We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location great service average rooms”
Review of Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn on the Square
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location great service average rooms”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located near the square in Falmouth. It is also near downtown Falmouth. It is also located near the bike trail. The trail is a great place to run, walk or bike. The route follows along the water. The people at the front desk are very helpful and nice. The room was very average. It could definitely use an update. Overall a 3 star hotel based upon the room.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RHQ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square. We appreciate your feedback.

Many of our guests comment that by booking directly on the hotel’s website they have access to the widest selection of available room types, packages, and promotions. In addition, our professional reservationists welcome the opportunity to assist you in determining the best offering to meet your needs. We very much appreciate the opportunity to take your call and help.

We hope that you were able to take advantage of the many hotel amenities available to all our guests including a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, free coffee and tea at the hotel, wireless internet through the hotel, and free parking.

We hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    194
    161
    65
    50
See reviews for
163
271
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in July/Aug 2014 which included my birthday - quickly noticed and commented on by a member od staff as we checked in.
We had a king room which was at the side on 2nd floor.
The room was quiet with a large bathroom.( The refrigerator was a bit noisy but we got used to that. Although the room was a little dark it was not an issue.
We had breakfast each day at Perseys which was delightful.
The position of the hotel is perfect, nicely away from the the "busier " part of town and yet an easy walk from all the main amenities.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.
I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We had 242 but I can't comment on the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 555Corvettebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at the Inn on the Square due to its location near Falmouth Center and its in-house restaurant, Persey's Place - one of my favorite breakfast spots. The staff was friendly, the room was spotless, and the price was reasonable for the Cape mid-season.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here a few years ago on a business trip to Cape Cod and found it adequate for the money and with a good location so we booked again for our trip this Summer. We were disappointed in the room we were in as it was tiny, dark, and just generally a little dated and musty. We were only staying for 3 nights and didn't spend much time actually in our room but there was really no way that we could have had a take out meal or anything in that small space. The walls were thin and you could hear other guests fairly well. With the price we paid, we were not impressed at all with the accommodations and will be looking for a different hotel for our next trip. I saw the hotel advertisement in a rest stop hotel coupon book for $59 per night. I paid more than 3 times that. Unless you get a great rate at this place, there's got to be a better place to stay.

Room Tip: The Carriage house rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square. We appreciate your feedback.

Many of our guests comment that by booking directly on the hotel’s website they have access to the widest selection of available room types, packages, and promotions. In addition, our professional reservationists welcome the opportunity to assist you in determining the best offering to meet your needs. We very much appreciate the opportunity to take your call and help.

We hope that you were able to take advantage of the many hotel amenities available to all our guests including a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, free coffee and tea at the hotel, wireless internet through the hotel, and free parking.

We hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Falmouth hotels

Dorking
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After a 4 hour drive to Falmouth we arrived at 3.30 and had hoped to be able to go to our room but check-in is at 4pm and our room was still not ready so we had to wander around the town for a while.
Inn on the Square is conveniently located for walking to the town for shops, restaurants and museums and particularly the cycle path with bike rental opposite.
The room was adequately clean and the bed very comfortable.The jacuzzi was welcomed after a 22 mile cycle! The 'fridge was also very handy but noisy.The pool was beautiful and breakfast at Persy's Place was overwhelming for choice and delicious!
As we were in the furthest room from reception area our internet access was not strong and intermittent.

This hotel is pleasant and recommended but slightly overpriced. We were originally going to stay on Saturday night but the price rocketed by $100 to $319 so we changed our plans.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square. We appreciate your feedback.

Issues sometimes arise that are out of our control which may cause a delay in checking in. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

We are very excited to have Persy’s Place as our restaurant at the Inn on the Square. Other hotel amenities include a newly refurbished swimming pool, a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, and wireless internet through the hotel. With the charm of a cottage and the amenities of a full-service hotel, we hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived late Thursday night and was leaving early for an am ferry to MV. We noticed in the morning that there was significant water damage in the ceilings accompanied by peeling paint. Moreover, the toilet was running and several spider webs. If we did not get in so late, close to midnight, and did not have to be on a 6 am ferry, I would have demanded another room.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ibrown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square. We appreciate your feedback.

We have strict standard operating procedures for housekeeping at our hotel and we regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at our property. Please let our front desk know if you are experiencing issues with your guest room so that the issues can be addressed immediately.

The hotel is in an ideal location, close proximity to the ferry to Martha’s Vineyard as well as downtown. Additionally, it is just a few blocks from Falmouth’s Main Street filled with shops and restaurants.

We hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmington
Level Contributor
258 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We specifically asked for a 2nd floor room due to reviews on this site about noise.
I did notice when arriving that a crying baby some room away could have easily kept us up all night. Thankfully she slept. Anyway,The room was clean, the tub could use some new grout. The amenities were fine, coffee maker, fridge, The beds were comfy- which is HUGE for me. The location is very good. The staff was polite and friendly. I think depending on what you pay, that is why some people get very upset. We didn't pay a huge sum- so all was well. Had we paid $300- I would not have been happy. It's a $100-$200 a night room imho.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Owner at Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Square. We appreciate your feedback.

We hope that you were able to take advantage of the many hotel amenities available to all our guests including a private courtyard and sundeck, a lobby business center, free coffee and tea at the hotel, wireless internet through the hotel, and free parking.

We hope that you will once again choose the Inn on the Square for your next Falmouth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
22.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
953 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
616 reviews
18.0 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Property: Inn on the Square
Address: 40 N Main St, Falmouth, MA 02540-2889
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Falmouth
Hotel On The Square
On The Square Falmouth
Inn On The Square Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing