We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloucester Inn by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The front desk was exceptionally nice. Our room was very clean and tidy. Spacious enough room for the bedroom and the bathroom, so you can sprawl your belongings. I really loved how this feels like a small-town inn...not some corporate cookie-cutter hotel room.

The location is just outside of the town of Gloucester, located in East Gloucester, on the "Backshore." So it's nice and quiet. All you see is ocean. All you hear is ocean. It is majestic.

On either side of the Backshore are beaches. Good Harbor to one end and Niles to the other. If you are staying here, you would definitely need a car to get around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed here on a solo weekend trip. my first time to Gloucester am I was honestly blown away by the crashing waves and huge expanse of sky and water - all of which to view literally from your balcony. the sunset is incredible. u can sleep to the ocean waves and just a 30sec walk across the street u r right on the beautiful ocean rocks. especially for the price and location - u can't beat this place in my opinion. it's also walkable to one of the world's oldest working art colonies - which I fell in luv with.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snc517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our family recently stayed here and we couldn't ask for nicer people to do business with - they were extremely accommodating and welcoming! The rooms are decent (and yes, a bit outdated) but the only problem we really encountered is the lack of any closet space or dresser space. As we were going to a wedding, we found it a bit distressing to have no place to hang our clothes up except for a few of the rooms having coat hooks on the wall. However, my guess is that most people visiting are bringing summer clothes and might not necessarily need closet space! The beds were comfortable, the grounds very quiet and the views wonderful! There's a great porch to sit on and relax - all in all, it's a great hotel and I hope to stay there again!

Room Tip: i would ask for one of the "side" rooms rather than those on the front porch - much less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jancie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is the 5th time we have stayed at this inn. It is very small, only 12 rooms. The rooms are very nice but some are a little out dated. It is very clean and comfortable they have a nice pool which we did not use this time. The view from the front porch is breathtaking- there are tables and chairs on the front porch/deck which gives you an amazing view of the ocean which is right across the street.

Room Tip: the 3 rooms on the front are the best decorated and have the best view, but they may be a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlohaHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We were coming from Maine and were stayin a couple of nights to explore the area. I was telling my wife that after being in Maine and now going to an old New England town, that maybe we could find a good coffee place somewhere. We go to check into the motel and they tell us that our boys could have some fresh lemonade and we could have coffee. Lo and behold, they have Starbucks!

Our room was was nice and had a front deck overlooking the ocean. Unfortunately, the deck was a common deck and the people next to us went out there to smoke. The book with the hotel guidance rules say the tenants should not smoke on the deck, but should smoke in the parking lot in the back of the B & B. We told the hotel clerks what was going on, but they did nothing about it. They said they don't enforce the rule, which doesn't make sense if you are going to put it in every room's book. How about removing the rule from the books and while you're at it, remove guests from enjoying the deck they paid for.

Otherwise the breakfast buffet was good and they had cookies out all day. They had benches across the street overlooking the ocean and it was nice to take some food or drink and just sit there. Besides the front office, the rest of the staff were friendly. The inn was clean, maintained and the pool was nice.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a common deck. Even though they are better and have a roof, beware of smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Granby-Gobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

What a wondeful location. Just outside town and in the peace and tranquility of the sea side. It is right on the sea and so you have superb views.

We has a really warm and friendly welcome from the man on reception...what an asset he is to the Inn. He made us feel right at home from the start. We were very late arrivals and so had a reduced rate. Good business that, as an empty room can never be sold again. I don't think that the full rate would represent value for money for us.

Our room was just lovely and exactly what we like. Decorated in old English style it was big, welcoming, spotless and so comfortable. Our bathroom was equally clean and with quality towels.

There is no breakfast included, or even offered, and I think the owner should offer this right away as this is not a cheap place to stay and breakfast is not an expensive meal to offer. This is a big no, no for us in the morning. What a treat it would have been to have had breakfast on the patio/deck overlooking the sea.

Lovely spotless pool and surround.

Even allowing for the lack of brekkie I had to give 5 overall as it is an In you could pass some time at.

We wished we could have stayed for longer but we were on a motorcycle trip up the east coast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

From the outside, the place in comparison to other inns/hotels in the area- is very nice/updated. The location/views on Atlantic Rd can't be beat-gorgeous. The two fellows we met that worked the desk, couldn't have been any nicer or more helpful, they were great. The place certainly has a lot more potential-they are currently under construction, adding on-def. a wise choice for their prime location. There is a small pool in front, unheated, which for Mass. weather think it should be. My con-the rooms...Motel quality at best, and small-which isn't a big deal if you will be at the beach all day. However, room size became an issue for us b/c we have small kids w/ us and no room/closet to put luggage out of the way, beach 'equipment'etc. For what I paid, ($212+for weekend rate, then went down to $170+ for week rate, no b'fast) the room and amenities did not even come close, I don't care if it's a prime season. There wasn't even a box of tissues in the entire room. The bathroom was the biggest disappointment... Everything in the room was just cheaply done and old, nothing updated on the interiors, that's for sure. The rough old 80's style bedspreads just gave me the creepy crawlies. The pictures on their website are deceiving, def. not as quaint or cute in person. My nephew stayed at the Sea Lion down the road, paid $170+for weekend rate, got continental b'fast,and even had a bigger room, aesthetically the same in the interior - but minus the ocean view that we had...If your intentions are to go to Good Harbor beach everyday, this is at least a good 15 minute walk to the 'bridge'-and not a walk little kids can do, so keep that in mind. We thought by staying here, we could walk to the beach and avoid the daily parking fee, but with little kids not possible. For couples, this place is great-families, not so much. However, I look forward to seeing the additions they complete next summer but unfort. we will not be returning to this place. We wanted to love this place, but def. did not fulfill our family needs for this vaca.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank balikazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
181 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester Inn by the Sea

Address: 85 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-4331
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Gloucester Inn By The Sea Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing