We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, mediocre facilities”
Review of Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn on the Square
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, mediocre facilities”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, walkable to downtown Falmouth. The external appearance of the hotel is very quaint, the interior decoration is a bit dated but clean. Our non-smoking room smelled of smoke and the hair dryer did not work, but the staff apologized and appeared to be addressing the issue after we departed. The staff is friendly and I would probably stay there again. I wouldn't recommend eating at the restaurant in the hotel because there are so many great options nearby.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    194
    161
    65
    50
See reviews for
163
271
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Have stayed here in the past and ready to visit again at the end of the month. Nice hotel with well appointed and comfortable rooms. It's definitely better than a 3 star hotel as I've seen it some places, especially compared to the others in the area. Nice pool setup and a great breakfast place in the hotel. Very short walk to downtown and a number of good restaurants (try Anejo if you like Mexican, it's very good). Also convenient to transportation for the Woods Hole ferry to Martha's Vineyard. On my first stay I experienced very good service and the rooms were very clean. Looking forward to my second visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanChicago_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It's a fabulous approach to the hotel. Our room was a large 2queen bed . Very clean. Only stayed one night but would over to have stayed longer had we had the time. I would go back again. Very handy for the coach that takes you to Marthas Vineyard only 7mins walk. We checked out but the hotel let us leave the car there whilst we went ferry which saved us the parking fee. Not too far from the town which too is fabulous. I would stay there again. One tip there is no lift so if you aren't too fit or many cases go for ground floor. I. Sure though if we had asked the staff I'm sure they would have helped.

Room Tip: Go for ground floor if you aren't fit with there being no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorickhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel was a real refuge for us after a night at the appalling Shoreway Acres Inn. We needed somewhere clean, warm and comfortable and thank goodness we found all of this at the Inn on the Square. Front desk staff were really helpful. Attached is Persey's Place, for breakfast, which was a lovely experience for us in an American diner. The hotel is really near the free bus for the ferry at Wood's Hole- couldn't be handier. It's a short walk- 5-10 minutes- into the restaurant area on the main street. I would recommend this hotel- it has a nice friendly atmosphere and we felt very well looked after.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireTaurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopedale, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were amazed from the minute we drove up to the Inn. Beautiful building in an easy to find location. We were helped right away by a very polite and happy woman at the desk, check in was quick and simple. The beauty of the outside of the building continued as you walked inside. It is very clean and comfortable inside and out, plenty of parking. Our room was perfect, not too, big or small. The bathroom was very spacious, perfect for traveling with two young children. Our AC/heater system worked (bonus points since the last two places we stayed didn't) or we had the option of opening the windows (when you're near the beach you want that ocean breeze). Beds are very comfortable, linens and pillow were great. Every staff member we came in contact with was polite and nice. We will be returning again in the Fall.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalloFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I've stayed twice at this Hotel. You can't beat the location if staying in Falmouth. It's a short walk to Main street and all the shops. The rooms are nice and the bedding is plush. The rooms have DVD players, Mini-Fridge, Microwave and great in-room coffee which is a plus for me. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool which was large and sunny for an Indoor pool. The big bonus was the Comcast Cable which allowed access to Comcast's library of free movies. I've really enjoyed staying here and will always try to book this hotel when I travel down to the Falmouth area. There is also a great Breakfast and Lunch restaurant named onsite.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josiahwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
398 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Not good, not bad -- room is a bit tight; beds comfortable. Bathroom is spacious and water temp and pressure good. Service at front desk -- basic Pool was nice; good for laps and kids to waddle around. Heated just right not to hot, not to cool. To get to room could be troublesome for someone with limited mobility-- long walk to car to room-- using stairs.
Website states--"Complimentary gourmet coffee and teas are provided throughout the hotel" besides the 2 packets of New England Coffee in the room -- did not find anything throughout.
Price was fair for a non-weekend stay. Could walk to downtown Falmouth if a walker-- near ferry parking shuttle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hr1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
22.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
951 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
615 reviews
18.0 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Property: Inn on the Square
Address: 40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2889
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Falmouth
Hotel On The Square
On The Square Falmouth
Inn On The Square Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing