We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tides Motel of Falmouth
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We happened upon the Tides Motel while visiting Falmouth - ended up staying 3 nights.
Hospitality was great and the unit was extremely clean. Enjoyed being so close to the water. The harbor boats were fun to watch and the waves were wonderful.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank anonymousCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2009

Do not stay here if you want to have fun. This place ruined our wedding night because
the manager put a complaining regular patron next to our wedding party. Get terms
of deposit because you will probably end up paying for a room. We assumed the deposit was for room damage or cancellations. An inept manager sent us our deposit back minus $150 without explaination. All we did was return from our fabulous wedding with a bunch of people to talk about the night and we were immediately confronted to "keep it down" by our next door neighbor. We complied to terms of noise. All we were doing was talking, no music. We are all in our 40's not 20's, and all professionals. As far as we were concerned, The Tides Hotel ruined our wedding night. You can't get that back,
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!! Too cheap to provide shampoo, hairdryer, or iron. That rude man tried to get his whole weekend paid, for an inconvenient hour. Give me a break.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yachtclubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidesMotel, Manager at Tides Motel of Falmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2009

We appreciate all reviews both positive and negative, but we do hope reviewers are truthful and accurate with their comments, neither of which can be applied to your review. Being a small, seasonal, family owned business, we value the relationships we have made with our guests over the last forty-five years and rely greatly on returning customers. Unfortunately sometimes incidents happen that force me to make difficult decisions, such as the one you are referring to, to ensure an enjoyable and safe stay for ALL of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed during the in season so our room cost $165.00 a night. I had made reservations only a week prior to staying there so we stayed 2 nights on the harbor side and 2 nights on the ocean side as that was all they had available. The harbor side should cost less as your view is of the parking lot and since you can't unlock the sliding glass door with your key you have to walk around the motel from where you parked your car to unlock the entrance door to your room. Also you can't hear the waves if you do open your window. The ocean side however is great! If the day was really hot or windy or if the few people on the private beach was more than what we wanted to be around we'd just lay on our bed in the comfort of our room with the sliding doors screen being the only barrier between us and the beach. We're from a tiny town so the congestion created by all us tourists was tiring (making a left hand turn from anywhere is a pain). We walked to the ferry to ride to Martha's Vineyard and I loved the gingerbread houses - definitely worth the ferry fee. Most of the other days we were there though I just loved being by the ocean, on the beach collecting shells just steps away from our room. I really apppreciated the reviews I read about this place before we went and can vouch that the positive reviews are reliable although as some have stated-it is not a fancy place but is welcoming and relaxing. I would go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogranny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

My now-fiance and I stayed at the Tides the weekend we got engaged. The tides was a perfect place to be on the water and close to everything. When we returned from our beach walk where he had popped the question, we were welcomed with flowers and champange. We had family members staying at the hotel the same weekend and everyone loved the relaxed atmosphere, the water, and the central location. We are definitely planning on staying again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaheen9718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

So clean, so perfect, everyone so nice. We will go back this July. Have already made reservations in Jan. We just live over on the Rock (the Vineyard) and have our own business. We can boat back and forth on the Island Queen if we want to or need to. But who needs to once at the Tides. Good summer spot for us in our busy season. Believe me I have stayed at some nice upper crusty places and I would rather be in room #5 (or any room) at the Tides anyday. Love the cool ice machine and the nice girls who clean up. Have stayed several times at the White Elephant in Nantucket, many nice places in Newport and Boston. They are real nice too, but I love The Tides.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nwmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

This past year we couldn't afford to go far on our yearly family vacation trip, so we decided to stay in our state. Well, my mom suggested this great little motel in falmouth called the TIDES MOTEL in MASSACHUSETTS!
We had the best time, it was great to stay in my room and be able to watch the kids on the beach. The size of the beach was perfect not too big in case the kids ran off. The beach is private which was great not too many people, so it was easy to find the kids. When I felt like going to catch some sun it was easy to do, I would be done with sun catching and go back to the room. It was so relaxing!
It was the easiest task to catch the ferry right down the street and off we went for the day to Martha's Vineyard and still make it back to the room at a reasonable time!
Overall, it was one of my best relaxing vacations and we will definately go back when we can!!
The Fraga Family

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommy4sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Excellent get away spot. Right on the ocean and harbor. Location that cannot be beat, staff that is helpful, professional and friendly, and rooms that are spacious and clean. We loved our stay and look forward to summer so that we can return again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank smittenBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
537 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
6.0 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#3 of 20 in Falmouth
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Seaside Inn
The Seaside Inn
#14 of 20 in Falmouth
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Motel of Falmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Motel of Falmouth

Address: 267 Clinton Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-3800
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £60 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Motel of Falmouth is situated on its own peninsula at the mouth of Falmouth Harbor. We offer twenty-nine suites with two double beds, cable TV and access to our own private beach; twenty suites are equipped with refrigerator, range or microwave, and service for four. We also offer a two-room presidential suite with kitchenette and accommodations for six. You won't find a more relaxing or convenient location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tides Motel Of Falmouth Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Falmouth
Tides Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Of Falmouth MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing