We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England Trip”
Review of Inn on the Sound

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Sound
Ranked #3 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our stay could not have been better.
Howard, the inn keeper, was great. He hepled with information that made our travels so much easier.
We traveled late in the season, but would love to go back in the summer or early fall.
The location was wonderful and the views spectacular.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

I first read about Inn on the Sound in a Frommer's travel guide. Visiting the website and reading the reviews sealed the deal. My husband and I stayed six nights and celebrated my birthday. We loved the Inn and Falmouth! Everything was first class: our room (corner room on 2nd floor with glorious views of the sound), the delicious breakfasts, the fully stocked refrigerator (including plenty of bottled water and sodas at no cost!), treats and fruit 24/7, great advice on what to do and where to go, exceptionally clean rooms (thoroughly cleaned every day!), plush towels and bathroom amenities, comfortable and attractive common areas, and plenty to read about the region, the town, activities, you name it! Howard was a phenomenal host, and I appreciated the goodie basket placed outside my door in honor of my birthday! On a personal note, I connected with a sorority sister from our alma mater who happened to come to the Inn while we were there - it had been several decades since we had last seen each other! I will never forget this wonderful vacation on the Cape, and I can't wait to come back to the Inn and to Falmouth (quite a lovely town with a fascinating history)!

Room Tip: I really liked our corner room on the second floor (Oyster Pond). It was spacious, quiet, had an ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This place is amazing and we didn't want to leave after 3 nights! Howard and the entire team provide a beautiful B&B by the sea with everything you could possibly ask for. Hot and cold drinks and gorgeous home-made cakes available all the time. Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea with a different hot breakfast each day. We were made very welcome and felt immediately at home. All the staff had local knowledge of the best places to eat and were able to recommend great days out. They even loaned us books and maps for the day. The attention to detail was fantastic and the rooms are spotless and finished perfectly with everything you need thought of. Cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tescocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Inn on the Sound was absolutely spectacular! Not only were we warmly welcomed by Howie (the inn keeper--the nicest!!), but every part of the experience was quaint, cozy and tailored to make us feel special.

From the homemade biscottis (which were the best we have ever had) to Howie helping us rent bikes to the most amazing aesthetically pleasing cottage (the pics on their website do not begin to do it justice), the whole experience was more than what we had been looking for--we just wanted a relaxing weekend getaway. At the end of the weekend, we did not want to leave and have been longing to go back ever since.

We highly recommend Inn on the Sound to anyone looking for rejuvenation--and especially during the slower season before the Cape is booming--it's so restful and peaceful and...well perfect...but that doesn't begin to describe it :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thinksquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights to celebrate my husband's birthday. Lovely room with water view. Beautiful linens, towels and accessories. They think of everything. Staff was wonderful, attentive and most helpful. The breakfast was fantastic, both in taste and presentation. Hot dish changes daily and some are unusual . Muffins, croissants and breads were yummy. Always coffee, tea and snacks available. Howard is the best host you could ask for. Highly recommend this inn!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hildaandmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What's your ideal B&B? Right on the beach? Incredible breakfasts? Immaculate rooms? Unlimited supplies of everything you could want whether it be drinks, umbrellas, beach chairs or towels? Wonderful host with wonderful advice? It's all here!
In all the years we've been staying at B&B's, we've never seen a cleaner room or cleaner house. Attention to details is the mantra here. Gorgeous fruit arrangements at breakfast. Rotating snacks at night (but always Peppermint Patties available). Even a night light for the bathroom!
Howard, the owner, is there to help you work out plans for the day, providing tips and even coupons. Welcoming conversations and food to die for. A 'typical' breakfast might be a salmon quiche, or a puff-pastry like French toast...plus the buffet with fruits, cereals, yogurts, fresh baked cakes, etc. is there for you as well as wonderful fresh squeezed juices.
Your room's closet contains iron and board, heater for the winter, a beach basket already stocked with fresh beach towels, and yes, robes.
Falmouth is a great destination on the Cape with lots to see and do. We can't think of a better place to call 'home' while you're there. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We came across the Inn on the Sound by pure luck and we were so glad we did. We were after an overnight getaway to relax for the weekend and managed to get the last room available. Everything exceeded our expectations, from the friendly host to the beautiful views, amazingly comfortable bed and incredible home cooked breakfast. The price is on the upper end of the scale but in my opinion it's worth every cent. Luxury at it's best.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view, it's unobstructed and just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwigemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.5 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
660 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
1.3 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,009 reviews
3.6 mi away
Treehouse Lodge
Treehouse Lodge
#2 of 2 in Woods Hole
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baileys By The Sea
Baileys By The Sea
#8 of 9 in Falmouth
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Sound

Address: 313 Grand Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-3434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: £117 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique oceanfront bed & breakfast offering 11 well-appointed guest rooms, comfortable common areas, spectacular ocean views and gourmet breakfasts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On The Sound Hotel Falmouth
Inn On The Sound Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing