We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quaint inn with great location”
Review of Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on the Square
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here as part of a Cape Cod vacation after a business meeting. The Inn is centrally located right on Main Street with lots of parking. The area is full of wonderful cafes, upscale restaurants, the ferry to Martha’s Vineyard, a bike path and shops are all within walking distance. Our stay was prior to "the season" and it was pretty quiet, (except for an idiot contractor who took down a tree early Saturday AM serenading us with the sounds of chainsaws and an industrial wood chipper). Pros: very nice pool on site and free room big and well appointed with fridge and microwave. Cons: Walls are indeed paper thin. Property is undergoing a much needed renovation and update -- we look forward to staying here again after they are completed.

Percy's Place is attached to the Inn and is a great place to eat but do yourself a favor and get out and about -- we enjoyed fantastic dinner at the The Glass Onion across the street and breakfast at Coffee Obsession around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

I had booked for one week and stayed for three and a half it was so good. The staff are great- so friendly. I was a lone traveller and it was lovely that they smiled and asked how I was (and were genuinely interested in my answer) each time I passed the reception area. Rooms are spacious, beds comfy and bedding clean and crisp, shower with 'massage' facitlity. Cleaners efficiently keep the place pristine. Swimming pool large and located in a huge log cabin type structure. Convenience of a fridge and microwave in the room was much appreciated. 37 inch TV has more than 100 channels and TV on demand option.
I have been in New England for nine weeks and have stayed in chain hotels, bed and breakfast and this independent Inn so have been able to compare different styles,value and comfort. I would say this place ticks all the boxes for excellence.
The Inn is central to Falmouth town and easy walking distance to good restaurants - Liam Maguires and Stone L'oven recommended. I liked Coffee Obsessions, just around the corner, for breakfast. Also hotel is right next to the Bike trail and cycle hire avaliable across from Coffee Obsessions. Local transportation links to the rest of the Cape and Peter Pan bus to Boston too.
I will return here someday. Make it your choice today.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mini_gap_year
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights while traveling the cape for the first time. We were in an out building but we found it to be quiet and lovely. Lots of windows and a comfy bed made our stay enjoyable. The landscaping was well done and the adjoined restaurant was tasty for breakfast. Nearby shopping!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcwrighten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

clean comfortable rooms,with windows that open,Inn is adjacent to famous cafe.
located on highway ,but no sounds from street,walking distance to downtown,but auto required for trip to nearby Woods Hole. Trolley starts after Father's Day.Great rates until then.ROOMS HAVE HUGE BATHROOMS,MIRCO & FRIDGE/FREEZER!
(heads up)Walls are paper thin-so ask to be checked in near empty rooms. Renovations taking place currently. Would be perfect if rate was 20-40% lower & included breakfast @Perseys.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had a weekend here after the hustle of the East coast
It is a super little hotel
The staff were excellent and very helpful
The room was spacious and well appointed with a lovely big bathroom and spotlessly clean
It is well situated to explore the beautiful Cape Cod

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We came here on a weekend getaway and it was just what we needed... Its centrally located right on the end (or beginning) of Main Street. You can park your car at the hotel and walk to all the amazing cafes, restaurants and shops right down the street. We came midweek and it was pretty quiet, so when we asked to be moved from the first floor to the 2nd, they upgraded us to a suite which was awesome. The only downside is that the walls are paper thin and we could hear conversations on both sides of the room - someone cheering for the same Celtics game we were watching on one side and on the other, someone snoring in the middle of the night!!! There is free wifi, which you have to keep signing in to with a password they give you at the desk, but hey, its free. Although, most businesses on the Cape have free wifi. Hotel is a short walk from the bus which brings you to the Martha's Vineyard Ferry and a short drive from all the neighboring towns. Pool seemed nice but we never went in. There is no gym and I don't think there is room service.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank altagrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

friendly and helpful staff, comfy room, huge bathroom with great tolietries, 1 minute from Shining Sea Bike Trail which is why we choose this hotel. It exceeded our expectations.
Also about 10 minute walk to town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MOLLYCAT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
1.3 mi away
Admiralty Inn and Suites
Admiralty Inn and Suites
#17 of 20 in Falmouth
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
ShoreWay Acres Inn & Cape Cod Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,011 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
Red Horse Inn - Falmouth
#2 of 20 in Falmouth
411 reviews
1.1 mi away
Falmouth Inn
Falmouth Inn
#12 of 20 in Falmouth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Address: 40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2889
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £65 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Falmouth
Hotel On The Square
On The Square Falmouth
Inn On The Square Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing