We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK...”
Review of La Carreta - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Carreta
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK...”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The food is just ok and so is the service. Very hit or miss. I like the chips and salsa and the sides were nice but the the meat was salty and tasted like tobasco sauce. Also the drinks were very expensive. The waiters can be very friendly at times but then other times very difficult to get service. Overall I would say this place is pretty average which is too bad because it could be great if the food was better quality.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
630 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“I'm not sure what to think...”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Corn tortillas certainly have the rustic texture of fresh, home made tortillas, which were nice. The ranchero sauce certainly is an interesting intetrpretation. Afaint hint of cinnamon? Or cardamom? Very faint, made for an interesting hint. But when your chef isn't available to let you in on the secret... Closed kitchen, so I don't know about their cleanliness. The restaurant feels klunky, a hard fit decore into the old, stinky, greasy former Bickfords... Eggs were overcooked, but edible. Totopos are crunchy and fresh. I'm not sure. It's not bad... Better than fast food...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Mexican restaurant in the Boston area”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

While La Carreta is a small chain, the food here is just spectacular. It's not a fancy restaurant by any means, and the location itself is very pedestrian. Still, it offers something unique: Authentic Mexican food. That alone is a rarity in the northeast in general and Boston in particular. Food with real zest, flavor and texture. The mixiotes and enchiladas mole poblano are spectacular.

Service can be a bit slow and dishes will take time to arrive no matter how many people are at the restaurant. This is a challenge with little kids. Still, well worth the wait. Especially if you're like me and you miss the flavors of the southwest.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pace_ripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top Mexican in MetroWest and beyond”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

La Carreta was recommended by a real 'foodie', and the experience was as good as he promised. The menu is extensive, and the food skillfuly prepared and beautifully presented. It's a refreshing change from the standard 'chain' type of Mexican restaurant., with some creative combinations that really work! Ingredients are fresh, and not overdone. My dinner included fresh asparagus, and a light touch of cheese which added flavor and texture but not so much that it weighed it down. Everyone in my group enjoyed their dinner tremendously. A huge, dense, and flavorful slice of chocolate cake served as dessert for the whole table. In general, portions are very generous; although some of the entrees may be on the slightly higher priced side ($17), there was enough left over for a second meal. The serving staff were attentive but not intrusive. If you are at all hesitant to try La Carreta because the building being the former home of Bickford's, you will be rewarded by trying it out in its new incarnation.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Mexican food!!! This should be a top 10 in Framingham”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Our last place on our business trip to Framingham/Natick. We were looking for authentic mexican and we found it (thanks to the helpful regular visitors at our hotel)! I would go back just for the free nachos and homemade salsa while you wait for your entree. Drink and entree prices are very reasonable! Food came out very fast!!! I will miss this place...

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crassbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing