We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend away”
Review of Colonial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardner
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice weekend away”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Needed a little get-a-way with my boyfriend. We don't live too far, a couple hours but it was the perfect choice. It's not far from local highways and many local amenities but enough out of the way to enjoy ourselves.
The lobby was beautiful decorated fro Christmas ( a personal favorite) it was classy, homey, comfortable and friendly. The staff was friendly without being over-bearing. Hospitable and courteous. Always willing to help out. The room was clean, and nice. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of space to relax. The heating/air was a little difficult to control but I appreciated the motion detected regulation while we were out during the day. The pool and Jacuzzi were a great addition and a nice way to relax.
We visited the restaurant one night for dinner which was excellent. The wait staff was very attentive. The food was Delicious and portions were grand. Perhaps a little too many spices in most of the food but it was a minor flaw, we left very full, satisfied and with yummy left-overs. Complementary breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've ever experienced. The food was pipping hot and delicious. A nice selection, wait staff again was wonderful.

It was just what we needed, The area we lovely and easy enough to roam around. The staff was great and trust worthy.

I would recommend to anyone. There were several functions that looked beautifully done (even from afar)

I will definitely be back, Thanks!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are still private with sunlight due to bushes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sskavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    55
    40
    18
    19
See reviews for
70
52
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Our room was ok furniture was way oversized and bed was uncomfortable. It was clear they had attempted to do some patchwork to the ceiling and around the shower not well done. My fiance and I went to dinner at the resturant friday night service was good but food was jusy ok ...menu is big which should tell you they dont specialize in anything they just do everything so so. Went to breakfast on saturday which was not included in our stay and we were charged $9.95 for disgusting cold food not even close to proper food temperatures for a buffet (needs to be at least 165 degrees to prevent food bourne illnesses). Dont even get me started on the wait staff chillin at a table chatting the whole time we were there. If you are looking to go away somewhere find somewhere else this way a complete waste of time very disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammib3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gardner hotels

Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The staff is attentive and plentiful to ensure your meeting runs smoothly. Every need was accommodated quickly and professionally. The restaurant and bar area are a great gathering place. This looks like a wonderful place for a large event and I found it really good for our meeting of about 40 people. The rooms are older but clean. Could use a few more outlets that are convenient for business travelers but adequate for a couple of nights. Internet was spotty.

Room Tip: If you can, get a suite. There is a big difference between a regular room and a suite so don't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Myself and 2 associates had business in the immediate area, and were referred by the company, that has a negotiated rate of $75 per night, which does include breakfast. We arrived a bit late, and left first thing in the morning, so my review is based on a limited scope. The room was descent size, with older, but maintained, ammennaties. The bedspread and pillow shams were in need of replacement, but were clean.The hotel is well maintained, and has a full restaurant/bar on site. Kitchen closes at 10 PM. We made it in with 9 minutes to spare. Good Philly cheese-steak. Lots of local beers on tap.

If I am back in the area doing business, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCarr_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syracuse, new york
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights as we were attending a weekend wedding. We never had to leave the property. The restaurant and bar were great. Food was fabulous and the service was terrific!
The rooms were lovely.
I highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Unlike the last contributor (also from the UK), we were travelling East towards Boston and looking hard for a hotel in which to spend the night. Having just had three nights in different, overpriced, hotels it was a delight to find the Colonial. We stayed just the one night but ate dinner there and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, including the friendly hospitality of the staff. A hotel to recommend, in my view.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel fitted our needs perfectly, travelling from UK we needed somewhere on our route west to arrive, eat and sleep. We chose this hotel because it had a restaurant. The hotel has very nice public area, good comfortable quiet rooms and a great bar/restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mart166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardner
9.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Leominster
17.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Devens Common
17.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Devens Common Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardner
Super 8 Gardner
#2 of 2 in Gardner
275 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Westminster
Rodeway Inn Westminster
#1 of 1 in Westminster
68 reviews
5.0 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge New England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Hotel

Property: Colonial Hotel
Address: 625 Betty Spring Rd, Gardner, MA 01440-2400
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Gardner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Gardner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing