We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even the Wife was Unhappy”
Review of Cape Ann Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Ann Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Even the Wife was Unhappy”
Reviewed 25 June 2008

After reading reviews and such I was prepared for the typical motel room and sandy floors and even sand in the bed. My wife is always fine with the rustic places, while I like clean and updated decent rooms. Cape Ann needs to spend $5k on each room and update them and charge people $25 more per night. It is rather pathetic that the owners choose not to spend money on capital improvements on this motel which is in a great lil' private nook tucked away...Shame on them.

The rooms are very outdated and obviously need to be repaired. The vinyl Sofa was hard as a rock. The board in between the mattress was a nice touch. COME ON, if it's bad enough that you have to place a board in there, REPLACE the bed. Loved the felt like blanket which was about as thin as fabric at Joannne Fabric shoppes. THe holes in the blanket were either from wear and tear or bedbugs. HOLES in blanket=NEW BLANKET please.

So grab a glass of water from the efficiency kitchen area (Iv'e seen welfare apt. have better kitchen areas) and YUK, the glasses were FILThY, not dirty but FILTHY! turned my stomach.

THh major patchworks through the ceiling was a great sight to see too. Obviously it's old because you could hear the guy above us trouncing all around.

Cape Ann is a great place to be on the beach, location is tucked away and somewhat private. Some motel staff were nice, but one lady needs a review class of customer service. I would not reccomend this place to anyone, even if they wanted to be on the beach. Again I find it pathetic the owners choose greed over capital improvements of this motel. THey have a gem of a location but seem to care less if it gets washed away into the ocean.

  • Liked — location on beach
  • Disliked — Terrible uncomfortable rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank professorkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    71
    28
    11
    33
See reviews for
71
84
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Glens Falls, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

The Cape Ann was just what we wanted an inexpensive place on the water. We were only there for one night but the location on the beach was great.

We had a small kitchen and a double bed. There was a table and sliding doors that opened onto a balconey overlooking the beach. The furnishings and decor are a little dated but the overall cleanliness was good. The dishes/glassware in the cupboard were dirty however we were not using the kitchen facilities anyway.

There was noise at night from people running on the balcony as it is all connected from room to room.

We tried to book another stay but they were full already.

Breakfast was juice, coffee, and packaged danishes. There may have been other things but I did not see them.

  • Liked — Location/price
  • Disliked — noise/ unable to rebook
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cruisemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

We just returned from CAMI after a weeks stay with our dog. I was a little leary after reading some of the reviews here but was told by a friend at work who recommended it to 'just go'. Another friend of mine had gone in September and said the same thing.
I must say we found this to be one of the most relaxing weeks we've ever spent. As mentioned previously, the view and ocean sounds right from the balcony is memorizing. The room was fine. We had a kitchenette that was well stocked and everything worked. It was clean which was our biggest concern. We had planned several day trips to places around Cape Ann but never made it. Honestly found no need to venture much farther than our balcony or the beach. I did not have need to speak with the owner or staff much but found them to be cordial when I did. The housekeeping staff was very responsive and as far as I could see did a good job.
I would recommend this to friends without hesitation. We have already booked for next October and plan to spend a couple of long weekends there before that. We are very happy that we found the CAMI. There are not many places on the beach that accept dogs which is important to us. We also did not see one person with a dog that did not pick up after them. I have read of screen doors that never worked in some of these reviews. Ours was fine and the rooms around us seemed to be fine too.
We are middle class working people who have found an escape that we can afford and a place to relax with our pooch.
We loved it and look forward to returning.

  • Liked — The view, the view and the view! It is ON the beach.
  • Disliked — Double bed was up against the wall which made it difficult to get in and out of.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Debls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We have been going to the Rockport area for many years and we have stayed at many locations some good some not so good. However we have always known we can always count on the best year round accomodations at Cape Ann Motor Inn. The staff and facilities are always on point and make our stay the best it can be. THE FARNHAM's

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAMFARNAHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManhattanNewYork
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Leave the fabulous clothes at home! Come prepared to look at the ocean, walk on the beach and hear the waves 24 hours a day. This is the perfect place to let it all go.
My dog and I escape from the fabulousness of Manhattan and run to this sanctuary on the beach at least once a year.
If I want fancy, fussing, I stay at other places.
This is the perfect place to get away from it all and spend quiet simple time on the beach.

  • Liked — the location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Manhattan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2007

My husband and I booked a double room here in May and actually ended up leaving to drive home that night--without sleeping there. Yes, the location's lovely, but that doesn't justify the extreme cheapness of actually expecting guests to stay in a room that's below anyone's normal standards--and we're not fussy travelers. I agree with the reviewer who spoke about the thin blanket, the tiny bed, the pleather couch, the broken screen door, the general air of decrepid gloom about the room. So gloomy that we just couldn't face back there after going out for a walk. We did call down the desk to see if there was anything else, but no ... Please. It's a joke --though a costly one--when motel owners want to make their money without spending anything to update a place or make it even marginally pleasant or welcoming. Save your money. Book yourself into a homeless shelter. It would have a higher sense of guest-respect and cheer.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank AineG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Southampton, Ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Have been a guest at Cape ann Motor Inn over past 30 years..
Was last there on mothers day weekend last.
Decor is same last 30 years..same blanket I believe that we had 30 years ago as xtra still the same!!!!!! Unbelievably threadbare & ragged!
Exact same bedspread/ print on the wall.......only thing to redeam this place is the location!!
Only reason to recommend is a sentimentel one....
you could see through the threadbare towels for goodness sake!!
PLEASE REDECORATE AND GET NEW LINENS!!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank mayet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
2.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Ann Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Ann Motor Inn

Property: Cape Ann Motor Inn
Address: 33 Rockport Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-1917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Ann Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Ann Motor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing