We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Sound
Ranked #3 of 9 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Inn on the Sound for 3 nights while attending a wedding the first weekend in June. From the minute we pulled up to the Inn we were already impressed with the gorgeous view onto the Nantucket Sound. We were greeted by Howard, the innkeeper who showed us around the Inn and to our room. We stayed in the Chappaquoit Beach room and it could not have been more wonderful. Our room was tastefully appointed with a very very comfortable bed. My heart skipped a beat when I saw our view was simply sparkling water as far as they eye could see! Our room did not have A/C but no need! We had the windows open throughout our stay and we could not have been more comfortable! I truly believe that fresh air revived us! The room was extremely clean and no detail has been spared. Even the BeeKind products were a wonderful discovery! As if this were not enough, believe the hype on the breakfast. Howard clearly enjoys making the absolutely delicious breakfasts each morning. Truly gourmet! Add on fresh scones, orange juice, fruit, tea, coffee. What a wonderful treat to wake up to each morning! With only 10 rooms this Inn is a gem and is ultimately peaceful. The location cannot be beat as you simply walk a few hundred feet to the beach or a short 3 minute drive to town. I told Howard while we were leaving, his Inn has inspired me to want to have a place like this of my own someday. What a dream! Thank you!

Room Tip: Room sizes vary and you will notice that in the pricing. We stayed in the Chappaquoit Beach room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yesyes0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for three wonderful nights. The Inn only has 10 rooms and we stayed in Fiddler's Cove at the front of the Inn. The view is serene, looking out over the Atlantic Ocean towards Martha's Vineyard, early morning is best. The traffic noise is from the road between the Inn and the ocean is a little distracting, but then again no place is perfect.

Breakfast is served every day between 8:30 and 11:00 AM and we really looked forward to breakfast. Howard and his staff always had something new. No breakfast was the same on each of the three mornings. A different freshly baked breakfast cake/loaf was available. There was fresh fruit that was extremely well presented, croissants, cereal, yogurt, etc. And then an individual main course that was cooked to order. Breakfast could be had in the breakfast room, or out on the front deck.

There was always canned pop and bottled water in the fridge for the taking. Each morning as we headed out we took two bottles of water for the day. On one particular morning we asked Howard if there is a laundromat close by, as we had been travelling for more than a week and needed to do some washing. He directed us to one, but said it was too beautiful a day to spend time in a laundromat, and took our washing and had housekeeping wash this at the end of their daily chores. Our washing was neatly folded and hung up when we returned to our room that evening. Thank you, Howard and staff!

Service was impeccable and always with a smile! A big thank you to Howard and his staff!

Room Tip: Select a room at the front of the house with a balcony. It was wonderful to lounge on the deck in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulwazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed there for a couple of days and I must admit, it is my favorite bed and breakfast of all time. We were last minute guests, so we had to change rooms for our second night, but it was a gift. The first room had its own deck on the first floor and we loved the view and our private garden. The second night we were upstairs with a deck overlooking the water and it was also fantastic. Both rooms were perfect in every detail. The food is just amazing. There are always snacks and beverages out and you feel like you are pampered from the moment you arrive. Easy walking distance to restaurants and the beach and a great view of the ferry going to Martha's Vineyard. Every space in this inn says come on in and sit a while. Don't miss a chance to stay at Inn on the Sound!

Room Tip: The first floor room with a deck is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have traveled for over 20 years and stayed at B&B type places all over the world and this one ranks at the top. The location is beautiful right across the street from the ocean. The service is impeccable; rooms are cleaned everyday and look like you just checked in; the place is extremely clean, and the stocked refrigerator is a nice bonus.

Good Stuff:

-There is one parking spot per guest which is nice

-0.5 mile walk to the boat for Martha's Vineyard

-2 miles to main street where there is plenty of parking but you could ride a bike or walk if you are into that.

-Other restaurants are closer if you don't feel like going far

-All the rooms are nice; from the large ones with balcony views of the ocean to the smallest one with no ocean view, you will get a good nights sleep.

-Howard is accommodating, knowledgeable and a great innkeeper; if you don't like the breakfast du jour he will make you something else if available but most likely you will like the options.

-Very quiet for a great nights sleep

-Boat to Nantucket in Hyannis is not too far but arrive to park 1 hour before boat leaves since you may be in a far lot with a shuttle ride. Take the high speed boat too!

Enjoy, book it and you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: All are good but go ahead and get that ocean view balcony, you deserve it. There is one room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent three nights here prior to going to Boston for our son's Graduation and it was outstanding. The room (Great Harbour) was comfortable to the nth degree with views from its deck out to the ocean overlooking Martha's Vineyard. Howard was the perfect host and nothing was too much trouble for him and his team. Wonderful breakfasts with home made savouries and cakes that were too good to resist. Everywhere and everything was spotlessly clean with nice lounge areas inside and out. A great experience.

Room Tip: Push yourself for an ocean facing room - its well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Inn on the Sound twice last summer, & it's an exemplary B&B. Not only is it immaculate, accommodating, & cozy, but Howard & his team make it an experience to remember. Howard is genuine & goes above & beyond for his guests. Inn on the Sound is, hands-down, the best B&B on the Cape.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank LoAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Harbor Room... Fabulous with with porch looking over Nantucket Sound. 4 star gourmet breakfast, fridg filled with water, soda, juices for guests, and great location for walking. Very courteous and friendly staff. More than perfect place to stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pto6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.5 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
660 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
11.5 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,011 reviews
1.3 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
395 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coonamessett Inn
Coonamessett Inn
#9 of 9 in Falmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Sound

Address: 313 Grand Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-3434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: £124 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique oceanfront bed & breakfast offering 11 well-appointed guest rooms, comfortable common areas, spectacular ocean views and gourmet breakfasts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On The Sound Hotel Falmouth
Inn On The Sound Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing