We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Ann Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Ann Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2005

We had a wonderful summer vacation staying at the Cape Ann Motor Inn. People were extremely nice, service was great, breathtaking view, and we were right on the beach. We could even bring our family dog!! :) We have already booked our reservations for next year. I would highly reccomend this hotel for anyone looking for a great place to stay on the beaches of Cape Ann!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    71
    27
    10
    33
See reviews for
70
82
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2005

Our stay at the Cape Ann Motor Inn was delightful. We found our room very clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and accomodating, and the location and view superb. Well worth the reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2005

I stayed here with my three kids in the late 90's. Upon driving up we thought it was absolutely beautiful. We quickly lost those feelings upon entering a filthy room. I have never stayed in hotel/motel with such filth.
The people running the place were somewhat friendly, but obviously know nothing about cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 1999
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, owner/manager at Cape Ann Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2005
We would like to respond to the review from the folks who stayed in the late 90's and waited 6 or more years to write a disagreeable review of their stay here at the Cape Ann Motor Inn. We are a small place located directly on Long Beach. People come here to get away from the stresses of their busy lives and relax on the sandy beach with a good book while their children build castles in the sand. We are not a 5 star hotel nor do we profess to be, however, our housekeeping staff works hard to ensure that our rooms are clean and comfortable when our guests arrive. Over the last 6 years, our rooms have been redone from wallpaper, carpeting, vanities, appliances, sprinkler system and curtains to the landscaping with a gazebo and picnic area. We are constantly working to improve our facility. By the end of the summer, we will be 80% booked for the following summer. We have parents who have been coming here since they were children who now bring their children.

In fairness to the Cape Ann Motor Inn, we would appreciate the removal of the review "very dirty" as after 5 years they could not possibly know of the improvements we have made and the dedication of our maids who have all been working here for at least the last 5 years.

Brad Pierce
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2005

OMG!!! this motel has gone down the drain!!! We have vacationed here for years, its sooo sad. The great view is the ONLY positive thing to mention. HUGE room charges, pleather 1970's vintage furniture, sliding doors that don't slide, rotten wood, pealing paint and the "Continental breakfast" 3 day old donuts. Oh ya can't forget to mention the wicked mean resevation lady, omg!!!! But hey their full every summer night so why should managment change, laughing all the way to the bank. Truck stop motel in one of the most beautiful places on earth. It should be illegal.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2005

We have taken family vacations here since I was 10 yrs old...(30 yrs or so) looks like the place has the same couch's and appliances(in the regular rooms). Now taking my children here we always stay in the honeymoon suite. The view awesome but for $300.00 night (family of 5 in season with tax) its the biggest ripoff on the North shore. Two years in a row management has needed to paint our balcony during our stay. (ladders and dropcloths detract from the view some) We realize maintance needs to be done.....really needs to be done here...but on an inseason holiday weekend...twice......Local youths drinking in the parking lot after the office closes...nailheads and rotten boards on the deck....ouch!! Screen doors that never close....I mean never....front desk folks that really seem to feel their guests are lucky they allowed us to stay here......and to top it off this year summer 2004(our last summer) a boarded up oceanfront window (better than wide open but the glass ones were kinda nice)......The view is soooo beautiful....crying shame!!!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2004

Absolutely great view and right on the ocean but the place itself could use a major renovation. Can't imagine staying there in the summer as there is no air conditioning. Recently stayed there in September and had to keep the screen door open all night to get a breeze. Screen door was broken and screen itself was ripped. Sitting on the balcony wasn't too great at night as the mosquitoes were swarming. As for the breakfast, what a joke!! Coffee didn't even have real cream or milk out, just powdered stuff and the donuts were hard as rocks. What really got me was the bathroom. The curtain on the window looked like it had ben put on after sitting in dryer as it was all crumpled. I've stayed in alot of places and am not very picky but for the price, thought this was a dump and a rip off. Went back to Cape Ann a couple of weeks later and stayed at a much nicer place for LESS money!!! You would be better off staying somewhere else and going to a public beach. Great view though!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Aremorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2003

My family has traveled to Cape Ann Motor Inn for well over 25+ years now and although I have loved the experience from childhood to parenthood, Cape Ann has risen to very high prices for the quality of th accomadations. Granted, you have the beach and the view- Don't get my wrong- Its beautiful. My problem lies with the very out dated, uncomfortable furniture (the couch is unbearable pleather like material), there is no air conditioning and the screen doors seldom work. I just think for the 130+ rates during peak seasons, that they could afford to upgrade the rooms a bit and have much happier customers. My family has traveled there for years for the cost effective vacation, not too far from home but things have changed and not for the better.

Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Ann Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Ann Motor Inn

Property: Cape Ann Motor Inn
Address: 33 Rockport Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-1917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cape Ann Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Ann Motor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing