We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and Heated Indoor Pool ”
Review of Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn on the Square
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location and Heated Indoor Pool ”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days last week. Picked the inn for its location and heated indoor pool because we expected cool weather.

There were several pluses to staying here. The inn is close to the main shopping area although it would be a long walk if one had mobility issues. It is also close to the parking area to take the ferry to Martha's Vineyard which is really convenient. Front office staff were pleasant, helpful and responsive. The room had internet access, a large TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and a microwave. The bed was extremely comfortable. Parking was just outside the inn and there was a restaurant for breakfast and lunch. The pool was a delight especially when it got cool and rainy.

On the minus side, we were given a room for someone with a wheelchair so we had trouble reaching the low sink. The shower was difficult to manage.
The floor was slippery and the grab bars were extremely low. The hand wand did not work. Since we are both tall, these things were problematic. The heater worked, but it was very noisy. Housekeeping was okay but not terrific.

We might stay again at this inn if we were given a different room on the first floor. Since the inn was booked, we stayed in the room we were given. We would not want this room again. We are giving it a four star rating because of its location, indoor heated pool, internet access, restaurant, and pleasant staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    194
    160
    65
    50
See reviews for
163
270
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is conveniently located to Main Street shops, restaurants and to Wood's Hole for the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. Property Pros: in room refrigerator and coffee maker. That's it. Cons: UGLY, outdated, dark, small rooms. Mine was on the first floor. Nothing like the photos on their website. Very Misleading! No closet, so my belongings cluttered up the small room. Walls are paper thin. There were dead bugs on the curtains. Grossed me out. I tried to stay in the room for as short a time as possible and felt uncomfortable the whole time I was there. YUCK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teeqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Falmouth hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We came to the Cape for a wedding, and the Inn on the Square was within walking distance of the wedding venue, and there was a block of rooms for the wedding, so that was the primary reason we chose Inn on the Square. Given previous experiences with the Cape, I would say that the best experiences are probably found in smaller B&Bs or true Inns, this one is a straightforward hotel. Felt like staying in a small-ish older Sheraton or the like. The room was big, and it was a little tattered here and there--normal for an older hotel. The room had a mini-fridge and a microwave.
My interactions with the staff were positive. There was a helpful woman at the front desk, I believe her name was Suzanne, and she was very kind and would check in on how we were doing when we walked through the lobby.
All in all, our stay here was about location, location, location, but I doubt we would stay here again. I don't say that because it was bad, but just because I think that a vacation rental would be my preference when on the Cape.

Room Tip: I would want second floor because the floorboards are very squeaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Two couples, we spent the Easter weekend in Cape Cod - not bustling with people as it was out of season. The hotel was good. Fine big bedroom. Very clean. Good sized bathroom too. We were able to walk to the few restaurants and bars in Falmouth from the hotel - always a good thing. Staff, very pleasant. In the restaurant adjoining, where we had breakfast - things were a big on the slow side with mixed up orders. Other than that - no problems and the rate was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole-Begley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Surprisingly, Cape Cod is not flush with nice places to stay. Inn on the Square was a pleasant surprise. Certainly not a luxury property, but clean, well kept and comfortable. The staff was pleasant. I would, and will stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank N8541M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville
Level Contributor
191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Inn on the Square is a pretty good hotel, pretty close to the heart of town. It has good parking. Our room was pretty small, but comfortable, and the bathroom good sized. I get up early and look for a lobby area that is usable to sit and read, but this one is not very good with quite uncomfortable chairs. The hotel is clean and people nice. The attached restaurant is open fro breakfast and lunch (Persy's Place) with a giant breakfast menu but really rather mediocre food.

We asked for a room that had a shower since we have trouble getting into a bath and we may have gotten their version of an accessible room. The room had a tub with lots of grab bars, but all were so low that they could not be used when taking a shower - they might work for someone taking a bath, but not a shower. And, it was hard to use the grab bars to get in and out of the bath. It strike me that whoever designed this did not think through use in any intelligent way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to kickoff our trip to MV...great location to town... More shopping and eating options than woods hole. Clean comfy and fair price..good place for a one night stay, Percy's is great for lunch/breakfast ...keep in mind though things open late and close early for shopping..eating options are plenty and some good variety..................................

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sead0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
22.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
951 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
616 reviews
18.0 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Property: Inn on the Square
Address: 40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2889
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Falmouth
Hotel On The Square
On The Square Falmouth
Inn On The Square Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing