We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, dated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location, dated hotel”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in one of the older blocks. The room was damp, smelled musty and had paper thin walls so we could hear what TV show the people in the next room were watching. Definitely recommend trying to get a room in the new block (where the indoor pool is).

The hotel is centrally located and only a 1 minute walk to the main street of Falmouth. The beach is about a 5 minute walk down one road, but it's quite rocky.

The room came with a complimentary breakfast which was pretty basic. The outdoor pool was great and the indoor one was pretty good too. Unfortunately, the front office staff (guess they were seasonal) were pretty hopeless in our interactions with them. We, along with about 10 other guests, were seriously delayed in checking in and the front office lady kept telling us it would be five more minutes and for us to be patient. After a couple of hours, all the guests were quite frustrated, more with her attitude rather than the delay.

All in, this felt like it would have been a great place to stay in the 1970's. It could do with a renovation and also some modern training for the front office staff. The place is redeemed by its location and the two pools.

Room Tip: New building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    72
    43
    16
    12
See reviews for
63
72
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Given room in the more modern block, good size nice clean room with good facilities unfortunately the friends travelling with us were put in the old block. Their room smelt damp and was very old fashioned, they were moved the next day. The location of the hotel was excellent, the staff were brilliant

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was very comfortable and the staff very helpful & friendly. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the main street and a short drive to the beach. The complimentary breakfast was good but a tip is expected. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

It looks like I was with the same tour as the previous reviewer and would like to confirm everything she has said about this lovely hotel. As a single traveller I felt very comfortable in the surrounds and the hotel is situated in a nice, residential quiet position with the beaches and shops a short walk away. I really enjoyed my stay at the Shoreacres Inn and would definitely revisit if I ever return to Cape Cod.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Last week my husband & I spent 4 nights at the Shoreway Acres Inn. Our room was situated in the pool house on the ground floor, the room was clean & welcoming, I would call the decor shabby-chic, it had 2 queen sized beds,a flat screen tv & a small kitchenette which had a fridge-freezer, microwave & a coffee/tea maker. Bed linen & towels were of good quality & changed daily. The water in the bathroom was always hot.
On our arrival our coach-trip was met with cheese, nibbles & cocktails.
The Shoreway is a family run Inn & it showed, the owners & staff were very friendly & attentive.
Breakfasts were wonderful, home-cooked with eggs, bacon, sausage, muffins, fruit, cereals & so much more.
The Inn is set behind Falmouth Main street, just a 5 minute walk to the shops & restaurants.
The only down-size we experienced was the lack of grocery shops nearby, we walked quite a way to find fresh milk & other bits & pieces.
On the morning of our leaving the staff came out to wave off our coach, we were given 2 boxes of freshly cooked cookies to share on our journey to Boston.
If we are lucky enough to return to Falmouth again, we would certainly stay at the Shoreways Acres Inn.

Room Tip: An Inn is totally different to a hotel, they are more like a boarding house, so if you are wanting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheresaW608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just returned to England after a week at the Shoreway Acres Inn. Had such a fantastic week, so family friendly and quaint. We loved the old colonial style of the Inn, had so Much character , felt like home. Dining room staff were so lovely and the guy Jim on reception gave us such a lovely welcome after travelling from Boston, after getting lost, in the middle of the night. My ten year old was never bored for a minute with the hotel being in such a good location next to beach and town. Thanks to everyone for making our experience so enjoyable and we will certainly be revisiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieSouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We travelled with 2 kids, ages 8 and 5, and called and got adjoining rooms at last minute, mid august of 2013 for 2 nights, before we came home to Ontario.. We had been on a 10 day road trip, just staying where we could as we went. I loved this place! Really, Really loved it! It was busy, lots of people, and yes, some were older, and quiet. It isn't a place to party, but it is a nice place to have a party. By that I mean groups can come, have dinner on the spacious and well maintained lawns, have a drink by the pool if you bring your own wine etc. It truly was relaxing and homey. The rooms we had were comfortable, one had a fridge, microwave, and good cable TV. The rooms had separate entrances but were attached in the back by a shared bath...which was great for the kids. There was flowered comforters, border on the walls, and lots of white wicker lawn furniture and patio tables for seating outside. It is not high end and modern, but it really is well maintained, and comfy and relaxing. I wished we cold have stayed longer. It truly was the best part of the trip. The breakfast buffet was not fabulous, eggs, a meat, and fruit, breads etc...but it certainly was more than adequate and filled us up in the mornings. The server remembered our preferred juices, and milk, not cream for the coffee. All of the service was excellent, from the front desk, to the wait staff, and the people cleaning the pools. Very friendly and welcoming. I felt like I was in a comfortable neighborhood, where everyone is welcome. There are swings on the lawns, and plenty of room to relax and wind down. The flowers were beautiful, and everything was groomed, neat, and just felt like we had gone to a relatives to stay a bit.

The walk to the beach is about 10 minutes, and the beach has lots of shells, and some rocks. It was warm, sunny and beautiful, but I would recommend water shoes if you plan on walking it a lot. The sand is nice, but does have shells and rough bits in it. Our kids played, made sand castles and collected shells, so it was still a great beach. Not huge, but did stretch out quite a ways. it does not have a huge area from the grassy part to the water, though. That part can be narrow in places. There is an alley from behind the resort that you can walk to the town area in just a minute or two. Very handy for restaurants and shopping. The rest of the town is large (for Cape Cod), there is a mall, lots of other things to see and do, and the drive up the coast is lovely, with many other public beaches and beautiful views. There is a parking fee for the beaches, but it is reasonable, and worth it! This place is a quick ferry to Martha's Vineyard, Boston is an hour and a half away for day trips, whale watching... and there is plenty to do in a short drive from the hotel.

I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for pristine, glossy, new and modern. But if you want a great place to wind down, be close to beach and good shops, and great restaurants...and like charm, and a feeling that you have just stepped back in time a bit...go for it. One of the staff even gave me a cutting of some of his plants...how nice is that? we have already decided next year we are going to book this hotel / resort and ask for the kitchenette rooms, and make this or base for our holiday. I loved the charm, the uniqueness of it, and the hominess. It was beautiful, and I am looking forward to next August and our stay at Shoreway Acres Inn already.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the main yard. You get a beautiful view of the yard, yet are still far enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#9 of 20 in Falmouth
648 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
967 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Falmouth Inn
Falmouth Inn
#14 of 20 in Falmouth
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging

Property: ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
Address: 59 Shore St, Falmouth, MA 02540-3145
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Cape Cod's ShoreWay Acres Inn, and experience historic New England in a charming residential atmosphere. The Inn's ideal location in the heart of Falmouth's Historic District is within easy walking distance of the Village Green, Main Street shops, 20+ restaurants(ranging from sidewalk cafes and pubs to ethnic and fine dining)Surf Drive Beach, churches, Shining Sea Bikeway, Falmouth Museums on the Green, Carousel of Light and Cape Cod Trolley Stop. Martha's Vineyard ferries - one mile and three miles. Just a short drive to the fishing village of Woods Hole, Highfield Theater and Highfield Hall and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreway Acres Hotel Falmouth
Shoreway Acres Falmouth
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging Falmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing