We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate hotel”
Review of Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn on the Square
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
NH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly adequate hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2008

There are so many negative reviews here about Inn on the Square that I felt compelled to write one of my own. I've stayed here three times in the last few months (for work) and a couple other times in the past few years. It is not a luxury hotel, but it is a perfectly adequate place. The rooms I've been in have been clean. The furnishings are not designer-level, but they are perfectly fine. I haven't interacted much with the staff, but the desk person did move me to another room in the middle of my last stay because of a crying baby in the room next door; the staff member was very accommodating when I inquired about switching rooms. The only downsides that I could possibly complain about are that 1) the alarm clocks are all off by an hour, and it's not obvious how to reset them and 2) while there's an assortment of white, green, and herbal Tazo teas for breakfast, there's no black tea (should people who don't drink coffee not be able to find an alternative source of caffeine to start our days?). All in all, those are relatively minor complaints. In addition to feeling like this hotel is perfectly adequate, I've always been able to get good deals on Priceline, making it a logical choice of hotels in Falmouth.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveler1Nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    197
    161
    66
    51
See reviews for
166
273
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2008

I visit Falmouth frequently and usually stay at a lovely B an B called "The Palmer House." Since they were full I decided to give the Inn a try. I was greeted by an unfriendly and unsmiling desk clerk. The room was shabby and disapppointing. In the middle of the night the fire alarm went off - in my room only. The night manager assured me it was a false alarm. As soon as I fell back to sleep it went off again. The night manager came to my room, but didn't want to step on my bed to see what was wrong. So I climbed up and undid the alarm. Water had leaked through the ceiling and was short circuiting the alarm. At 2 in the morning I had to pack up all my stuff and move to another room. The next morning the manager told me the alarm had gone off for my safety, and he refused to comp my room. Instead I had to settle for a 20% discount. I would have moved out, but there were no rooms available elsewhere. The second night - hoping for an early night- I fell asleep only to have the phone ring at 10:30 pm. The front desk told me it was "nothing," they were redoing their voice mail system. I'll never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Witsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Falmouth hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Was a bit worried when the night before arriving we saw the other reviews but hey we'd booked the most expensive room so could it be that bad........? Answer, yes in some areas it was that bad.
On checking in with our by now very heavy luggage (final night of our three week fly-drive, including shopping...) the receptionist announced that there wasn't an elevator and we were on the second floor. Fortunately she found someone to collect our cases if we brought them to the door but this would really be a problem for older or less agile people. Whilst waiting in the reception area we thought it was a bit..... erm........smelly?
Got to the suite which was ok but nowhere near as nice as the website suggests - just how old are those images on that website?! The rooms were extremely brown and dated.
We went out and had a lovely ice cream at Ben & Bill's (highly recommended) and a walk around Falmouth.
When we arrived back the reception area simply stank - it was an awful sewage smell - so we rushed upstairs trying not to breathe in the awful stench.
We'd been recommended to eat at the Coonamassett Inn (think that's it) so we changed and went out using the rear stairs; passing the vending machines near the rooms numbered low 100's the corridor air temperature must have been close to 100f it was stifling - even though the emergency exit door to the outside was propped open (security risk?) and I would not want to walk through there or stay in those rooms at all. In fact we'd never want to stay in this hotel again!

  • Liked — ..... location was ok. Otherwise leaving was good!
  • Disliked — Peeling wallpaper, brown decor and of course that sewage smell
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We stayed here 1 night in August. So many of what others say negatively is what we experienced. The manager did not respond. Now, the email address is no longer valid for the "inn"!! Stay away! Don't listen to the pollyannas!!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jcraigbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The hotel claims to be up to date and worth the price it charges for rooms. In fact, I stayed here twice this year, once in May and once in August. Both times the rooms were in very poor condition. There was an odor of mold throughout. The carpet was old and dirty (not vacuumed). The bathroom amenities were of poor quality. And the towels were worn and small.

During the August stay we were given a room in the Cottage. The bathtub took twenty minutes to drain. The toilet would not flush without holding the handle down throughout. And the front door entry boards were rotted and falling off.

That having been said, the staff was friendly and the complimentary breakfast was well done.

I have stayed at the Inn on the Square every year since 2004. I am afraid this will be the last time. The rooms really have deteriorated in condition to that extent.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rr2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Based on the hotel's website, one is led to believe this is a "luxury" property. There is absolutely nothing luxurious about this place. It is a glorified motel with Starbucks coffee in the rooms. The towels are the kind that wont get around your waist unless you have a 28" waist. And the toiletries aren't fancy European ones like they claim on the website. There was all kinds of mold in the ceiling of my bathroom. I can't believe they can get away charging $279 for this dump. I stayed in one of the "cottage" rooms which is separate from the main building. The door was mangled and did not close smoothly. When I complained to the desk clerk that the web site is misleading, she told me, "you should see some of the neighboring properties". Like that is relevant. A lady told me the Palmer House Bed & Breakfast around the block on Palmer Av is nice. Try that instead if you need to be in the area.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank breakaway4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2008

My colleagues were staying there and told me the hotel was full, but I managed to book a room via their wesite (a month in advance). When I arrived at 2 am I was told there had been "a problem with the pipes" and I was booked into another hotel (which turned out to be a foul motel called the Admiralty Inn - but that is a different review).

The next day, big suprise, one of my colleagues had had the exact same experience 2 weeks earlier. Apparently either the 'pipes' are bad in this hotel, or they routinely double book your room, and then lie to you once you turn up. I suspect the latter...

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappy_woe_is_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
22.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
18.6 mi away
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
978 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
634 reviews
18.0 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Property: Inn on the Square
Address: 40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2889
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Falmouth
Hotel On The Square
On The Square Falmouth
Inn On The Square Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing