We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never return...bugs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloucester Inn by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Will never return...bugs”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The photos on the website made the place look nicer than it actually was. First of all, the chairs at the pool were rusted and the tables outside of each room had mismatched chairs. If the place had cost less, then we would not have cared about that. The location was beautiful with a breathtaking ocean view. But the pool was a bit cloudy. The room we stayed in had mismatched bed sheets, stains on the wall at the head of the bed and on the ceiling. The furniture was old and run-down. Worst of all, during the night, there were tons of bugs slithering along the floor. My husband was up all night killing them while I curled up tightly under the covers not daring to move. It wasn't until morning that I realized the bugs were not only in the bathroom. We saw several dead bugs between the carpet and wall near the beds and a couple of them climbing up the wall in the bathroom. When I approached the front desk, they refunded us 15%. That was a complete insult after such a horrific experience. We have stayed in all kinds of places over the years, from expensive and elegant to simple and basic. Even the least costly place was immaculate compared to this one. We will never stay at the Gloucester Inn by the Sea again and I will never recommend it to anyone. The photos on their website did not tell the full story. Buyer beware!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 41952Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    16
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Although their lovely web site promises much, there are several problems.

- the rooms are tiny, ours had no closet and the clothes we brought for the wedding had to hang on coat hooks on the wall behind the door to the room.

- "ocean view from every room" is a stretch, in our room you'd have to stand at the window and then look 90 degrees to the right for a tiny glimpse of the ocean. and since we were physically closest to the ocean (on the other side of Atlantic Road) its unlikely any other rooms had a better view.

- the pool and patio is right outside the hotel room door, and you couldn't leave the window shades open without having everyone walking to and from the pool staring in your room. unfortunately the room had only the one window and we had to keep the shades closed continually.

- the noise from the partying at the pool even overpowered the drone of the in-wall air conditioner.

- the staff seemed uninterested, either in our discomfort, or in trying to find us another room.

My wife booked this thinking we'd have a pleasant ocean side stay while attending a friends wedding, it turned into a pretty sour experience. I don't normally take the time to write reviews, but this is an exception. This place isn’t half as nice as an average Holiday Inn. For the premium rates they charge, you could do much better somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank old-Mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

My husband & I stayed at Gloucester Inn by the Sea in Gloucester, MA for 6 nights in September 2010. The room was clean, spacious, and nicely, but simply decorated. The king-sized bed was comfortable. Our one surprise with the room was the lack of a clothes closet. Since we were there for a wedding, we had some nicer attire that we would have liked to have hung in a closet. In the end, it wasn’t a big problem because management immediately provided us with some plastic hangers and we hung our clothes on the wall hooks with these hangers. This is another point I should mention. Management was courteous and very responsive to any of our requests. For example, when we requested additional dishes for the kitchen, we had more in our room in just minutes.
We reserved Room 1 well in advance because it had a full kitchen (one of only 2 rooms that did), king-sized bed, and ocean view. We wanted a small kitchen since we were staying for 6 nights and wanted the ability to eat breakfast at the Inn and possibly, a dinner, if we chose. This worked out really well for us. A large super market was located just down the street about 2 miles away and we were able to enjoy breakfast on the Inn’s new, beautiful sun deck on the tables overlooking the ocean just outside our door! It also enabled us to pack a picnic lunch to take on our afternoon lighthouse cruise around Cape Ann on the King Eider, which was very nice and I highly recommend. I will add a caveat here, though. On one hand, it was nice to have the sun deck right outside our door, but on the other hand, it resulted in less privacy for us since both our windows also opened up to the sun deck. We would have to close the blinds any time we wanted some privacy, thus blocking air flow and our views of the ocean. We could also hear people coming in and out of the reception area as they directly passed by our room to get to and from the reception area.
The Inn was also conveniently located for us. Our friends’ wedding reception was just down the road and we were within easy driving distance to visit other locations, such as: Marblehead (40 mins.), Salem (30 mins), Boston (1 – 1 ½ hrs. depending on traffic), and Rockport (5 – 10 mins.).
Overall, despite the lack of privacy due to its location near the reception area, I rated this room a “4” because: (1) we received a discounted price for staying 6 nights (a better price was not to be found anywhere on Atlantic Rd); (2) it had a kitchen, which we made daily use of; (3) the room was clean and spacious with access to a beautiful sun deck; and (4) management was courteous and responsive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KailuaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My mother, sister, 4 1/2 month old niece and myself stayed for 2 nights and it was a really nice experience. The staff was great, the room was very clean and the location was perfect. I would certainly return!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zak223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

It is at a perfect location. Right in front of the ocean.You can see the activity in ocean from the room. There was ban on water but we did not feel because all night we had enough water bottles to cater to our needs. The customer service was too good. Staff was very friendly. Clean and tidy rooms with kitchenett. Very comy and very nice experience. Would certainly like to go back even if i paid $179/night. From here i saw my life's best sunrise!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kirtimandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Decent rooms with all amenities, and they all seem to be faced to the Ocean. Very clean. Decent beds. When I arrived (late and during a storm) there was a very friendly and efficient young guy at the front desk. I got a decent rate of 99 USD for a very nice room. Recommended!

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nicolasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
522 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester Inn by the Sea

Property: Gloucester Inn by the Sea
Address: 85 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-4331
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Gloucester Inn By The Sea Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing