We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful evening of theatre - The Rainmaker by N. Richard Nash”

Gloucester Stage Company
Ranked #26 of 53 things to do in Gloucester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gloucester Stage Company's mission is to present the highest quality professional theatrical productions while contributing to the cultural, economic and educational development of Cape Ann. Open seasonally. Please check our website for current season lineup, seasonal box office hours and to buy tickets.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful evening of theatre - The Rainmaker by N. Richard Nash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We went to a reading of a play The Rainmaker written by N. Richard Nash and performed in honour of his 100th Birthday. His daughter Amanda spoke after about his work and his life and what it was like growing up in a theatrical household. It was my daughter's first experience seeing a play read in such a initimate setting, having been used to large scale commercial productions. We thoroughly enjoyed it and hope to make it a stop on our next holiday to the North Shore!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irishrover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
250 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Great Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

For the past few years my husband and I have been season ticket holders at Gloucester stage. It is a great little theater with not a bad seat in the house. Actually in many of the seats you feel as though you are on stage. The actors are very professional and the sets are amazing. Everyone who works there is very warm and friendly. Over the years we have seen the plays get better every year. This past season was one of the very best. We loved the four plays that we saw and were sad to see the season end. However we are looking forward to all the wonderful plans for renovations. The theater will keep it's intimate seating while adding a balcony and more comfort for the audience. There are also plans for a restaurant on the back of the building with a beautiful water view. Just as Shalin Liu music center is the gem of Rockport so to will Gloucester Stage be the gem of Gloucester! We are so lucky to have these two wonderful venues on Cape Ann!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loud - not.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The show " Crimes of the Heart" was very good. The acting and stage setting was very professional.
My only problem was hearing the dialogue. I was seated to the side - the theatre is U shaped - and often the actors had their back to me. It was very hard to hear. I don't think they were miked.
A sign in the lobby offered headsets for the hearing impaired. Maybe I should have tried that.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must experience to see live performances”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Charming venue for live performances. Saw three plays here. You have to experience this place while in Gloucester

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank padingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattersonville, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Summer Theater at It's Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

While in Gloucester for a few days, we decided to spend an evening at the Gloucester Stage Company. The play being performed was Alan Ayckbourn's "Round and Round the Garden." We've always enjoyed theater in NYC and at home.....but we had no idea what a treat we were in for.

The cast included Sarah Newhouse, Barlow Adamson, Steven Barkhimer, Richard Snee, Lindsay Crouse and Adrianne Krstansky. If you are a theater-goer, or watch TV, you would be familiar with all of them.

Their performances were marvelous and it was the funniest play I've seen in years. We laughed from the time the play started to the very closing curtain. It was one of the best evenings we spent in Gloucester!

And it's not only the cast that were excellent. The staff of the theater were warm and welcoming and extremely knowledgeable about the theater, it's history and it's future plans. We wish them all the luck in their renovating plans for the future. When they are finished, they will be the "gem" of Gloucester.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2945Nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gloucester Stage Company also viewed

 

Been to Gloucester Stage Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing