We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect......for us”
Review of Cape Ann Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Ann Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Northville, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect......for us”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We, a group of 60 to 70 yr old women, spent a relaxing 4 days here. This motel is no Omni, so if that is what you like don't bother. But if your looking for clean, comfortable and perfect location AND an excellent price..........grab this room. we loved watching the surfers. The location is excellent. If you have bad knees or difficulty climbing stairs ask for a first floor room. Had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E2W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    71
    28
    11
    33
See reviews for
71
84
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was the first place we stayed on arriving in New England. We spent 3 nights here and loved it. The beach and the view are terrific. Every room has an ocean view.
The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast every morning was fresh and tasty; coffee, juice, muffins, donuts, etc.
The only drawback was that everyone's sliding glass doors open onto the same deck which doesn't afford a lot of privacy. And you can hear your neighbors very easily through the walls.
However, we had a wonderful time here and it was our base as we went sightseeing every day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flidais53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel, after having not stayed there in 20 years. I was initially concerned because of some of the reviews that I had read that were negative. We were pleased with our room - and were not disappointed that it was not fancy. Anyone wanting updated accommodations would not be pleased - but we were there for the spectacular views. The rooms are all right on the beach - with a balcony - overlooking Long Beach - and it was as beautiful as ever. The room was clean and there were plenty of fresh towels. It is true - they have not painted or changed carpets etc - and it feels somewhat worn, but homey and clean. We were there at the beginning of the off season - and it was quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back, and next time I want to bring our dog! I think the dogs in Gloucester have the best lives - running along the beach! It was a joy to walk there and be so close to the ocean - listen to the waves all day and night!

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room that is not next to the stairs. I knew to do this - and our room was quiet (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

OK, so the motel is a bit old and dated, BUT, it's soooo worth it! Rooms are clean. The rooms all have sliding glass doors and decks on the beach. They are open year round. They accept pets. They have DirectTV for those rainy days. Units are big, even the smallest rooms are really large compared to a lot of motels I've stayed in.

This is a great place to get away from it all. It feels like a second home. The housekeepers are the friendliest I've ever met. It just feels like meeting up with friends in the mornings.

I highly recommend this motel over all the others in Gloucester and Rockport.

Room Tip: The efficiency rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decize, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We found this a great place to start, and finish, our trip along the New England coast. Only 30 miles from Boston and located right on the beach. Clean, comfortable rooms, super-friendly staff. Excellent walks on the beach or along the sea wall. This is not the Ritz, but what it lacks in luxury it makes up for with good, caring comfort. Coffee, juice, donuts and muffins in the a.m. All rooms with superb views and easy access to the beach. If I lived in Boston (rather than France) this would definitely be my weekend getaway place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnB1579898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
237 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Location, location, location. There are few places in the Gloucester area that are any closer to the ocean than the Cape Ann Motor Inn. In fact, when we were there it was a little closer than the owners might have liked it to be. The effects of Hurricane Sandy reached to the New England coast and took most of the beach away from the bay on which the hotel sits, so a good high tide would still come back to the foundations of the hotel. But the area is prone to substantial beach change, and although we've not been back since April, odds are the beach has grown back to what it should be by now. The hotel is rustic and simple, but clean and well maintained and is a good value for where it is. The beds are haven't been updated any time recently, but all the same they are just fine. Don't expect to be able to walk to any restaurants or attractions, but that suits us just fine. There is a seasonal ice cream stand at the turnoff from the main road to the hotel, so what else does anyone need? (and good ice cream I might ad). No private balcony, but the windows/sliding glass doors can be opened and secured so that the air and ocean sounds can come in, but no uninvited visitors can get through. The isolation and quiet is a quite welcome benefit of this property and its location. If you want a nice quiet getaway close to the hubbub of the big city, this is your best choice.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor. It's a better view as expected (and further from high tide)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubaman77-CTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

You are paying for the awesome location right on Long Beach ... the standard two queen bed room is a bit shabby except for the views at sunrise and sunset. The staff are nice enough and we enjoyed our stay. The owners could remodel these rooms and charge more ... I would gladly pay. No other commercial inn resides on this wondrous beach so it doesn't get too touristy or crowded. Love the location, can live with the accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
2.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Ann Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Ann Motor Inn

Property: Cape Ann Motor Inn
Address: 33 Rockport Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-1917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Ann Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Ann Motor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing