We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beacon in the dead of winter”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Shutters Beachside Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beacon in the dead of winter”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A great property is one that sticks by you through thick and thin. I have been blessed to have found the Blues Shutters Beach House as my official home away from home when I am in Gloucester for business. In the dead of winter, when many places are boarded up or open selective hours, Ed, the hospitable innkeeper, has the fire going, light on and amenities I long for after a day at work. He has made a great effort to get to know me and even packs me a breakfast to take to work if I am in a rush. While the inn is the ideal place to be in the summer, (Location, Location, Location…) it is the quite evenings and coffee and conversation mornings in the comfortable living room I will take away with me. Well worth the trip!

Room Tip: Splurge on the ocean views. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighcarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    21
    6
    4
    11
See reviews for
39
49
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Located on a quiet side street in Gloucester MA, faces east to enjoy a sunrise or moonrise. Very nice staff and lots to do in Gloucester! Great seafood restaurants and the cruise of harbor looks like fun!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhtraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We just returned from our wonderful getaway up in Gloucester. We had a gift certificate for this beautiful Blue Shutters and decided to use it for my husband's birthday during the off-season. It was very cold, snowing and the wind really blowing when we arrived. We were warmly greeted by our hosts Ed and Ann Marie, Patty and Tony...actually as we started up the walkway Ed and Tony came out to shovel the stairs for us...it was drifting at that point! Ed gave us a nice tour of the Inn and I have to say that I would stay in any of their lovely rooms. It was so relaxing sitting on the couch looking out at Good Harbor Beach with the snow frantically swirling around.,,we were very happy to be inside cozy and warm having an interesting conversation with Ed. We enjoyed a wonderful seafood dinner down by the port five minutes away. Our hosts couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating...they are filled with knowledge and the history of the Gloucester area which they are happy to share. We can't wait to return in the warmer weather to enjoy Good Harbor Beach. Highly recommended...even in a February snowstorm!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The view of Good Harbor Beach is unbeatable, and to get to the beach you literally just walk across the street. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful. Coffee is available anytime and they put out a very nice continental breakfast. We were in the Fireside room which was spacious and well-supplied with a sofabed, frig and microwave. It's a bit dated but the view out the window more than made up for it. The fireplace in the room is not a working fireplace which was disappointing but they do have a fire going in the main room. All in all, it's a great place to stay with great off-season rates. If you are a beach lover, it's the best in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gracehappens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is our 3rd time in Gloucester and our 1st time in staying at the Blue Shutters. We loved the place with its friendly home-style feel and close to the beach locality. From the great view in our 2nd floor room to the close proximity of restaurants, shopping and beach all within walking distance, we can't say enough good about this place. Our happy experience begins with meeting our host, Ed, who recommended many dinner places and even called ahead for us letting them know we were to arrive. We stayed 3 nights and every night was enjoyable and far exceeded our expectations. Last day the weather was nice enough to wake up and take a walk during sun rise, it was lovely and so memorable. Ed was helpful in giving us advise for whatever we wanted to do or go to in Gloucester. Enjoyed friendly conversations with the people we met there. Meal at AM was basic. The view is unsurpassed. We stayed in the Nautilus room and was very comfortable and quaint. Had all that we needed. Will come again and again and again! Thanks for a very special vacation, one we will never forget.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor, king size bed and very comfortable, with 2 windows, small kitchen too. It was th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjandbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed for a weekend to attend a wedding just down the road at the Elks Club. It's a friendly homely establishment and we were made to feel very welcome. We had the Lookout room which was ok for us as we were out most of the time. This room has no wardrobe to hang anything up, nor any hangers to use on the hat stand. It has a microwave and fridge but no cup/mug or anything else like a plate/knife etc. There are no tea/coffee making facilities but I was offered a tea bag when I asked if I might have a coffee when we returned on the Friday evening and the hosts were still up. Coffee was not an option but I was grateful for the tea bag. Lookout room is a tightly spaced room with a sloping ceiling. My husband and I are only 5ft 3" and not grossly overweight but even we banged our heads on the ceiling above the toilet and there is little space on one side of the very soft bed to get passed the window A/C unit. Only one side of the bed can accommodate a table with lamp it is that tight. Breakfast is continental and akin to a Best Western without the hot offerings or waffles. The pastries were nice and the coffee was good, all on disposable plates/cups, but it was served til 10 am which was good. There is only one table to sit at, so if you are not a sociable morning person this could be difficult.

There is no elevator and the stairs to the third floor are quite narrow and spiral. My husband had to carry the suitcase up in his arms to get round the corner.

The views are stunning and the owners are very friendly, we weren't there to take in the beach etc and whilst we were able to walk to the wedding venue and back again, for the money spent I wished we had stayed in Rockport and felt a bit more pampered.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms seemed larger and still had sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAuktripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

When we arrived at the Blue Shutter Inn, we were immediately stuck by the beauty of the location, and the warmth & friendliness of the owners. After settling into our room, we asked the owners for some suggestions about where to eat - they not only took the time to give us great recommendations for places to eat around the cape, but actually offered us beer from the Cape Anne Brewing Company! They really made us feel at home, and gave us some wonderful suggestions. The beach across from the inn is just beautiful - my husband and I loved drinking our coffee in the front yard each morning, taking in the lovely view of the beach and ocean. It should be mentioned that our room had its quirks, such as a very tiny bathroom, but the view made up for that.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0101TravelBug0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
0.3 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Shutters Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Shutters Beachside Inn

Property: Blue Shutters Beachside Inn
Address: 1 Nautilus Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-3202
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Good Harbor Beach (#1 Beach in New England 2012). Minutes to downtown Gloucester (America's Oldest Fishing Port) and Rockport. Close to Cape Ann's 20+ restaurants and dozens of shops and galleries, as well as the Rocky Neck Art Colony (America's oldest and continuous operating art colony). Just 55 minutes by car or commuter rail to Boston and less than 2 hours drive from other New England destinations. We're one of the most popular spots on "the island you can drive to" (our section of Gloucester is separated from the Massachusetts mainland by the Annisquam River). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Shutters Beachside Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing