We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Shutters Beachside Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The innkeepers were charming and so accommodating. From the room's decor to to lovely view of sunrise every day -- from our room or the living room -- this was an enchanting place to stay on the coast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a wonderful spot, right across from the beach. Room was comfortable and had everything you would need. Hosts made you feel like family and were attentive and helpful. Inn is funky chic and just what you would want for a beachside B&B; comfortable, welcoming and quiet. Wish I could have stayed longer. I was there for work and they had a small business center which had everything I needed. Made being away from home feel like a vacation!

Room Tip: I loved my room where I could see the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kokiaabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

All the rooms in Blue Shutters face Good Harbor Beach. The sunrises are the best we've ever seen! We had 3 glorious warm sunny days in "off-season" early May. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was lovely: hard boiled eggs, granola, cinnamon toast, poppy seed cake - certainly much better than poorly prepared omelets we've had elsewhere! Ed, Ann Marie, Tony and Patty treated us like old friends! The other guests were congenial and interesting to chat with. We found many places to hike on Cape Ann - Plum Island, Ravenswood (Trustees property in Magnolia), the light house at the end of the private road, Halibut Point (look for the Atlantic Path that goes along the shore amongst a blueberry heath). And, of course, Good Harbor Beach and the walk to the island at low tide (and run back as the tide comes in). The views are among the best on the Atlantic. WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: If you don't like amazing sunrises, ask if there is a room on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEThiker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

First of all I have to say that both the owner and the manager of this B&B went out of their way to do whatever they could to make my stay more comfortable. This included a free upgrade to a better room. The reason I needed this was that the room I was in was both next to and underneath people who were very noisy, in a place where the walls are very thin and noise travels easily. Fortunately for me, the room I ended up in had no one above it that weekend. The beds are comfortable, linens only average, breakfast food below average (supermarket quality pastries). The place was very clean. The other thing that bothered me was that the room I stayed in had a door that would not stay closed unless you manually lifted it up so that the lock would engage - not everyone would be capable of doing this, and it's a real fire hazard to have a door like that. The building is old, and definitely in need of upgrades. I would only recommend staying on the top floor, unless noise does not bother you. Also, the Captains Mate room has a "door" which is mostly glass, and there is no way to get rid of the light coming in from the hallway (existing curtain does not cut down on this light much).

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor only, or specify a room with no room above it. Floors are incredibly squeaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jah1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The location of this b&b can't be beat! Beautiful views of the ocean. For those who are runners - great running available right up the coast (ask Ed he will tell you how far/where to go!). The common area was decorated for Christmas and very inviting. The room was spacious and clean. The host (Ed) wanted nothing more than to make us feel at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johannaroxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great hosts make a lovely town even better. Always ready to help with dinner suggestions, marshmallows for s'mores, and the best view to wake up to. Can't wait to be back again. Thank you Tony, Ed, and families.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Mob3770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in the room Twin Lights which has great views of the ocean. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable.

The B&B sits right at the end of Good Harbor Beach, where we spent a couple of afternoons. It's also located in a great place for going for a run or walk along the coast. I highly recommend getting on the beach for sunrise.

The hosts were great and invited us to join them and other guests one night for drinks and some impromptu live music.

It was very peaceful eating breakfast on the deck chairs in the front garden watching the sun rise over the ocean. Will be returning again next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
0.8 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
552 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Shutters Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Shutters Beachside Inn

Address: 1 Nautilus Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-3202
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range: £58 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Good Harbor Beach (#1 Beach in New England 2012). Minutes to downtown Gloucester (America's Oldest Fishing Port) and Rockport. Close to Cape Ann's 20+ restaurants and dozens of shops and galleries, as well as the Rocky Neck Art Colony (America's oldest and continuous operating art colony). Just 55 minutes by car or commuter rail to Boston and less than 2 hours drive from other New England destinations. We're one of the most popular spots on "the island you can drive to" (our section of Gloucester is separated from the Massachusetts mainland by the Annisquam River). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Shutters Beachside Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing