We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food and poor service”
Review of La Carreta - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Carreta
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food and poor service”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was an extension of a place in NH. There was nothing to rave home about. The killer was the poor, uninterested service staff that seemed to be going through the motions. No wonder it didn't last.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZeusFonsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“I want to like it more...”
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

I've been here 3 times hoping it will magically get better each time but it just doesn't. So underwhelming. I remember the Nashua location being good? Dont order the black bean dip, it's horrible. The burrito is decent and the chips and salsa are nice but the service takes away that positive. Go elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, MA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“La Carreta will be missed!”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

La Caretta Mexican Restaurant is now Blue Agave. It apparently has just changed hands/management, as the La Caretta sign is still up, but there's a banner at the entrance showing the new name. Some of the nice touches established by La Caretta are still there. For example, guacamole is still made at your tableside. The menu and pricing is different. More "Americanized" and prices are higher. We weren't in the mood for a full dinner so we opted to just have a drink and some nachos. Cheapest margarita is $9. Nachos were $11.95 & $12.95 (about $3 more than their predecessor). Overall, we weren't impressed. Refried beans were pretty much just a smear on the plate, with the chips on top. Cheese and ground beef were scattered throughout. Small glop of guacamole & a bit of sour cream were in the middle. A few sliced jalapeños and that was it. Add a draft Dos Equis, a glass of water... oh... and a $1 charge for that extra sour cream and it was a $25 experience (with tip). Prices overall for the entrees seemed high for what it is. Staff is extremely welcoming, friendly & helpful, but I don't think that's going to be enough to carry it. Guess it's back to The Aztec on Waverly when we want good, authentic Mexican food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank periphery10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The best part of our experience was the fresh guacomole prepared at our table to our liking, other than that, pretty average for mexican food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacksonRandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, MA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“That's more like it!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I've been to the competitor down the street and always left thinking "I can't believe i paid that much for that food." La Carreta is a few blocks further from the mall and the highway and good thing, or it would be jam packed all the time. If you are the type for whom an extra exertion for something better is simply out of the question, go back to the Cheesecake/Chili's/Friday's/Applebee's/Ruby Whatever that's closer to you. La Carreta makes a real margarita (with real tequila), has the best authentic tacos I've had this side of El Paso, the place is clean and bright, and the staff is fantastic. And yes, they speak Spanish because they're from Central America. They know what good food is and they deliver. Fresh, dynamic flavors that will change your assumptions -- menu is approachable but not stereotypical. A hidden gem. Try it. You'll like it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mikey013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Carreta also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing