We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Location, Hotel a Bit Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Foxboro
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Service and Location, Hotel a Bit Lacking”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Agree with other reviewers that for the price and brand, a bit more is expected than is delivered. I assume the upcharge is for the location - which is absolutely perfect if you are going to a Revolution or Patriot game. Walk to shopping, dining, game, and back. Perfect for that ...

Downsides: they do not guarantee room type (requested two queens, received one king - which is less than ideal for four!). No microwave or fridge in room, which is pretty much standard anymore. And the ultimate insult - charging for internet access... our surcharge was $15 for one night.

Overall, very friendly staff. Nice breakfast buffet (extra or include with room purchase). Very clean facility. If you are going to an event at Gillette Stadium and want to avoid the in/out congestion, I would still recommend it but understand the shortcomings in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for stadium view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaCC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Linda,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. While we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location and service, we're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with other aspects of your stay. The $15 internet access charge is a Renaissance brand standard; we apologize if it caught you off-guard. We value your business and appreciate your recommendation to fellow travelers. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to host your next visit to Foxborough.

Sincerely,
Norm Demers, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    149
    42
    17
    23
See reviews for
108
115
17
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
emsmom20
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband, daughter and I attended the first Patriots' home game of the 2014 season and stayed at the Renaissance that night to avoid the nightmare traffic after the game. We enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff were very pleasant and efficient; thank you Vinny. The valet parking charge is pricey ($50). Our room was very clean, except the carpeting in our room (508) could definitely use a shampooing. We were expecting some rowdy people and noise in the hotel after the game was over but that didn't happen. It was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. My daughter used the pool before breakfast and had it all to herself. Room prices are higher on game/concert nights but to us it was worth it; we didn't have all the stress of getting out of the stadium lots and the drive home. Staying at the Renaissance for a Pats game is the way to go!!

Green Features: There was a recycling container in the room for paper, plastic and glass. I wish more hotels would do this.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emsmom20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Being a Renaissance Hotel I just expected more. The valet was friendly, the front desk was quick and efficient on check in. Until I tried to confirm the room type, I was assigned a king room instead of the two bedded room I requested (of course I now see in the hotel confirmation a note saying they couldn't guarantee two beds because of a concert event), They assured me they would send up a roll-away, which they did. It was the flimsiest thing I ever saw, but it was another bed. We ordered more towels, room had one Bath towel when we checked in.The room was adequate nothing special, king bed, two chairs, desk and TV, everything was clean. The shower was large but has no door, just a glass panel and the floor floods easily during showering. I had booked a package that included dinner for 2 and breakfast, during check in they gave me a voucher for $50 towards dinner, and a letter for the free buffet breakfast. Decided to go to dinner early 4:30 pm, we had reviewed the menu at home and were excited to try some of the nice dishes they offer at 28. Upon arrival the restaurant had an hour wait for dinner, no problem we waited. When we were seated we were given a special menu, not the one they have online, This was an event night menu, which had none of the items from the regular menu. The event Menu only contained sandwiches, burgers, pizza, salad and couple appetizers. Not happy we had waited an hour for this, but we ordered anyway. When we mentioned our coupon, the waiter informed us they don't take coupons on event nights, I asked to see the manger who came over, he apologized and said normally they don't take them but he'd make an exception this time. So the front desk hands out dinner coupons which the restaurant doesn't take on event nights??? (nice policy) Well we should of just walked away then because the food was just as crappy as the service so far. The burgers came out in about 5 minutes and dried out precooked hockey pucks, and the pizza dough was raw in the center, the calamari app was OK, and the children's chicken fingers were just that chicken fingers. So our nice dinner turned into the same crappy food we could of got at the stadium next door. The next morning we went back for more, our free breakfast buffet was OK, the items were hot the omelettes were good but the fresh pancakes you order form the kitchen, were not even cooked, completely raw in the middle, the waitress took them back, we saw her show the manager who just shook his head and walked away. All in all the hotel is nice and the location to the stadium is perfect, But I would avoid the restaurant on an event night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
David,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback regarding your visit. We sincerely apologize that the package was indeed sold on the wrong night as event nights do employ special menus and we certainly did not meet your expectations or ours. We have shared your comments with our staff and addressed the issues mentioned. We hope you'll accept our apology and give us another opportunity to provide you with a 5-star stay.

Sincerely,
Norm Demers, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
414 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I suppose it's an excellent location if you're going to the stadium, but overpriced considering the level of the accommodation. The towels are few and thin, the bed linen rough, and the room was full of nicks and scratches. The staff wants to please but neglected a request for housekeeping. The Club is closed on the weekends, so having a Club room is worthless unless you're there during the week. The breakfast was fine with freshly made special orders and prompt service. But we had hoped to save the expense by using the Club. All in all, disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. While we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient Patriot Place location and our delicious breakfast offerings, we sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. Per Marriott standards, the club is closed on weekends; we apologize for the inconvenience this may have posed for you. We'll be sure to share your comments with our housekeeping team and use them as an opportunity to improve. I hope you'll visit us again and give us another chance to provide you with a 5-star stay.

Best,
Norm Demers, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed with family here for the night. Three people, one room. Asked for a rollaway bed and it was in the room when we checked in. However, there were no extra pillows for the third person and only two sets of towels. Rollaway bed was so uncomfortable and I could feel every spring (but what places have comfy rollaways anyway). Front desk competed us breakfast when asked about our stay and we were honest about the pillows and towels (honest, not really complaining). Had slight issue at breakfast buffet, was offered a comp breakfast again (broken utensil). Again, not complaining, just pointing it out. But hotel staff goes out of their way to make sure your stay was enjoyable, so an A+ for customer service. The breakfast buffet was just under $20 (more than what I've paid in other hotels) but definitely very very good! Hot items (sausage, eggs, bacon) were all in covered dishes with digital temperature displays (first time I've seen this in a hotel). Wifi is not free, but $10.95. Extremely quiet, never heard any other guests. Would definitely recommend. It is right in the complex for Gillette Stadium and also right next to the CVS in case you forgot any toiletries.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheodensQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was my first time to Patriot Place. The Hotel was awesome. Friendly staff and very accommodating. We walked to the stadium for a NE Revolution game and relaxed on the patio until the wee hours of the morning. Will most definitely return. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Ron,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us; we're happy to hear that you had an awesome first visit and that our convenient proximity to Gillette Stadium, accommodating staff, and relaxing patio earned us your recommendation and a return visit in the future. We value your business and look forward to hosting you again.

Best,
Norm Demers, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We cannot say enough good about this hotel. Upon entering, the building was gorgeous and staff was welcoming. The room was clean and spacious. The view was a football fan's dream come true! The pool was fantastic- very clean and we usually were the only ones there. To top it off, Amanda went above and beyond to acknowledge our daughter's first birthday; this gesture really was "above and beyond"!
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristin116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Cristin,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that our beautiful facility and accommodating staff made an impression on you and that we've earned your 5-star rating and a return visit in the future. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again.

Best,
Norm Demers, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foxboro
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Foxborough Patriot Place
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Boston Foxborough/Mansfield
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Foxboro
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Foxborough
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Mansfield-Foxboro Area
4.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#2 of 2 in Mansfield
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel

Property: Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel
Address: 28 Patriot Pl, Foxboro, MA 02035-1375 (Formerly Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel & Spa)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Foxboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Foxboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Premier Luxury Foxboro MA Hotel, Steps Away from Gillette Stadium Enjoy the engaging atmosphere that surrounds the only luxury Foxboro MA hotel. Centrally located less than thirty miles from both Boston and Providence, the Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel is a contemporary-style retreat with a sophisticated sense of design and comfort. Stay within yards of Gillette Stadium, the home of New England's three-time Super Bowl Champion football team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston Hotel And Spa At Patriot Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing