We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Ocean waves relax you as soon as you check in!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tides Motel of Falmouth
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Moultonborough, New Hampshire, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tranquil Ocean waves relax you as soon as you check in!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

You feel like your at the end of the world! We have stayed at The Tides many times in the past years and time & life has not allowed us a return visit till this past Aug 8 years later! The Tides has remained consistent and the staff is really friendly & knowledgeable and attentive. The rooms are very clean,The sliders and windows to the ocean sites & sounds are breathtaking! Not to mention awesome sunsets taken in from our 2nd floor balcony.
I can assure you my Wife & I are booking again for next summer!
Bruno & Sharon

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

If you are looking for a high end resort, this may not be the place for you but if you are looking for a comfortable, clean and utilatarian hotel, The Tides Hotel is the answer. Our room was super clean and sat directly on the beach...the waves and foghorn lulled us to sleep every night. Room had a coffee maker and refrigerator. We attended a wedding at St. Thomas' Church followed by a reception at the Falmouth Yacht Club which were within walking distance to the Tides. The only thing that I did not like was there were no privacy partitions on the deck, so people could walk by your room therefore you could not keep the sliding glass door open at night and needed to pull the curtain for privacy if you were getting dressed or napping. Most likely, the lack of partitions is due to fire codes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vermontgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This motel is in a very nice spot. One side looks out over Vineyard Sound, the other side looks into Falmouth harbor and a third side looks out at the cut between the two. Our sliding glass doors were a picture frame for the Sound and the ferries going to & from Martha's Vineyard. The room was very clean, everything worked and the beds were comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor have better views but you need to carry your luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breuklyn-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a 4 day stay at the Tides Motel and we do not hesitate to recommend it. We were a family with 13 yr. old and 8 yr. old boys and this motel is perfect for families as well as couples/friends--EVERYONE!
We booked 3 rooms and they were VERY clean and comfortable. Loved the kitchenettes. The owners, you can see, are very hard-working and accommodate you as best they can. They go out of their way. The location is very good being close to the "mouth" of the harbor so one sees the Island Queen making her several trips to and from the Vineyard and the sailing students coming from the yacht club located on the harbor. The only thing the grandsons missed was big surf, but we knew we were on a bay (I believe it's a bay) and not the ocean.
The beach is stoney so you do need water shoes. Although we didn't go, there is a large beach up the road from this motel that looked very nice. We had lunch at the British Beer Co. right across the street from the beach. Went into town every night and walked Main Street--lovely shops, ice cream shops. We think Falmouth is the best town on the Cape.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first and second levels and they were all (3) fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birkiecontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We've been coming here for several years now. This motel is simple and clean. Literally on the beach - the waves rock you to sleep. There's a kitchenette in most rooms so that saves on meal costs. The front desk folks are friendly and the housekeepers do a great job - the rooms are spotless. You can walk to the Ferry for a Vineyard visit. This place is good for your soul! I plan on coming here every summer until I die.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLC1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have stayed at least six times in the past 25 years and have always been overwhelmed with the simple perfection. Beach steps from your bed, cross breeze adequately ventilated your room, clean beds and kitchenettes, and a family who sincerely loves their property and does a great job making guests comfortable without being intrusive. We agree with all the other comments about rocky beach and the sometimes intrusive guests hogging your patio space but on a beautiful summer day, there is no better place to be !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebCSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We fell in love with this hotel on our first trip.It is incredibly clean and well-kept. It's definitely a hidden gem on the cape and screams pride of ownership. Every room has an ocean view and since you're almost on top of the ocean, the sound of the waves will lull you right to sleep.

The location is more than you could ask for - the Tides has its own private beach, is next door to the yacht club so watching the young sailors try not to flip their skiffs was quite a show. It also abuts the mouth of the harbor, so you can watch boats of all sorts come and go all day. There's a great spot to fish or just watch others try to catch something at the mouth of the harbor on the rocks. It is within walking distance of the Island Queen Ferry, which goes to Oak Bluffs on Martha's Vineyard every hour and a half or so, and if you're staying at the Tides, you'd be a fool not to make this trip for the day! It's a great way to get to the Vineyard without having to find parking, etc.

This could be a place I find myself returning to with my family for years. It is charming and I hope it's around for a long time to come!

Here are a few things that others may find as negatives but we didn't mind:

The beach is a bit rough - there are lots of rocks and shells, so bring water shoes (I think Crocs work the best since the sole is a bit thicker than traditional water shoes). I'm not sure how the water is the rest of the summer, but when we were there, it was quite choppy and a bit difficult to swim. This is not a good beach for toddlers or kids who don't know how to swim. However, if they're happy enough just playing in the sand and only going in the water occasionally, the fact that the hotel is right on the beach is a big plus so that nap time won't interrupt your day too much.

There is no air conditioning, but the ceiling fan and the breeze keeps the air moving quite well. We were there in the hottest heat wave of the summer, so the room was warm (not stifling) but very humid. It is set up so that you keep the beachfront slider open, as well as the "shutters" on the front door so that you constantly have the sea breeze flowing through the room. This was fine for us, but you do have to be aware and remember to shut these before changing, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asheffi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
2.8 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#9 of 20 in Falmouth
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
978 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
Falmouth Inn
Falmouth Inn
#13 of 20 in Falmouth
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Motel of Falmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Motel of Falmouth

Property: Tides Motel of Falmouth
Address: 267 Clinton Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-3800
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Motel of Falmouth is situated on its own peninsula at the mouth of Falmouth Harbor. We offer twenty-nine suites with two double beds, cable TV and access to our own private beach; twenty suites are equipped with refrigerator, range or microwave, and service for four. We also offer a two-room presidential suite with kitchenette and accommodations for six. You won't find a more relaxing or convenient location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tides Motel Of Falmouth Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Falmouth
Tides Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Of Falmouth MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing