We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

One pays, and pays again, for the location, which is pretty good, but not perhaps that good...
In England, they have Butlin's, on the cape, it is Seacrest.
Overall, rooms small, bathrooms non-existent, bed very comfortable, conference service delightful, outside bar service not-quite-so-delightful (and this silly rule about only being able to buy one drink, meaning I can't walk from the beach to get a drink each for myself and my wife, just has to go....).
The blacktop parking lot needs to be broken up, planters, trees...something.
A resort with tennis courts looking like that?
Food acceptable (it is good, but at these prices should gravitate towards excellent....).
If it wasn't a business trip, I probably wouldn't bother, but on the whole, the staff save the place from being a lot less acceptable - generally they are gracious, friendly and helpful....

Room Tip: go beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    314
    159
    52
    51
See reviews for
391
256
12
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Had a lovely week here in August and would recommend it. The hotel is on the whole brilliant, fantastic beach location and Falmouth is lovely. Had breakfast in hotel restaurant overlooking the sea. Lots of nice food to choose from. Staff in general very friendly and helpful, in particular Ricky on reception! He really looked after us and went out of his way to be friendly, a genuinely kind person! The standard rooms were of good quality only let down by the air conditioning units which were very noisy!. Having its own private beach meant there were always plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas etc! Whale watching from Hyannis was a highlight! Marthas vineyard definitely worth a trip. Lovely location, great week, would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms might be an option, but book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My wife and her cousin came to this hotel every year as kids and now that they both have kids of their own they decided to continue the tradition with their families. We stayed here for 2 nights in August. We arrived at 1 pm. We were told that check in was 4 pm and to leave a cell phone number and they would call us with an update on the room. The front desk never called and when we went back at 4:15 they told us the room was still not ready - we ended up waiting until almost 5:30 by which time our 2 small children were exhausted. And they never even apologized. The room was fine, although the pillows were horrible. The hotel staff was nice about providing towels and helping with beach chairs.

On the second night we went to the restaurant, Red's. They told us the wait would be 25 minutes but didn't seat us until 45 minutes later. And then it took them 35 minutes to get us our drinks and 1 of the drinks was not what we ordered. When I mentioned this to the waitress she apologized but never brought the correct drink! The food was mediocre when it arrived.

All in all, very disappointing for a pretty basic room, no breakfast included, that cost $920 for 2 nights. I guess my wife will need to find a new place in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLARK-K6, General Manager at Sea Crest Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide the valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. It can sometimes be a challenge to get all of our rooms cleaned and inspected by 4PM but there is no excuse for not apologizing. I’m sorry you did have to wait to check in to your room. In the rare event that a guest does have to wait until after 4PM to check in, we like to do something for them to make up for the inconvenience and I apologize if this was not the case.

I’m also sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience in the restaurant. Please feel free to contact me at any time if you would like to discuss your stay in more detail. Thank you again for the feedback; it’s critical for us to know how we can improve to make your next visit more enjoyable. We sincerely hope you’ll come visit us again.

Clark Guinn,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Sea Crest for the 2nd time in just about 3 years. We can't get enough of Old Silver Beach and this place is perfect because it is right on Old Silver. The hotel has improved quite a bit in over 2 years from a service and dining perspective. The food was much much better than we remembered for both breakfast and dinner and the staff at the hotel was outstanding! They were extremely friendly and didn't hesitate to cater to every need. Even though we only live an hour and a half away we felt like we were someplace remote and that's honesly one of my favorite aspects to staying at the Sea Crest. We split our stay in two rooms because of the way I booked the trip and both were very very clean which is something my wife and I are very picky about. My hats off to their cleaning staff they do an outstanding job cleaning as I'm sure it's not easy given that they are right on the beach and probably have to deal with sand and seaweed in their hotel. Overall great time once again! If there's only one area I think they could improve it is the quality of the mattresses they have. I'm sure they wear down but for us they could have been bettter but not a big deal the beds were good just not great.
Look forward to going back to Sea Crest in the future and I've recommended it to my family as well (especially after they say the pictures we had of Old Silver and the Sea Crest).

Room Tip: I liked our junior suite room. We also stayed in a room in building 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jheliotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We felt like we were really away even though we were less then 90 minutes from Boston. Having previously stayed at Sea Crest 5-10 years ago, they did a nice job renovating the place. I don't think there are a lot of places on the cape that are on the beach, have indoor and outdoor pools, a bar and snack bar by the outside pool, an inside restaurant, coffee bar, game room and exercise room. I think we made use of all of these facilities.

Also, Falmouth has a great downtown area that just 10-15 minutes away.

The room we had was good size. The people there were very nice and courteous.

It was expensive, but they did allow us to check in early and use the faciltiies for the rest of the day after we checked out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mad175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orp-jauche
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Most hotels offer tricky WiFi connections. This one doesn't, they give it like everybody should do it. This combined with a good service and a beautiful location, make it a really nice holiday experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dampoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for a week in August, we are a family of three and stayed in 'building 7', one of the main buildings of the hotel.

Check in was friendly and efficient, we were allowed to check in early which was tremendously helpful.

The room was large and immaculately clean. Two 'double beds' provided ample space for our family.
There was plenty of storage, a very large cupboard allowed us to put our suitcases out of sight.
The bathroom was well-appointed, and again, was immaculately clean.

The free wifi was a bonus that we hadn't expected.

The indoor pool is located in the well equipped fitness area, towels are readily available. The outdoor pool overlooks the ocean and was, again, well maintained, clean and pleasant.

Although we didn't use the restaurants, the 'take-out' was of a good standard and not horrendously priced for a hotel.

The adjacent beach was accessed via steps from the terrace, loungers and umbrellas are available free of charge.

Despite the fact that the hotel was busy, it wasn't noisy and the facilities didn't feel overcrowded.
The were even films shown outdoors in the evening.

My only criticism would be that the corridors in the main building were looking 'dated'.
I would highly recommend this pleasant, recently renovated hotel.

The staff were helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the ground floor corridor in the main building, this is noisier as it is the rout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WizzyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
22.6 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
21.7 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
19.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
18.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Beach Hotel

Property: Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Address: 350 Quaker Road, Falmouth, MA 02556-2943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Crest Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Crest Beach Hotel is located on one of the most beautiful beaches on Cape Cod. Just 70 miles from Boston, Sea Crest Beach Hotel is perfect for a wedding, reunion, corporate event, or just that perfect Cape Cod vacation, Sea Crest Beach Hotel on Old Sliver Beach will make your time on Cape Cod memorable. Sit by our outdoor saline pool, lie on our pristine, white sand, beach overlooking Buzzards Bay, go windsurfing, swimming, or just relax with a good book. The Sea Crest Beach Hotel is Cape Cod’s finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Crest Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Falmouth Ma
Sea Crest Beach Hotel Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing