We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tides Motel of Falmouth
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This motel is in a very nice spot. One side looks out over Vineyard Sound, the other side looks into Falmouth harbor and a third side looks out at the cut between the two. Our sliding glass doors were a picture frame for the Sound and the ferries going to & from Martha's Vineyard. The room was very clean, everything worked and the beds were comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor have better views but you need to carry your luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breuklyn-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a 4 day stay at the Tides Motel and we do not hesitate to recommend it. We were a family with 13 yr. old and 8 yr. old boys and this motel is perfect for families as well as couples/friends--EVERYONE!
We booked 3 rooms and they were VERY clean and comfortable. Loved the kitchenettes. The owners, you can see, are very hard-working and accommodate you as best they can. They go out of their way. The location is very good being close to the "mouth" of the harbor so one sees the Island Queen making her several trips to and from the Vineyard and the sailing students coming from the yacht club located on the harbor. The only thing the grandsons missed was big surf, but we knew we were on a bay (I believe it's a bay) and not the ocean.
The beach is stoney so you do need water shoes. Although we didn't go, there is a large beach up the road from this motel that looked very nice. We had lunch at the British Beer Co. right across the street from the beach. Went into town every night and walked Main Street--lovely shops, ice cream shops. We think Falmouth is the best town on the Cape.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first and second levels and they were all (3) fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birkiecontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We've been coming here for several years now. This motel is simple and clean. Literally on the beach - the waves rock you to sleep. There's a kitchenette in most rooms so that saves on meal costs. The front desk folks are friendly and the housekeepers do a great job - the rooms are spotless. You can walk to the Ferry for a Vineyard visit. This place is good for your soul! I plan on coming here every summer until I die.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLC1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have stayed at least six times in the past 25 years and have always been overwhelmed with the simple perfection. Beach steps from your bed, cross breeze adequately ventilated your room, clean beds and kitchenettes, and a family who sincerely loves their property and does a great job making guests comfortable without being intrusive. We agree with all the other comments about rocky beach and the sometimes intrusive guests hogging your patio space but on a beautiful summer day, there is no better place to be !!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebCSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We fell in love with this hotel on our first trip.It is incredibly clean and well-kept. It's definitely a hidden gem on the cape and screams pride of ownership. Every room has an ocean view and since you're almost on top of the ocean, the sound of the waves will lull you right to sleep.

The location is more than you could ask for - the Tides has its own private beach, is next door to the yacht club so watching the young sailors try not to flip their skiffs was quite a show. It also abuts the mouth of the harbor, so you can watch boats of all sorts come and go all day. There's a great spot to fish or just watch others try to catch something at the mouth of the harbor on the rocks. It is within walking distance of the Island Queen Ferry, which goes to Oak Bluffs on Martha's Vineyard every hour and a half or so, and if you're staying at the Tides, you'd be a fool not to make this trip for the day! It's a great way to get to the Vineyard without having to find parking, etc.

This could be a place I find myself returning to with my family for years. It is charming and I hope it's around for a long time to come!

Here are a few things that others may find as negatives but we didn't mind:

The beach is a bit rough - there are lots of rocks and shells, so bring water shoes (I think Crocs work the best since the sole is a bit thicker than traditional water shoes). I'm not sure how the water is the rest of the summer, but when we were there, it was quite choppy and a bit difficult to swim. This is not a good beach for toddlers or kids who don't know how to swim. However, if they're happy enough just playing in the sand and only going in the water occasionally, the fact that the hotel is right on the beach is a big plus so that nap time won't interrupt your day too much.

There is no air conditioning, but the ceiling fan and the breeze keeps the air moving quite well. We were there in the hottest heat wave of the summer, so the room was warm (not stifling) but very humid. It is set up so that you keep the beachfront slider open, as well as the "shutters" on the front door so that you constantly have the sea breeze flowing through the room. This was fine for us, but you do have to be aware and remember to shut these before changing, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asheffi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Tides Motel of Falmouth is everything you would want in a Oceanside escape. The views are spectacular, the beach is literally a few steps from your door and the ocean will sing lullabies at as you sleep. The motel is very, very clean. I felt like we were the first people to stay in our room...it was that clean! The beds were comfortable and fresh. And the motel's location in Falmouth is also idea. You have now read all of the "Pros"; now I will give the "Cons". We were vacationing with a 1 year old and 4 year old. This is a tough beach for small children. The sand was rough and the rocks were dangerous to little feet. We were unprepared for this and would have brought "water shoes" if we knew otherwise. I think the beach would be fine for elementary age kids or older. Also, since there is no air conditioning, it was tough prospect keeping the windows open or the screen door slider onto the communal balcony. There are no child safety locks (the ones that allow the window to go up 3-4 inches), so our windows had to stay closed unless we watching our kids every move.

My only other complaint (if it even is one because this is a really great motel) is I wish the website had better pictures. It doesn't not serve it justice to how well kept and beautiful the motel really is.

Before you pack your bags to Tides Motel... here is a list of things to bring with you since you will not find it in your room (to my surprise!) shampoo, conditioner, lotion, hairdryer, iron, laundry bag paper towels (if you have a room with a kitchenette), a fan and oh yeah, breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SarahEKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidesMotel, Owner at Tides Motel of Falmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We appreciate the feedback. Please know that we do provide irons and hair dryers and there is a big sign in the office letting people know that we have them. We keep them in the office as they seem to disappear when left in the rooms. We also keep shampoo and conditioner in the office should someone not bring any. We do not provide laundry bags as we have no facilities on site for guests to do their laundry. We happily provide plastic bags if guests need them for any reason. We always have plenty of fans as well. We are a motel so we do not serve breakfast thus the kitchenettes in the rooms but we do provide coffee in all rooms. Our housekeeping staff does a great job keeping our motel very clean and we always love to hear when people notice and appreciate their hard work. All of our guests should know that they only have to ask and most of the time we can provide them with whatever they may require during their stay. Thanks again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My friends & I look forward to staying there each year and always have great deal on room price, awesome view & an immaculate room! You can't go wrong for the price! Has a quaint Cape Cod family feel to it. Staff is always friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaMargrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
660 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Admiralty Inn and Suites
Admiralty Inn and Suites
#17 of 20 in Falmouth
235 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Motel of Falmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Motel of Falmouth

Address: 267 Clinton Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-3800
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £60 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Motel of Falmouth is situated on its own peninsula at the mouth of Falmouth Harbor. We offer twenty-nine suites with two double beds, cable TV and access to our own private beach; twenty suites are equipped with refrigerator, range or microwave, and service for four. We also offer a two-room presidential suite with kitchenette and accommodations for six. You won't find a more relaxing or convenient location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tides Motel Of Falmouth Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Falmouth
Tides Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Of Falmouth MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing