matter that resulted in their leaving one day earlier than planned, however they already have arrangements to return next year.

Following the first night of her stay, our guest reported that her air conditioner was not working properly. We checked it and honestly could find nothing wrong, however, we replaced it immediately, no questions asked.

The very kind and conscientious young woman who was assigned to clean our guest’s room made every effort to be hospitable while being respectful of our guest’s request for privacy.
Each day, she made sure to notify her supervisor of our guest’s requests, in detail. On the first and second days, our guest personally asked her not to service her room and she requested only fresh towels and two pillowcases. On the third day, our housekeeper was permitted to service the room for the first time since check-in and took care to do so as thoroughly as possible since she had not been in the room for several days.

One day prior to departure, our guest had a very congenial conversation with two of our receptionists and we had every reason to believe that she was enjoying her stay. However, that evening she inexplicably reported to our night front desk agent that she had not received housekeeping service for two days. Our desk agent, unaware of our guest’s requests for privacy, apologized profusely for the “oversight” and offered to be of service in any way possible. However, she requested only towels.

We were truly taken back when we learned of our guest’s comments that evening and in this review. We will reach out to her and to the local residents who recommended us to determine any error there may have been on our part, and how we might have been able to be of better service. As coincidence would have it, the previous very favorable review from July 5th is for the exact same room number, located in one of our historic buildings, and we sincerely regret that our recent guest did not enjoy the same experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
655 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falmouth Inn
Falmouth Inn
#12 of 20 in Falmouth
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging

Address: 59 Shore St, Falmouth, MA 02540-3145
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range: £72 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Cape Cod's ShoreWay Acres Inn, and experience historic New England in a charming residential atmosphere. The Inn's ideal location in the heart of Falmouth's Historic District is within easy walking distance of the Village Green, Main Street shops, 20+ restaurants(ranging from sidewalk cafes and pubs to ethnic and fine dining)Surf Drive Beach, churches, Shining Sea Bikeway, Falmouth Museums on the Green, Carousel of Light and Cape Cod Trolley Stop. Martha's Vineyard ferries - one mile and three miles. Just a short drive to the fishing village of Woods Hole, Highfield Theater and Highfield Hall and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreway Acres Hotel Falmouth
Shoreway Acres Falmouth
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging Falmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing