We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bring a group here!!!!!!”
Review of Colonial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardner
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Traveled to area for a hockey tournament with my son's team (8-9 year olds). The hotel imposed rules that apparently don't apply to everyone. We are told we can't have coolers, but other guests were not subject to the same rules; walked cooler right by the desk clerk with nothing said, yet others in our group were told to take them back to their car. We take entire team to the restaurant/pub for food and to watch a hockey Stanley Cup game (not much else around in the way of restaurantsin the area). Barely finished eating and we are told the kids have to leave because it's a bar. Applebees is a bar by that standard and I have never been told I could stay, but my 9 year old had to leave. I could go on, but the place is stuffy - don't bring families with kids!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockeydad3126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2010

The hotel looks nice and elegant enough, but their beds are like rocks. You think with all the dough you drop to get a room there, you would get something a little better than a Super 8 experience. The only positive thing is that is has an outstanding restaurant. You pay an arm and a leg to eat there, but it is really good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj_lapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

what a great stay!!! DO NOT believe the other reviews this hotel is clean, modern and beautiful.The staff is the best, and we are world travelers. This was a quick weekend escape, but the price was great, food was 4 star and pub was great with live band. It is a drive to see some sites but to relax ,swim and enjoy the beauty it is the place to go. We can't wait to go back. Josh,Meghan and Victoria are such an asset they made a great stay even better.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meadowmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

So many things to say...so little space. The hotel hasn't been updated since the 70's. All services must be requested except room serv.(cleaning) The food is straight out of Alice's diner,( I'm sure they make better food) of course when they open which is 3pm!(they close at 11. When you ask the kitchen for request it can't be done(No bagels,lox in america!! it's 2010 people!) Well how about an english muffin? Nope. Some of the staff acts as if you should be serving them. Did they actually train in the service industry?! Well considering this place is in a hick town this is to be expected. Another review said there was no other choice...I say travel for it. P.S. Wedding here??! not likely

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -Sorrynotready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Just wanted to say what a wonderful wedding My fiance and I had at the Colonial. Our Wedding was so PERFECT. there is not one thing i would want to change. From the moment we entered the colonial to the moment we left the next morning our every need and want was taken care of. the staff and the overall customer service at this hotel is top notch. Our wedding was such a success..truly a wedding of a lifetime. We also had a lot of out of state relatives fly in for our wedding who were able to enjoy the Colonial Hotel for quite a few days before the wedidng. All of our guests were very impresed with our wedidng venue. The rooms are equipped with everything you need and more. They were very clean and comfrotable. if you are looking to plan your wedding in Massachusetts please do yourself a favor and take a look at the Colonial. Or, if you are just trying to plan a getaway to enjoy yourself and have a relaxing time...go to the colonial! Thanks again to all of the wonderful staff (especially Mary and Lindsay and the front desk staff)! We look forward to spending more time at the hotel in the future.

Robert & Brittany Newton

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wed0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Having read previous reviews, I made my reservation at this hotel with trepidation. After arriving and checking in, my concern quickly evaporated. The staff was remarkably helpful, friendly and efficient. The room was clean, satisfactorily appointed and everything functioned as expected - which is always welcomed when traveling and arriving at your hotel late and exhausted. Breakfast was excellent - plenty of options, fresh and delicious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KineticTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We were hesitant to book at the Colonial Hotel after reading some negative reviews. But we found the Hotel to be in lovely condition, with newly renovated rooms and baths, and comfortable beds.

We enjoyed a Valentines Day special. The dinner was very good and the brunch was good as well. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the the indoor pool and whirlpool, as there were no pictures of them online.

We have stayed at hotels all around the world, and we enjoyed our stay at the Colonial and would come again, especially to stay in one of their suites.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardner
9.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Leominster
17.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Devens Common
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Worcester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Worcester Downtown
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Gardner
Super 8 Gardner
#2 of 2 in Gardner
297 reviews
4.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge New England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Hotel

Address: 625 Betty Spring Rd, Gardner, MA 01440-2400
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Gardner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gardner
Price Range: £98 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Gardner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing