We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What to say?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What to say?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay here for 2 nights due to its location.

On a positive note - Easy walk to many restaurants/cafe in the town, also to the beach. Easy to get to parking for the ferry. Nice quiet residential area, good hotel parking, very pretty grounds. Nice Indoor pool. Room was clean.

Staff throughout the hotel were very helpful, but the rooms and breakfast set up really let them down.

We were in the new building, which the comments on trip advisor suggest are the better rooms. The condition of curtains, decor/furnishings, and 2 different style carpets in our room makes me wonder.

Breakfast was included in the package, but was quite basic and whilst efforts had been made to brighten up the dining room, it was in the basement and felt quite closed in. For the price we paid, i would not expect a 'complementary breakfast', but i would expect more from the room.

There are notices in the lobby to suggest that things are being spruced up - I hope they are, as this venue has a lot of potential.


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank marpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    71
    43
    16
    11
See reviews for
63
71
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Connecticut
Level Contributor
275 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We made a last minute decision to go to Falmouth for a one night get away and decided to return to Shore Way Acres because of its' convenient location. It is nice to be able to just walk to some good restaurants located in Falmouth center. We have always stayed in the building that has the indoor pool so can't really discuss the condition of the other buildings but considering their ages I imagine there may be some problems as stated in other reviews. We have always been satisfied with our room features and cleanliness in the pool building. Is this place 4* place, of course not but either are their prices. I would like to see something done about the smell of the hallways in the pool building. While it isn't terrible it just isn't that welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the building that has the indoor pool are the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryRCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I really cannot understand how this place gets favourable reviews. To start with, it smells more like an institution than a hotel. You certainly don't get luxury, as a previous reviewer said, but we could have coped with that if the place had been clean. We looked at three rooms altogether and ended up in a "suite" in the original "captain's house". It could have been beautiful-the architectural features were very attractive. BUT there were spiders' webs along all the skirting boards, no proper wardrobes, (a net curtain across a small alcove, stained with damp.) The chair and window seats were stained with damp (if not worse) and there was a hole in the bathroom ceiling. There was mould on the walls. (We have attached photos) The atmosphere was damp. Perhaps we were unlucky in our room, but the other rooms we saw were nothing to write home about. Also, we were on the ground floor and the back door was insecure- anyone could have pushed it in from outside. We spent a miserable and sleepless night. The breakfast was very poor, (served in a basement with no natural light). There was plenty of food but very little choice and very cheap quality. The scrambled eggs were so rubbery they were really inedible. We had booked and prepaid for 5 nights but left feeling very upset after only one, desperate to find somewhere warm and clean. I know it is said that you cannot expect the same standards on Cape Cod as elsewhere in the USA, but this was no excuse for our experience. Yes, the inn's situation is good- you are near to the main street and restaurants- and it looks lovely when you arrive, from the outside, but it was a nightmare. It blighted the start of our stay on Cape Cod- we had been looking forward to this trip for years. Thank goodness we moved to the Inn on the Square, which was great- some people we met in a restaurant recommended it to us. It was not quite as central, but we were glad to walk a little further (5 minutes at the most) to get to restaurants and facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LancashireTaurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Shoreway Acres Inn is exactly that, an Inn, a traditional Inn with charming furniture but you can forget chrome, heated towel rails, and luxury toiletries! This is no bad thing at all, the rooms are spacious, they have everything you need, and are clean and comfortable (the beds are excellent). The facilities are great, I stayed when in was close to freezing outside but in Summer it must be great to relax in the grounds and the moderate outside pool. The indoor pool was fine, and there is also a mens and ladies sauna (on a timer, start it and come back in 45m!) which is a bit tired but serves a purpose. The Inn is in central Falmouth, and you have a wide variety of shops, restaurants etc within a short walk, just what I needed! The breakfast is similarly traditional and charming, a better variety than I perhaps expected and certainly provided the fuel for a day of exploring. I really liked Shoreway Acres Inn, and would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Being in the block with the indoor pool saves an outside dash when the weather is cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We all stayed for three nights for a family gathering in the pool building.
Perfect spot to walk to many restaurants, shops, beaches etc. Clean, quiet rooms,
great amenities with an area for us to all gather near pool. Great breakfast
with a fun and friendly staff. We plan to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for the last night of our 3 week fly/drive. The hotel is set in very picturesque surroundings, with a 10 minute walk to the beach in one direction, and 5 minutes to the main street with restaurants and shops.

Parking on-site and free. Heated swimming pool was situated in our block with the breakfast room downstairs. The main restaurant is closed for dinner, presumably because it was end of season. Plenty of choice for breakfast and service was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WAMMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Shoreway acres as my daughter was running the Cape Cod marathon, I had reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights and my aunt had reserved 1 room for 1 night. The staff could not have been nicer, or more accommodating. I had told the woman at check in that my elderly mom was driving to the cape alone and was lost, we could not find her where we arranged to meet. She saved a key to give my mom when she arrived, we were sick with worry. They also called my cell phone when she arrived! It was so good of them. When my aunt checked in they upgraded her room so she could be near our rooms. The rooms are large and lovely and very clean. housekeeping staff are so friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was fantastic, it is so much nicer to have it right there rather than have to go out. The wait staff was so friendly. They also allowed us to check out late due to the marathon. The location is fabulous, walk to downtown. I can not say enough nice things about Shoreway acres, I am afraid my review does not do it justice.. We can not wait to return!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mldankese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
12.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Seaside Inn
The Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging

Property: ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
Address: 59 Shore St, Falmouth, MA 02540-3145
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Cape Cod's ShoreWay Acres Inn, and experience historic New England in a charming residential atmosphere. The Inn's ideal location in the heart of Falmouth's Historic District is within easy walking distance of the Village Green, Main Street shops, 20+ restaurants(ranging from sidewalk cafes and pubs to ethnic and fine dining)Surf Drive Beach, churches, Shining Sea Bikeway, Falmouth Museums on the Green, Carousel of Light and Cape Cod Trolley Stop. Martha's Vineyard ferries - one mile and three miles. Just a short drive to the fishing village of Woods Hole, Highfield Theater and Highfield Hall and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreway Acres Hotel Falmouth
Shoreway Acres Falmouth
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging Falmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing