We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”
Review of Cape Ann Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Ann Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
ct
1 review
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We have been going to the Rockport area for many years and we have stayed at many locations some good some not so good. However we have always known we can always count on the best year round accomodations at Cape Ann Motor Inn. The staff and facilities are always on point and make our stay the best it can be. THE FARNHAM's

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAMFARNAHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    72
    29
    12
    33
See reviews for
75
85
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ManhattanNewYork
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Leave the fabulous clothes at home! Come prepared to look at the ocean, walk on the beach and hear the waves 24 hours a day. This is the perfect place to let it all go.
My dog and I escape from the fabulousness of Manhattan and run to this sanctuary on the beach at least once a year.
If I want fancy, fussing, I stay at other places.
This is the perfect place to get away from it all and spend quiet simple time on the beach.

  • Liked — the location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Manhattan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2007

My husband and I booked a double room here in May and actually ended up leaving to drive home that night--without sleeping there. Yes, the location's lovely, but that doesn't justify the extreme cheapness of actually expecting guests to stay in a room that's below anyone's normal standards--and we're not fussy travelers. I agree with the reviewer who spoke about the thin blanket, the tiny bed, the pleather couch, the broken screen door, the general air of decrepid gloom about the room. So gloomy that we just couldn't face back there after going out for a walk. We did call down the desk to see if there was anything else, but no ... Please. It's a joke --though a costly one--when motel owners want to make their money without spending anything to update a place or make it even marginally pleasant or welcoming. Save your money. Book yourself into a homeless shelter. It would have a higher sense of guest-respect and cheer.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank AineG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southampton, Ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Have been a guest at Cape ann Motor Inn over past 30 years..
Was last there on mothers day weekend last.
Decor is same last 30 years..same blanket I believe that we had 30 years ago as xtra still the same!!!!!! Unbelievably threadbare & ragged!
Exact same bedspread/ print on the wall.......only thing to redeam this place is the location!!
Only reason to recommend is a sentimentel one....
you could see through the threadbare towels for goodness sake!!
PLEASE REDECORATE AND GET NEW LINENS!!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank mayet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2006

We stayed at the Cape Ann Motor Inn for just two nights during a tour of New England. We had just stayed in a horrible hotel in Boston and, to be honest, I wasn't expecting a lot, however, we were pleasantly surprised.

We had booked a kitchenette room which, for the money, was great value. It had everything you would need and was spacious and clean. The kitchen was very well stocked, so much so, we ate in for the duration of our stay - who would want to go out when you had the view that we had of Long Beach! It was spectacular and so peaceful to watch the waves and surfers.

Yes, the rooms are a little old fashioned and maybe could do with some updating but even taking that into account, the Motor Inn was definately the best place to stay in the area.

The owners had stocked the room (and reception) with information on the area and you are even given discounts at some of the whale watch companies just for staying there. We chose Captain Bill for our whale watch and it was fantastic! We were only 7 miles off the coast and saw so many whales I lost count!

Our only regret is that we didn't join in with the coffee and donuts in the morning - everyone seemed so friendly and helpful - but being British, we had decided to cook our own 'Full English' in our room.

All in all our stay at the Motor Inn was very pleasant and relaxing. If we ever visit this part of New England again, we will definately stay here.

  • Liked — The spectacular view
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2006

After staying at Cape Ann Motor Inn for a week recently, I am just so thankful for the opportunity. This was one of the most REAL vacations I have had. Our room with a kitchenette was relaxing, adequate, and affordable. Nothing fancy here, just real and we loved it. (If you are an early riser and/or coffee drinker, you may want to take your own coffee pot and toaster for use until the lobby opens with drinks and yummy donuts.)
Wrapping in a blanket to sit on the porch and watch the sun rise, with the seagulls, the brave surfers in wetsuits and an early fisherman, was food for the soul!
The view was so gorgeous and the waves so awesome that I barely read the books I has brought. We walked our beach (Long Beach) and neighboring beaches enjoying the happy dogs that are permitted on beaches after mid-September. True joy for them and their masters!
Brad Pierce and staff were friendly and helpful, but never intrusive. Bert (Roberta) the 25 year old parrot in the lobby was a real treat. What fun! All of the travel info you need is available in the lobby, along with free internet access, which made weather watching and reservations easy.
The 7 Seas Whale Watching cruise was a true highlight of our trip. We saw at least 25 humpback whales feeding! Day trips included Rockport, Gloucester, Salem and Concord. It would take many trips to do all that we wanted, but it was best to slow down and enjoy the peace and serenity at Cape Ann Motor Inn.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank WVCharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2006

We stayed here for a "girls" weekend. There is a nice view of the ocean as their site describes. The beach is directly in front of the sliding glass window. We stayed in a room with a kitchenette. We cooked breakfast for ourselves one morning. It was well equipped but had no toaster (we used broiler) or coffeemaker, or pitcher. We realize they serve coffee in lobby but it would be nice to make your own. These appliances cost little today so we felt they should be included. I mention this because if you planned to stay for the summer you would want to bring your own. We also watched DVDs on my portable but you'll need an RF Converter, as there is only one output through coaxial. The room was clean. The bathroom was worn out but the shower was hot and full of pressure. There was a table to eat at. The rug was stained and it is of the indoor-outdoor type but we can imagine this allows for easy sand cleanup. The deck attached to the sliding glass door was not private as it is just a walkway, not balcony like.... except for the honeymoon suite. There was plenty of heat. The people at the front desk were very nice eager to give directions, recommendations for dinner and the like. There is a computer for high-speed internet use. There also is a small gift shop and a friendly parrot for entertainment. It served our purpose.

For those who are wondering where to eat our favorite restaurant and perhaps yours too, McT's is closed. We did eat at the Causeway, turn right immediately after the Fisherman and green bridge and it is on the left next to the liquor store. That is handy, as they don't serve alcohol. The food was good, reasonable, and service fast. We also enjoyed The Chowder House in Rockport. If you like silver and gems do go to shop in the many shops in this quaint village.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank homec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
215 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Ann Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Ann Motor Inn

Property: Cape Ann Motor Inn
Address: 33 Rockport Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-1917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Ann Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Ann Motor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing