We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauport, the Sleeper-McCann House”

Beauport, the Sleeper-McCann House
Ranked #5 of 53 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also called the Beauport Sleeper-McCann House, this fantasy mansion of more than 40 rooms is perched on the rocks overlooking Gloucester Harbor.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beauport, the Sleeper-McCann House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This house is spectacular. Each room, is a visual delight for the viewer. My jaded partner, was quite impressed here. My, 96 y.o. Mum, swooned. Do not miss this one, if you love art, antiques, design, details and colors.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    18
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“History frozen in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I were visiting the Gloucester area this past week and had the occasion to walk past this home when it was closed. We took note of the opening hours and returned to take in this wonderful home. The history behind it is very interesting and won't spoil it for those planning on going but you'll enjoy every moment of your visit. The grounds, especially this time of the year, are fantastic with most all the flowers in bloom. They have hourly tours which are fascinating and very well done. The grounds are compact but wonderfully laid out especially overlooking the bay. Go on a sunny day if possible, it makes the whole home just shine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 299PFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A step back in time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I live in Gloucester and was astounded at what I've been missing. A treasure right in my backyard. Loved it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnN59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One in a million homes - a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The ocean setting, grounds and the well kept interior is tended with TLC. A beautiful area in Gloucester with many private homes but a public road with plenty of parking across from Beauport. One of the most interesting sites in Gloucester. Don't miss it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank WingearsheekBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

My son and I stopped here by chance and had a great time touring the house and property. It is a unique place with some beautiful rooms and views. You will never see another place like it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Traveling2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beauport, the Sleeper-McCann House also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Beauport, the Sleeper-McCann House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing